[Original Novel] Ragnarok Conspiracy; Tables Turning (Part Four Chapter One)

in #book7 years ago (edited)

Tables Turning

Debrisphere polar hotzone, September 14 2047
For the third time, yes, this ship 'is' alien, yes. My companions are not! And no; I am not Mars-One and the Hylobo are certainly not alien! Suggesting so is very offensive sir. Please sir, you really need to let go so the link can be re-established! The debrisphere; especially this zone, is a dangerous place to be dead in the water.

I can assure you: you are not fooling me with these stories mister. I know for a fact that you and your little alien fiends injected me with nano-tech.
New-Zion has not been sitting still while you devils have been plotting away with those new alien friends of yours. It was a nice try with those mini-drones, but you did not realize we developed our own immunization nano-tech to match sir.

Now please tell me, mister Bjarne, what exactly is so special about mr Gottschalk, that you risk exposing a ship like this, risk exposing your new found alien alliance, just to keep New-Zion, us, from capturing him?

Mister bridgewater, please! You must hear me out! Both me and the Hylobo crew of this craft are unaffiliated with any of the fractions that you and your movement are in conflict with. The Hylobo don't need any nano-tech or biochemical agents to control our minds if they choose to do so.
The mosquito drones you spoke of seem to have originated from one of our other abductees, mister Bridgewater. A big failure of our intel that we were not aware of such tech. But could we please first discuss more urgent matters first, Mr Bridgewater?
We are dead center in a primary hot-zone of the debrisphere. Unless we start navigating, we shall all be ripped to little pieces pretty soon. We could be hit by an HEOPS swarm any minute.

Ok Mr Bjarne, I am a reasonable man. I will give you permission to give your alien friends the order to move the vessel out of harms way. They may steer the vesil back to earth's surface to New Zion teretory or beyond the outer limits of the debrisphere, but remember Mr Bjarne, try any tricks and I can snap that aristocratic little neck of yours like it was nothing but a little twig.
Please sir, you don't understand, it doesn't work like that sir! You are going to get us erased sir! You don't know the Hylobo like I do. My grandchildren! My late wife! I don't want to lose those memories! Please sir, don't threaten me, your hostility, my fear, the Hylobo, they won't understand. She won't understand!

You have tested my patience long enough now mister Bjarne. As John pushed his thumb into Bjarne's armpit, Bjarne felt an excruciating pain through his body. As if a large spear was slowly being pushed down from Bjarne's shoulder, through the right side of his torso and then down his right leg until it stopped at his knee, at what point the sharp pain started to slowly fade away. As Bjarne felt his mental link with Azraella being reestablished, her soft soothing voice spoke in his head: Don't despair my good friend, this will end now, no more pain and no more memory of pain.

Suddenly John Bridgewater grabbed his own head with both hands as if in pain and dropped to his knees in a seemingly slow-motion way. Something that was typical of the 0.3g artificial gravity in the Aesir spacecraft.
While watching John drop to the ground, Bjarne felt a haze come over his awareness. Please Azraella, not my wife! Not my granddaughter! Not the memories of Magnus when everything was still OK between us!
As the haze in Bjarne's mind thickened, Bjarne tried to hold on to the image of his late wife, His dear Ella. Bjarne remembered how amazing she looked at their wedding day. As he pictured Ella in her long silky white wedding dress with a deeply cut back section that had truly brought out the contours of her beautiful body, a voice in his head spoke to him.
A voice that sounded vaguely familiar to Bjarne.

Goodbye my friend.

Than as Bjarne struggled to hold on to the image in his head, the haze thickened.
The image though remained clear.
Difficult to think. What a beautiful princes! Did he know this lady? As Bjarne tried to remember who this lady in this breathtaking white dress was, another image came to his mind.
A black dog. A labrador, running with a tennis ball in his mouth. Running towards a litle girl. Bjarne felt a sense of deep love come over him at the sight of the long haired blond girl in her adorable yellow dress. She must be about seven or eight years old, Bjarne thought. Half his own age.

No! That wasn't right! It didn't feel right. I think, I feel, I am an old man ! Or am I ?

As Bjarne tried to remember, his clearest most recent memory was that of the happiness he felt about the He-Man action-figure he had gotten for his birthday.
His 15th birthday! An event that his mind told him was only a few days ago, yet it 'felt' far more distant. He wasn't a 15 year old kid anymore, he felt sure he wasn't. As Bjarne opened his eyes, one look at his hands confirmed his suspicions.

My God, I must be a hundred years old ! Why am I tied up? A strange man was sitting kneeled at his feet, hands over his eyes as if he was crying, but he wasn't crying, he was just sitting there motionlessly.
A thin yet very much muscular African looking man with long dreads and a tiny beard wearing a black suite. Bjarne's mind flashed back to the beautiful princes in the white dress. This must be the groom. As Bjarne looked around, anticipating and hoping to see the stunningly beautiful bride somewhere, Bjarne realized she wasn't here. She wasn't 'now'. She was somewhere within the deep schism between his memory of his 15th birthday and today, a day where Bjarne was old, maybe a hundred years old, maybe more.
No, maybe not a hundred yet, but a whole life existed that Bjarne could not remember.
Bjarne noticed a small viewport. Through the viewport, the curvature of the earth was clearly visible. Heavy shit, I'm in space ! I'm an astronaut!

Then Bjarne looked across the room. Two persons were strapped to to tables. Not wooden tables, large massive white tables that appeared to illuminate the room with a white light. The top of the tables gave of a yellow shine. There were three tables. Two of them had people strapped to them. A young man in his twenties wearing futuristic clothing and then a probably thirty something woman with short hair kind of looking like an adult girl scout.

