Art Discovery Contest - USA - Bill Watterson a Hero of Illustration & Comics

in #artdiscovery7 years ago

The One, The Only... Bill Watterson

As an artist, I have learned my fair share of all the other greats that have come before. So many have contributed to my inspiration to be an artist. For this Art Discovery Contest, started by @awispa, I wanted to share one of my all-time favorite Illustrators from my childhood and even adulthood - Bill Watterson.

Who is Bill Watterson?


American artist, Bill Watterson, born in Washington DC, has become a national legend for his paramount comic series, "Calvin and Hobbes." Not a huge fan of syndication - Bill helped to bring art back to the comic strip for 10 years over the span of 1985-1995. His comic strip was published in every major newspaper in the US creating a huge cult following and passion for his stories about a young boy and his stuffed best friend who have zainy and witty commentary, along with cunning, daring and death defying adventures - his series is hard NOT to fall in love with.

Throughout Watterson's youth he showed an interest in the art of comic illustration, publishing many comics co-created with friends for his High-school and further into College where he attended Kenyan University and majored in Political Science. He knew at this point that he wanted to pursue a career in Comics, but thought his proper education would aid in his ability to create work for editorials to support himself financially.

The Beautiful Beginning


After he graduated, he worked with various editors submitting political illustrations, many of which were not impressed with his work, and led to him moving back home and refocusing on his passion - Comic Illustration. Unfortunately the beginnings were difficult, regardless of the countless number of submissions, he was not getting any traction in the industry - he constantly faced rejection. He attributes his early struggles as an ability to see and find his true calling - creating meaningless work like advertisements, political illustrations and the like would not be fulfilling and any means to a paycheck wasn't enough to make him happy. When speaking to graduates from his alma mater, he declared that to "endure 5 years of rejection to get a job requires either a faith in oneself that borders on delusion, or a love of the work...I love the work." His drive for what he loved made the comics so many of us here in the US have held dear to our childhoods, much like "The Peanuts" and other notable strips that have graced newsprint.




Sweet, Sweet Success


At the age of 27, after developing a few different characters, Bill landed on a young 5 year old named "Calvin" and his stuffed tiger "Hobbes." Calvin is a spunky ball of fire - one minute he's a philosophical genius and the next a spastic child full of fantasies and imaginative journey's with his best friend who magically comes to life - but only for Calvin, and only when they are completely alone. The Universal Press Syndicate purchased the Calvin & Hobbes Stip in 1985 launching Watterson into the national view - from here his career burst into one of stardom and Calvin & Hobbes filled our homes every Sunday with their hilarious antics.





Many of our childhoods were filled with the thrilling and quirky adventures with Calvin - many we had only experienced in our own imaginations - now we were re-experiencing them with a new found friend and his playful tiger. Calvin was a child that we could all relate to - girls/boys are icky, we refuse to eat our broccoli and make sure we make our retort as dramatic as possible, no - we will NOT go to bed yet, and yes - we will get into as much mischief as possible!

A Man of Integrity


Sadly you won't see any Calvin & Hobbes official merchandise like toys, hats, shirts, lunchboxes and more that flood our shelves commercially each year with the advent of any new trend. Watterson has always valued his privacy and maintaining the value of his strip and his characters - he didn't sell out. Universal pressured him with a deal so sided against Watterson that any person in their right mind would have made the same decision to decline. Their offer would have given them permission to fire Watterson at any time and continue to use Calvin & Hobbes any way they so wanted.

While there is something wonderfully amazing about this concept and absolutely would have made the same decision in the moment - I have to admit, I am still a bit sad that I never was able to get my own Hobbes stuffed tiger, 'cause I so would have been first in line to get one. Watterson stated himself, in response to a lot of the knock-off creations fans have made over the last 20-30 years, that he "Clearly miscalculated how popular it would be to show Calvin urinating on a Ford logo." I would say, yes, absolutely - never underestimate - that seems to be key when looking back through decisions made over time.

