Origin of "He's Gone Bananas" ~ GramNana's got this.

in #bananamemos6 years ago (edited)



I have a story to tell you today, a story passed down to me through the generations.

It's the Origin of the phrase, "He's Gone Bananas."



Once there was a young prince who was unhappy and unfulfilled living a life of luxury. He left his grand palace and went into the wilderness to seek enlightenment. He sat under a banana palm and meditated for days, until he suddenly understood what it's all about, then went back to his people, using a branch of the banana palm as a parasol and taking several bunches of bananas with him to hand out to everybody.
From then on, people would say of Prince Banabuddha, that he had "gone bananas," meaning he was now enlightened.





What?! In what universe did THAT happen?
You just told the story of the Buddha, minus the banana palm tree.





Sir Bananington, I understand your confusion about the story, but I assure you it's true. My great-great-great grandfather came from that region and witnessed it personally, and the story has been handed down in my family through the generations.






I... what... (cough) for crying out loud.






Now, if you'll excuse me, I'm going to make a pot of tea, sit outside for a little while, and go bananas.







What can I say?
We're a Collective,
and everyone has a voice
here on Banana Memos.














@bananamemos
If you enjoyed this post, please consider re-steeming so that others
can meet the Banana Collective.
Thanks a bunch!


To learn more about The Banana Collective and our Mission, please check out
The Coolest Bunch around

The truck mishap, and our friend Brad

Conspiracy Theorist Truther Red Peel with a Truth Nugget for you

Havana Bananamon with a Haiku anyone with allergies can appreciate

Thanks to our friend, @zipporah, for mentioning "the granny's of Steemit," prompting GramNana to come into being. :-)

Sort:  

Hahahahaha you're very very funny and creative! I love this bunch of crazy bananas!

Thanks for stopping by, @leribyleri. Nice "meeting" you on Steemit Ramble.

Here's a snack to get you through the day:
a Steemnana 250x167.png

Very funny your post @bananamemos !, I like your content

Van McPeel.pngThanks, @kevinanthony. We're just a bunch of friends hanging around, havin' a good time. :-)

lol! Buddha started the phrase "go bananas?" Sure. Why not?

You're not doubting me, are you, L'il Missy? 'Cause my great-great-great grandpappy told that story (or something pretty close to it) for as long as I can remember. Or at least he told it at a couple of family reunions. In any case, I'm sure I have the particulars right.

PO. Tassium was my favorite banana!🙊

Thanks! P.O. Tassium is an earnest, beleagured editor/publisher, trying to keep this bunch in line. :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57592.54
ETH 2911.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67