Australian Beer Review - #19 - Big Head No Carb Beer

in #beer7 years ago

Australian Beer

Beer drinking in Australia is ingrained in our culture.
This is the next instalment of the Australian Beer Review in support of #teamaustralia members.

The aim of these reviews is to share the different types of beer produced in Australia.


Beer Review - #19 - Big Head No Carb Beer


07ace4fc6bebf67226431e54_rw_1200.jpg
Source

Brewed by:

Burleigh Brewing Co.

Alcohol Content:

4.2%

Beer Type:

Light Lager

History:

The Burleigh Brewing Company was born in 2006, pioneering the craft beer movement on the Gold Coast, Australia. After 10 years of steady growth, the locally grown company had to move into a larger premises and now produces 9 specialty beers. Every step of the brewing process from brewing to packaging is completed onsite, nothing is outsourced. Located not too far from where I live, this is a brewery and local company that I am pleased to support.

Burliegh_Rebranded_Bottles_Core_Range.jpg
Source

facebook.png

Availability:

Bighead No Carb Beer is available for purchase in:
330 mL bottles

326253_4_9999_med_v1_m56577569855275743.png

Drinkers Review:

So after reading the hype and really enjoying many other beers from this local craft brewer, I thought that I would give this one a try..... I now wish I hadn't. Zero carbs and 88 calories could make this a dietitian's beer. It is very weak in colour, reminds me of your standard American beer rather than an Australian beer. It tastes a bit like beer and has some flavours if you think hard about drinking it. It could be a genuine weight loss beer as I couldn't bring myself to drink more than two stubbies of this crap.
If you just want a reasonable light lager, go for your standard macro White Stag, XXXX Gold, Cascade Light, etc. I can assure you they are much, much better value, and taste a whole lot better than this version.

I always like to support local businesses, however, I recommend staying well away from this beer. Any other beer from this company is worth spending your hard earned cash on, but the rest of the six-pack from this purchase will be used to clean the BBQ!

Rating:

0.5 out of 5 Stars

BBCo_NOV16-7998-1024x684.jpg
Source

Burleigh+Bighead.jpeg

What are your thoughts on this beer?

Share your rating in the comments below.


Previous Beer Reviews:


#1 - Victoria Bitter (VB)
#2 - James Boag XXX Ale (Boag's Red)
#3 - Carlton Cold
#4 - FIGJAM
#5 - Cascade Stout
#6 - Little Creatures Pale Ale
#7 - XXXX Gold
#8 - Foster's Lager
#9 - Cooper's Original Pale Ale
#10 - Toohey's New
#11 - Lorry Boy's Golden Ale
#12 - Cooper's Mild Ale
#13 - James Squire One Fifty Lashes
#14 - Rogers Beer
#15 - Carlton Dry
#16 - Heron's Craic - Irish Red Ale
#17 - Fat Yak Pale Ale
#18 - James Boag's Draught


Beer, the goodness that froths and refreshes!

Thanks for reading.


teamaustralia ry.png

scooter77 footer ta - bearone.png

Sort:  

An experiment gone bad, eh? RateBeer agrees!

Used to drink it all the time because it was cheap. I wouldn't say it was that bad, but I'm no expert. I'd drink it again.

Great review, funny label but I'm gonna make sure to never drink it.

Really enjoy this beer especially when I am trying to cut carbs on my stomach haha

No carbs?! Really?

My favourite beer in Australia was always Bees Kneez. LOVED it.

That's pretty much right - and awful beer, it is genuinely like drinking water, it so unmemorable. Which is a shame, because as you say the rest of their beers are very good, Hef is best wheat beer brewed in Australia by a long long way. and Figjam is a great IPA.

I reckon your review is bang on point. It is a weak beer.
I'm a bit partial to the Pirate life range of beers at the moment.
Give them a try if you see them around.
http://piratelife.com.au/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63896.48
ETH 3315.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92