Freewrite Day 587 Nunchucks

in #busy5 years ago (edited)

Chapter nunchucks fitinfun.jpg

Canva does not have any free photos or illustrations of nunchucks, so I created my own. I’m proud of my poster beyond reason.

Up until now, I thought this implement of fighting was spelled with an “M” NuMchucks, but now I know. Thank you freewrite once again for the education.

I have never seen any nunchucks in person, and probably never will. They are used in Martial Arts, seen in movies, and deployed if someone wants to bash your head in. Hopefully I am never in such a situation.

My son is a two time black belt in Karate. I started him when he was three years old in a nine month program for that age. We had a highly rated studio in our small town and I thought this would be a good idea. It was run by this amazing man who has since sold his studio and moved on to other things.

Miko had a three year old son himself at the time and decided to do the class. Seeing these tiny little boys being trained by adult black belts was stunning and one of the best memories of my life. One of them cried for the whole entire time, and the others took to it like ducks to water. The crying boy dropped out after it was clear he would not succeed.

After the "Little Dragons" class was over, my son entered a three year program and got his Pee Wee Black Belt at 7. Finally five years later at twelve years old he was a Junior Black Belt.

He then graduated to Adult Classes and refused to continue after about a year.

“I don’t feel like getting sat on and crushed by Yellow Belt men twice my size who think they have something to prove.”

I couldn’t blame him. The camaraderie of Junior classes was gone and replaced by egos and testosterone.

By this time 10 years of Karate had cost about 50 thousand dollars between classes, clothes, memberships and contests and I was glad to stop paying for it. Not only that, we had a huge time commitment with 3 classes a week and monthly tournaments. I am an accountant, so I used to keep track of stuff like that.

I put my son in Karate to get a chance to know some men as role models. How badly that backfired could be a whole other freewrite.

My other idea was that since we was so huge (and still is) karate would give him confidence so he would not be a bully. I think that part worked and he can defend himself. He tells me all his karate training kicks in automatically when he feels threatened.

And FYI – he never trained with nunchucks no matter how they are spelled.

My post is for the #freewrite daily challenge by @mariannewest. Freewrite is a great way to post on steemit when you do not think you have the time, or talent, or anything to say. It’s a great way to start regular posting on steemit. I know you can do this too! Here is Marianne’s freewrite prompt post for today. Give it a try and surprise yourself.

= =

Minnow Tips!

My Newest Minnow Tips Updates:

General Ideas of how to do better on STEEM
Places to comment for Upvotes and More Goodies
Who will upvote my posts when I am new on STEEM?
How Can I Solve My Low RC Problem on STEEM?
Using @dustsweeper on STEEM
Enter contests on STEEM and win!
Do your replies fast with with SteemReply
You should be freewriting if you are a blogger

Here is my last big minnow tips post before the update if you struggle here at steem.

These tips can help you even if you are not new.
Monday Minnow Tips for Everyone from @fitinfun

Contents of the Above Post

What should I do EACH DAY on STEEM with low power?

What to do with your STEEM

Are you shooting blanks with your votes?

Should you use an autovoter?

Join qurator

Do not post to nowhere

Why bother to comment?

How and Why to use kryptonia

How to get Upvotes

For Twitter Users

How and Why to lease delegated sp

Curation Trails

Using Discord

= =

dApp Reviews

All recommended!
ginabot
esteem
Share2Steem with Twitter Tips

Tasteem Restaurant Reviews dApp before I used it
Tasteem Restaurant Reviews dApp with tips to do better

And here is an update on @fitinfunfood. I just started this blog in Jan 2019, so you can find out what I am doing to grow my new baby here:
fitinfunfood Update Post

More about using SBI:

https://steemit.com/esteem/@fitinfun/my-steembasicincome-update-spoiler-i-love-sbi

Great post from @brittandjosie, with all kinds of help for new people. Definitely worth clicking every link!

Hey Have You Met!

Please Help Me Keep Helping at STEEM

Please follow my blogs:

@fitinfun
@fitinfunfood
@bxlphabet is my son's blog, and I am so grateful he has returned.

We all post on Busy most days, where their upvote for us is based on the collective SP of our followers. We all follow back, because we love you. This is the power of STEEM.

Put my blogs on your curation trail

@fitinfun
@fitinfunfood
@bxlphabet

I login to magic-dice daily and roll one time. Is this giving me luck and good fortune? Join me and try for yourself!
https://magic-dice.com/?ref=fitinfun

= =

fitinfun You can do it if I did! sharon before and after.jpg

How is your journey to better health going?

Is your fitness equipment out handy? Are you on a "diet?" Soon we will be in Bathing Suit Season. Are you ready?

I lost "Half My Size" eight years ago by using natural methods. No tricks, just doing a bit better every day. I started on October 10 one year, and did not give up. Four years later, on October 5th, there I was - thin and healthy for the first time in my life. You can do it too!

This is Sharon @fitinfun. I am posting:

Please follow along or contact me directly if you would like some individual help with weight loss and health. Anyone can do this if I did.

Sort:  

You’ve been upvoted by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

@fitinfun I also thought they were called numchucks

Freewrite is a wealth of knowledge for us all!

Your art is quite nice :) maybe I should consider doing that for some of mine.

I had always wanted to learn martial arts in my youth. I took a few classes but not to that consistency. I'm starting to learn capoeira now, and am quite excited. Hopefully your son appreciates it :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58836.39
ETH 2494.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44