๐ŸŒ Why we say, "Dog days of summer," by GramNana ๐ŸŒ

in #bananamemos โ€ข 6 years ago (edited)



Oh, dearie me. I can remember years and years of the "dog days of summer." Let me tell you about where that phrase came from.

You see, dogs get in a, um, romantic mood about twice a year, which is the time they, um, become pregnant, and then they have their puppies. Often these puppies are born in the summer.

I know what you're about to say: "GramNana, it's only summertime in the northern hemisphere right now. Summertime is the opposite in the southern hemisphere."

But that's what I'm saying, see? Dogs have puppies twice a year, so no matter where you live, they're likely having puppies in the summer. See?

bPuppeez.jpg fPuppeez.jpg cPuppeez.jpg
gPuppeez.jpg

Anyway, when a litter of puppies comes along, and you're outside playing with them, you're happy to be spending those "dog days" outside in the nice weather with the wee little dearies.

And that's how the phrase, "Dog days of summer" came to be used.



What can I say?
Everyone in The Banana Collective has a voice, and if GramNana wants to tell the story her way, who am I to stop her?









@bananamemos



All adorable puppy photos taken by GramNana
line of palm trees.png

Just who are the Banana Collective, and why are they writing memos?

More from Gramnana:
Panties in a bunch / The story of Banabuddha /
Penny wise and pound foolish

Steemit, as explained by a teenager

6 Degrees of Banana-ation #2

Appealing a judge's decision about peels

A haiku for world-wide independence

Sir Bananington rants about apples

Truther Red Peel -- Just say NO to banks

Sort: ย 

Grannabanana, those Dog Days are a hot sweaty time! I heard it had something to do with the rising of the Dog Star Sirius but I like your version better. ๐Ÿ• ๐Ÿ˜Š


Hello, @redheadpei Dearie!
Don't feel bad that you have the story wrong; there are others who think the Dog Days of Summer have something to do with a star or some kind of nonsense like that. When you've been around as long as I have, you just know these things better than most. Here, have a snack:

Thanks Grannabanana for your banana wisdom and the banana. Your loyal follower, Joannabanana. โค๏ธ

Dear Ms. @redheadpei, I wrote a special poem for you:

There once was a girl named Joanna
who had a big love for bananas
She had hair of red
on the top of her head
And now she's a friend of GramNana

A lovely poem GramNana. It makes me want to burst into song. ๐ŸŽถ Iโ€™ve got a lovely bunch of bananas. Big ones, small ones, some as long as your head. ๐ŸŽต..not your head my dear GramNana. โค๏ธ

๐ŸŒ ๐Ÿ˜ ๐ŸŒ

Hi Gramnana,

This is Furball, Emergehealthier is my human. I have her read me all posts about dogs. You by far are the wisest banana I have encountered. I am sure you know the stories behind the following idioms:
dog days of fall, dog days of winter, and dog days of spring. My human doesnโ€™t believe these are real sayings, her knowledge is limited. I love how you use stories to explain things to humans. If you ever have some extra time I would love it if you shared the back stories for these little-known sayings.
Your biggest fan,

Furball


oh my, Furball Dearie. You little minx! Trying to pull the wool over GramNana's eyes, are you? You and I both know that there are no such designated days. You've got to believe that I didn't fall off the turnip truck... er, the banana truck... just last week!

What I think you're really getting to, Dearie, is that you lead a charmed life with your human, @emergehealthier, and that pretty much EVERY day is a special Dog Day to you!

Do you have a photo to share with your GramNana? I love furry (and not-so-furry too) four-legged creatures!

Yes, she does make every day a special Dog Day for me. I plan on changing the fact that dog days of fall, winter, and spring don't exist. I don't usually mention it, but I;m actually a very influential dog, as a Coton de Tulear, I'm the Royal Dog of Madagascar. I usually just rely on my charming personality, intelligence, and cuteness; but for important matters, I do use my state as a member of Royalty.

I don't want the Paparazzi stalking me as I enjoy my daily walks, frolicking in the backyard, or enjoying the pool. But this is important to me. My human also told me about how the bananas are are treated, because of the apple's propaganda. So, I plan to change this too. I plan on using my power to issue Royal Proclamations, to rectify these injustices!

I will have my human take a photo of the official signing of these documents, which will be either later today or tomorrow.

You are truly a Banana Friend, Furball. We hadn't heard of a Coton de Tulear, but we're always happy to have an important being such as yourself on our side.

And you're right about the injustices suffered by bananas because of apples. It's so, so sad.

๐ŸŒ

I am delighted to be a Banana Friend. For some reason I often find myself rooting for the underdog.

Many people have not heard of us, it is because unlike other Royals we keep a low profile. You can read more about us at https://www.akc.org/dog-breeds/coton-de-tulear/

The website says you're Charming, Bright, Happy-Go-Lucky. You also look like a, well, a furball. :-)

Hey, where you at? I thought for sure you have a haiku about candy! Maybe P.O.Tassium can put something together?

If not can I at least get a handful of crunchy banana bites for 25 cents?



Dear @vdux, I'm a busy little poet these days, and meant to write a haiku for your candy contest. I just left it on your page, hope you like it!
~Havana ๐ŸŒ

Saw it! Thank you, Havana.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54414.30
ETH 2295.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30