ULOG: 8 🌸 Daylilies are blooming 🌸 Wizstead Post #23

in #ulog6 years ago

Hemerocallis aka Daylilies

One of my favorite flowers has started blooming.
These always bring a smile to my face!

  • It's a perennial.
    • Many varieties are rebloomers.
      • Breeders have developed quite a selection. It might actually be hard to choose your favorites.
        Short, medium or tall
        small, medium or large flowers
        early mid or late season blooms or even reblooming
        red, yellow, orange, purple, ...
        ruffled or not
        bicolored, tricolored, striped, ...
        ...too many variations to list...

Here's a couple I have...

IMG_20180630_070016230_HDR.jpg

IMG_20180630_070040463.jpg

This is what the breeders started with. Or at least I guess... You see this orange skinny petaled flower everywhere around where I live. I ASSume the pioneers and homesteaders brought them here. Sometimes you see quite a few of these and some plain jane iris growing around a clump of trees and I always imagine there used to be a house there...

IMG_20180622_195633888.jpg

See a LOT more on Google Images

Why I plant daylilies

Long bloom season.
Little to no care. Just plant it and forget it...
Usually any place that sells flowers has daylilies.

  • I've bought from Girbert H Wild before.
    • If you keep your eye out you can get some really good package deals from most of the big gardening suppliers.

You can divide them every few years if you want, but you don't have to.
You can batter and fry the pods

Why I plant flowers

I plant flowers
not to enjoy looking at them
though I do very much

I plant flowers
to enjoy watching you enjoy looking at them
for that is the true satisfaction
of planting flowers

What's in your garden?

daylilies I hope!

look.gif

Dustsweeper Footer 2 use this one.png
Meaning you can't
waste your vote

look.gif

|

wizsmall.png
Who I am
@WizarDave |
veteran-60.jpg
| |
| - | - | - |

This post was made from https://ulogs.org

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-07-01T01:56:24
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 182.70/200.00
Total Photos: 29
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.40 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Oh wow! I love that light pink one with the ruffles on the edges 💗 reminds me of fine china, tea and lace 💗💗💗

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61152.47
ETH 2665.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55