You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 🍅 July 2018 Gardening Journal - WizStead Post #26

in #busy6 years ago

We've got some cherry tomatoes already coming on and being picked, and some zucchini and cucumbers. The larger tomatoes aren't ripening as fast, though. That's pretty good for all the strange weather you've had.

We've got some baby watermelon right now. How large would you say yours are right now. It's tough to tell from the pictures.

I think all of our pepper plants are doing well, and the onions—too bad I'm not that big of fan because they're absolutely growing the best of everything in the garden. :)

Sort:  

The sugar watermelons are only about 3-4 inches. The big watermelons are about 6 inches. The cantaloupe are mostly up to size, just need to ripen.

I've never had great luck with onions. This time probably half have died. Do you have a secret? I'm thinking maybe I planted them a bit deep. Only a few are busting the soil. I've pulled a bit of soil off some of them...

Oh, okay, so those watermelon are quite a bit larger than ours are. How big will the larger ones get? Our smaller ones didn't do so well last year. I wish we had some cantaloupe. That would be great. Maybe next year.

The only thing I know is my wife planted a bunch of the onions around the edge of the garden box so basically encircling the pepper plants. We also bought them as starts from a temporary stand in the parkinglot of the mall, and then we bought some local organic soil at home depot we'd never tried before. Apparently, they took right to it.

The first ones out of the garden are pretty large and the rest of them have been busting the soil as you described it for a week or so. I think the whole lot is ready for picking but she's only got the two out. She said she already ate one, so that must make three then. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60935.93
ETH 2645.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56