Resculpting the Face of the Comic Strip


Watterson played an intrepid role in the comic industry and the prevailing format that we have all grown accustomed to over the years of its evolution. He wanted to take better efficiency of the space and constructed a format that would force editors to print his strip as a half page. A lot of editors were displeased with this concept, as various publications had a wide array of budget limitations and may not be able to print his work if that was the only size format they were provided. It was finally decided that he would supply the Half Page and a Condensed version that would go out to all editors, providing them a choice. Those who chose the larger formatted strip provided their users with a better, more enjoyable strip for their money - at least that is what Watterson hoped the perception would be.

Everything Must Come to and End


I regret to say that on December 31, 1995, the strip so many of us had grown to love and look forward to had announced its discontinuation and published the last Calvin & Hobbes strip any of us would ever read. Many, myself included, were heartbroken to hear that our beloved Calvin would no longer entertain us every Sunday morning while we enjoyed our bowl of cereal and/or coffee.


The last, and final strip in the 10 year Calvin & Hobbes series

Around 2014 Watterson teamed up with a fellow cartoonist in the aid of Parkinson's Disease with a strip called "Pearls Before Swine" in support of the Michael J. Fox Foundation and Team Cul de Sac

Fun Facts About Bill Watterson


- While living in his university dorm room, he painted Michelangelo's "Creation of Adam" on his ceiling!

(I don't know about y'all, but this would have gotten you into some BIG BIG trouble when I was attending East Carolina University! He had some big kahunas lol!)


- Some of the first "Spaceman Spiff" illustrations seen in his Calvin & Hobbes books were submitted during his time at Kenyan College for the Universities' Newspaper.

(Spaceman Spiff was some of my favorite comics he did in his books! He is one of Calvin's imaginative alter egos in the comic strip.)

- Watterson has stated his influences included The Peanuts" by Charles Schulz, Walt Kelly's Pogo and George Harryman's "Krazy Kat". Some of his work also strongly suggests that he was heavily influenced by Windsor McKay's "Little Nemo in Slumberland"

- While he did not allow major merchandising efforts, he did allow for Calvin to appear on certain items with special approval. Calvin appeared on a Museum of Modern Art t-shirt, two calendars, a book "Teaching with Calvin & Hobbes", and a postage stamp from 2010./

Below I have selected some awesome strips I could find on searching in google that he has done from his Calvin & Hobbes series- I think these really help to give a great view into some of the amazing stories, humor, satire and adventrues Bill Watterson imagined through the playful Calvin and trusty side kick hobbes:

















So what do you guys think? I hope I have been able to introduce you to a new favorite artist! Below are links to the resources that I used to help provide you some backstory into the life of Mr. Watterson. They all go into some great detail and provide a lot of additional links with further resources to learn even more about him.

Biography.com: "Bill Watterson Biography"
Wikipedia.com: "Bill Watterson"
The Guardian: "Calvin and Hobbes creator Bill Watterson returns to cartooning"

Some of the great strips I was able to find and share was found on this blog post along with others found from just a simple google search:

"Why Bill Watterson is our hero."

I found a few fun facts from reading this cool blog post:

"7 Things You Might Not Know About Calvin and Hobbes"

As always, thank you so much for stopping by and reading! If you enjoyed the post please upvote, re-steem if you think others would enjoy, and please comment and tell me what you thought! Most importantly, thank you for your support :)


@j-vo

Interested in seeing more posts from me? Here are a few I made over this past week:

Le Chant Chaton - Illustrated Wine Labels by J-VO

Happy Fourth of July - An Independence Day Painting by J-VO

Steem Wars - Day 4: Color Challenge - Tuesday Orange - Original Photos by J-VO - TeamUSA

Steem Wars - Day 5: Color Challenge - Wednesday Yellow - Original Photos by J-VO - TeamUSA

Six Sad Stories: See Illustration 5: "It's Behind You - Hurry Before it" - Rockne S. O’Bannon

Steem Wars - Day 6: Color Challenge - Thursday Green - Photos by J-VO - Team USA

Painting with Sparklers - Long-Exposure Photography (Original Photos by JVO)

All photography and creative artwork displayed in this post were created by @j-vo.


