Australian Beer Review - #8 - Foster's Lager

in #beer7 years ago (edited)

Australian Beer

Beer drinking in Australia is ingrained in our culture.
This is the next instalment of the Australian Beer Review in support of #teamaustralia members.

The aim of these reviews is to share the different types of beer produced in Australia.


Beer Review - #8 - Foster's Lager

av-logo-122016.jpg
Source

Brewed by:

Fosters Group Limited

Alcohol Content:

5.0%

Beer Type:

Lager

History:

Foster's was created by two irish brothers in Melbourne, Australia in 1888. Foster's was first exported to the UK in 1971 and the US in 1972. World renowned as the quintessential Australian beer brand, it is now the second highest selling beer in the UK. Foster's is not a very popular beer in Australia itself and isn't found in many beer fridges around the country.


Availability:

Foster's Lager is available for purchase in:
375 mL cans, 330 mL bottles
(in Australia)

fosters.jpg800717_0_9999_med_v1_m56577569855014172.png
Source

Drinkers Review:

Piss yellow, fizzy head, and a lively carbonation don't make for a particularly visually appealing beer, but damn does that can design look fantastic. Overall it's a pretty bloody boring beer. Its watery and probably one of the worst mass produced lagers in the world. No wonder aussies don't drink the stuff.

shittybeertuesday2.JPG

Rating:

0.5 out of 5 Stars

What are your thoughts on this beer?

Share your rating in the comments below.


Previous Beer Reviews:


#1 - Victoria Bitter (VB)
#2 - James Boag XXX Ale (Boag's Red)
#3 - Carlton Cold
#4 - FIGJAM
#5 - Cascade Stout
#6 - Little Creatures Pale Ale
#7 - XXXX Gold


Lets collaborate and share the goodness that froths and refreshes!

Thanks for reading.

scooter77 footer ta - bearone.png

Sort:  

It's no longer Australian owned either.

No, not many of the big Australian beers are any more. But lets not let that get in the way of a good story :)

Absolutely not. Cascade premium is one of my favourites. Another one i used to enjoy years ago was Southwark Bitter from South Australia. Sadly , they don't make it any more. Unique flavour, they called it the "green death".

As a Tassie born boy, Cascade is one of my favourites too. I've heard of Southwark bitter, but never had the chance to taste it! Sounds like I'm not missing anything!

It's a pity you never got to taste it. I must have been in the minority of people who liked it.

Cascade is certainly one of the better mass production Aussie beers currently

Way to take one for the team scooter

Yeah, I don't mind trying anything really. Someone brought a 6 pack over of these, I wouldn't dare purchase any myself!

I know what you mean there! I've drunk some pretty awful things because someone else provided it. These day's I'm not much for beer, but I will occasionally drink one. More likely to have a cider or spirit mixer though

Hahah very true, the stuff is pretty nasty.

This is the second beer I drank after Tooheys New in the eighties, now I won't drink them for free,James Boag is my favourite now, hands down. Cheers

Amazing review 😂 Pretty honest one as well :D

Thanks for commenting. I try and keep it real!

I'll follow up on the next one ;)

Haha, this gave me a laugh. Keep these coming!

Growing up in the USA, this was the only Aussie beer we ever heard about.

You got the raw end of the straw then thats for sure!

No doubt about that. I was surprised when I moved here years ago that Aussies didn't really drink it. The way they market it overseas, you'd think it was the VB of Aus.

It is the VB of Aus. Awful stuff!! haha

Not a fan either, glad you had the guts to say it. Foreigners often ask if I drink "Fawsters" :')

Can't wait to see what drop you review next!

Thanks. I try and mix them up and drink something different each time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63582.29
ETH 3267.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93