This is not good, Bjarne thought. Then Bjarne looked at the third table. The one in the middle. As Bjarne followed the loose strap that ran from the table down to the floor he noted a naked little child lying there. A child with a really strange color. Was the child dead?

The skin of the naked child was a pale shade of grey. That wasn't right, not even for a dead person. Its head was completely bald. Cancer? Bjarne looked across the room and then spotted a second naked grey colored kid laying motionless on the floor. Then a third child.

Bjarne could clearly see the face of the third child, a shock went through him. The face of the child was deformed. A completely bald head with an unusually broad and high forehead. A tiny small chin above an unusually small and lipless mouth. A nose that was disproportionately small for the size of the head, and what scared Bjarne the most, huge round eyes that were the size of large chicken eggs. Not normal eyes.
These eyes were pitch black without even a hint of white. So black that you couldn't even make out the pupils, if there were any.

No, these weren't children! These were 'Trolls' !

Then a friendly but strange voice manifested itself in Bjarne's head:

I am so sorry my old friend, so sorry, I know you don't remember me, we are in great danger.


If you enjoyed reading this chapter, below is an index to all the draft chapters I posted on steemit so far. I am currently running a little beta reading competition/lottery for part one of Ragnarok Conspiracy.


Index

If you enjoyed reading this chapter, please have a look at the other chapters I've posted on steemit so far and follow me for more installments from this series:

Part One: Beginnings

  1. Dakila
  2. John
  3. Gwen
  4. Bjarne
  5. Rachella
  6. Pete
  7. Wietse
  8. Xavier

Part Two: Concequences

  1. Gwen
  2. Dakila
  3. John
  4. Pete
  5. Bjarne
  6. Wietse

Part Three: Robert

  1. Carnage
  2. Soviets
  3. Debrisphere
  4. Roughnecks
  5. Fiat 500
  6. Lecture
  7. Caverns
  8. Cipher
  9. Confrontation

Part Four: Midgard

  1. Tables Turning
  2. Trolls
  3. Captured
  4. Mindless
  5. Reset
  6. Air
  7. Coordinates
  8. Forgotten
  9. Foreign Dreams

Part Five: Nilfheim

  1. Perseus-Pisces
  2. Holocene Past
  3. Jötnar
  4. New Allies
  5. Old Enemies
  6. Whack-a-mole
  7. Aesir
  8. Antifragile
  9. Cold Start
Sort:  

A couple of common issues seen in previous parts/chapters:

  • Two occurrences of New-Zion should both read as New Zion.
  • Both me and the Hylobo crew of this craft are unaffiliated with any of the fractions that you and your movement are in conflict with.
    fractions -> factions

Than as Bjarne struggled to hold on to the image in his head, the haze thickened.
The image though remained clear.
Difficult to think. What a beautiful princes!

Than -> Then
princes -> princess

As the haze in Bjarne's mind thickened, Bjarne tried to hold on to the image of his late wife, His dear Ella. Bjarne remembered how amazing she looked at their wedding day.

His -> his
Two possible ways to correct "at their wedding day": (1) at -> on, OR (2) remove the word "day" leaving the phrase as "at their wedding".

As Bjarne felt his mental link with Azraella being reestablished, her soft soothing voice spoke in his head:

reestablished -> re-established

Ok Mr Bjarne, I am a reasonable man. I will give you permission to give your alien friends the order to move the vessel out of harms way. They may steer the vesil back to earth's surface to New Zion teretory or beyond the outer limits of the debrisphere, but remember Mr Bjarne, try any tricks and I can snap that aristocratic little neck of yours like it was nothing but a little twig.

Mr -> Mr. (for both cases)
vesil -> vessel
earth's -> Earth's
teretory -> territory

I know for a fact that you and your little alien fiends injected me with nano-tech.

fiends -> friends

tell me, mister Bjarne, what

I am unsure if mister should be capitalized when used in conjunction with a name I think it should be but not positive.

Mister bridgewater
Mister Bridgewater

Interesting chapter. Memory wipe, and view of things only hinted at before.

Congratulation on winning pibara's @croupierbot lottery with this comment.

Thank you, I have fallen behind on a lot of reading lately and on looking for edit's. Sorry.

I've spread the draws for individual chapters out over the week. Today chapter three defaulted to doughtaker. Tomorow chapter four will likely also default to doughtaker. So if you happen to find some time yet ☺️ Oh, and hoping to see an other Astounding Steemit Stories Volume from you again soon ☺️

Thank you, I have just been sort of out of it lately when it comes to reading, and well a few other things also. I am glad that doughtaker still has the time, I hope to be back to normal soon.

Excellent post, I liked it, I follow you to read what you publish, you pass by my profile, maybe something that interests you too, keep posting like this :D

@croupierbot lottery 2.0 STEEM

Hi, @pibara

Thank you for inviting me to this page.

I am your friendly incorruptible croupier.
I am here to help with the impartial drawing a winner from the following contestants:\ :

The block number of the current head of the block chain is 18396188.
After block 18396300 is added to the blockchain and becomes irreversable, I will anounce the winner using the witness signature from that block.

OK, I have drawn the winner.

The winner of the draw is @bashadow .

This winner has been drawn using block 18396300 as anounced in this transaction in block 18396192.

While in no way required, a tip by the winner @bashadow by means of an upvote of this post would be highly appreciated.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60340.89
ETH 2615.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56