Thank you for reading & for your support <3

Sort:  

Beautiful pick, his work will always be with me.

Me too - he's incredible. Now my kids have him as part of their childhoods too!

You know, I am not a big person in fan fiction or things of that nature usually, but I believe you should have a quick gander at Hobbes & Bacon http://www.pantsareoverrated.com/archive/2011/05/10/hobbes-and-bacon/
Pretty faithful in feeling. Warning, may put a smile on your face.

Great suggestion, never seen it before. Hilarious! Gosh Calvin and Hobbes was such a great comic. One of the best! I did not know all of this info about the artist but I have always loved that comic. Thanks for the post @j-vo, good stuff in here that I find fascinating!

That is super cool! Yeah I hear you on the fan fiction however that was really well done and properly put out in a way that doesn't take away from Bill Watterson but in my opinion rather pays homage.

OMG OMG OMG.. this is the coolest thing in the whole world - I can't wait to read all of them! lol Thank you so much - you have no idea how excited I am right now.

Awesome write up!! Well researched, nice resources, and one of my biggest influences growing up! :) Once again, you rock for posting this... and all that you do... find me on IG- jdavisarts

Thank you @joshuadavis - I have so many of his books - he is an amazing artist and I always loved his stylistic approach to his watercolor painting. Thank you for such a sweet comment - I appreciate you taking the time to read - I will definitely keep an open eye for your stuff as well :) I like your posts!

That was a long and thorough post - upvoted and shared and followed and... well that's all I can do.

Thank you @katharisdrill - I hope it wasn't too long, but I am so used to writing papers from my Art History minor in college that I am just used to having to say a lot - lol. blah blah blah. Thank you for all of the support x3! :) I really really appreciate it :)

It is, to be honest, a relief reading something that actually takes you a bit further than XXX for dummies - I don't know why we as modern people think that we are enlightened by memes and small fact-boxes.

It would be nice if Steemit could also contain something with a bit more information. Of course the social media format has something fleeting to it, but your post gave me some info that I did not have already - I know and admire the comic, but knew close to nothing of the man, and I really sympathize with his fight and rejection of the big, stupid and evil art-business. My hope is that some of this new technology can save us artists from Facebook, Spotify and all the rest of the big players that exploit us, and that it can take us further than the old system of art-dealers and publishers that also lived on our back like big leeches...

Sorry, I am ranting :) I did write a bit of some of the inspirations for my comic if you are interested:

  1. Chester Gould
  2. Gilbert Shelton
  3. Robert Crumb

They are old so you can't vote on them, but I hope still worth a read.

I know exactly what you mean - I haven't even been on Facebook but like twice over the past couple of weeks that I have started on this platform. I never really got into twitter or Instagram even though I have both of them - I don't really work them or use them much. I started on Facebook when it was the first of its kind next to MySpace - and was only allowed for people who were in college and had a college based email. It was a great and beautiful beginning to the social world - connecting the youth together to give us an outlet to connect easier outside of every day interactions - which was awesome. I could find all the kids I went to High School with and for the first time we had a way to stay in touch with people that typically in past generations would fall into the darkness and never been seen or found again due to life dragging us in different directions. Today, while it still serves those main benefits, it has become so commercial that it just isn't a viable networking solution any more. Now you have to pay to play - and like 10 of your friends will see what you are posting. Here everyone sees what you post, it doesn't get sent out to a few select people because they want you to pay them something to release it to more people in your already procured friends list.

I agree also about the type of content found there and it just not being appealing any more - trash for cash I call it. Most of the time now I just see a bunch of regurgitated information, or just down right sad stuff that causes me to ball my eyes out in my cube and pray someone doesn't come around at the wrong moment to ask me to do something. Teary eyed, mascara running down my face - I mean, c'mon people - lol! I find that it gets very difficult to find unique and original material that isn't laden with advertisements. I hate clicking on an article from Facebook just for it to take forever to load because they have 50 ads on each page with only a sentence for each image.. stupid crap like that. Its annoying and just not worth reading what they have to say to deal with all that.

I think this will absolutely take over facebook at some point. I give it 1-2 years and I think a lot more people are going to see it the same way we do. The only ones that won't make the convergence over will be those to afraid of technology and those who just don't get it and won't take the time to try and learn. Those people will stay in the dark ages - lol, but not us!

On Waterson - I was with you - he was a very allusive man so there aren't many photographs of him like there are with a lot of other influential artists out there. I have bought so many of the books and have read all the comics but like you didn't know a whole lot about him. Researching this was very enlightening, even for me, and I am glad that you found some interest in his backstory! He's the man and one of my most favorite illustrators ever. His work is hilarious and deep and I think it appeals to everyone - which is really hard to do these days. Though he struggled to find his place - I think it is so beautiful what he was able to eventually accomplish and definitely can be a point of inspiration and hope to others facing the same adversity. NEVER GIVE UP - ALWAY PERSEVERE!

I read your Chester Gould post - I loved it and appreciated all the background information and explanation of where some of your elements come from and what has inspired your own work and process. I look forward to reading the others. Thank you for interacting with me - I look forward to seeing more of your stuff - you definitely have a new fan!

I left Facebook 4 years ago - I did consider if it would be a bad move for my career (painter - graphic artist) and I guess it was, but at the time the whole art-world was blown to pieces by the finacial crisis anyway - I have created different alternative projects but the last couple of years mainly as Katharsisdrill doing digital art and comics.

So I have only been on free social media since - Diaspora - a hippie tech federated network where you can find high resolution and free versions of my artworks: You can see it here. There's a lot of comic-pages, but if you go down below also other things... even some music :)

I'm glad to connect to people who actually read and think, And glad that you could use the Chester Gould introduction. I'll try to look out for your posts - sometimes Steemit can be a little confusing.

Awesome! I will definitely check out diaspora! Thank you for letting me know about it - sounds really cool :)

I also enjoy connecting with other intellectuals who want to have a conversation, especially about art related topics as that is what I think I miss most from being in University. You have a lot of inspiration and knowledge to draw upon and it accelerates your learning.

Happy steeming - and I look forward to seeing you around :)

Awesome post.

Thank you @catapamoart - are you a big Calvin & Hobbes fan too? I still find myself cracking up reading through them - they never get old! Thanks for reading and commenting :)

Cool i love IT.
I am airbrush Artis !
Look at myn profileren.
I am new , but you love To see Dali.
@airbrush

Awesome @airbrush - I will definitely take a look - thanks for taking the time to read my post - thank you for your feedback :)

I love IT.
Come look at me!
I am airbrush Artis and you love To see what i make of portret Dali.

LOVE Bill Watterson, Calvin and Hobbes gave me so much enjoyment as a kid! Great post, I'm so glad you commented on my Kali Yantra post so that I learned about your blog...following now! Keep up the good work

Hey! You're welcome - I really liked your post so I am glad I commented on it too - thank you for taking the time to come take a look at my posts - I am glad you enjoyed this as much as I did. He is so incredible and the comics just make me laugh and smile and bring out so much happiness - his work definitely has impacted my personal artistic style and my childhood (as well) :) YAY! Please check back and see what I am up to :)

Yes - so much happiness! And I will frequently check on your posts :-)

You rock! Thank you

Great article, thank you, I enjoyed reading and couldn't help smiling. Of course, Bill Watterson is pure genius. I always supported his decision not to allow merchandise of Calvin & Hobbes (though I would buy tons of stuff myself!) Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64928.52
ETH 3525.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36