How to Paint Water Lily | Step by Step Tutorial | Oil Pastels Artwork

in #art5 years ago

Water Lillies Thumbnail.jpg

Hello dear Steemians! Today I am going to share a step by step tutorial on how I made this water lily painting using oil pastels.

Tools and Materials

  • Buncho oil pastels
  • A good quality artblock that is durable
  • Tissue to clean your fingers after smudging
  • A mechanical pencil with 2B lead (to draw only so choose based on personal preference)

Step by Step Tutorial

i 1.jpg

This is my drawing. Due to the excitement of painting, I forgot to snap a picture before beginning to add the colours. Luckily, I recorded my work. Hence I got this from an exported frame of my video.

i 2.jpg

I prefer to paint the background first. For the first layer of colours, I coloured it roughly and did not colour too much. This is because prior to painting this artwork, I did a mini experiment on another paper to see the best results for smudging. I noticed that when I add too much of colour, the smudging results in oil pastel 'dusts' which can mess my artwork. Hence, less is more. You can always add more colours if you like but it can be hard to remove colours once it messes the artwork. So, for the convenience of smudging in the best way, I applied only a light layer of colours.

i 3.jpg

After adding the first layer of colours, I smudged them using my fingers especially my ring finger like in the picture. I was careful not to mix them up and used tissue to clean my fingers before smudging a new colour. I prefer to smudge the first layer because I am not a fan of the white areas that we generally get when we use oil pastels. I would like to keep them at a minimal level. In case you choose the same colours that I did, please be careful not to mix up the blue and yellow while smudging. It is important not to do that because that will result in green. In order to avoid mixing them, a tip that works is to apply some white oil pastel between the two colours on the areas where they are close. It does help to a degree to prevent the mixing of the two colours during the smudging process.

i 4.jpg

I added another layer of colours to make them more vibrant. On the areas where I wanted certain parts to look cloudy or smokey like the water, I coloured in the middle area and left the smudged edges the way they were. That way, I can retain the texture that I like while at the same time adding more colours to make it more vibrant.

i 5 P_20190224_194700_HDR.jpg

I was done with the background at this point, at least for the moment.

P_20190224_221408_HDR.jpg

I painted the water lily halfway. I used various shades of pink and red, and also white for some highlight areas. To intensify the red, I added some brown.

P_20190224_232049_HDR.jpg

I was done painting the flower. If you are going to add some precise amount of colours on the edges of the petals, turn the oil pastel around and use the bottom part. The top part will be usually blunt due to usage and will not be suitable for such precise drawings most of the time.

P_20190224_234551_HDR.jpg

I painted the shadow of the flower which is on the surface of water. I used the same colours and painted it like a mirror image.

P_20190225_003950_HDR.jpg

Then, I added some darks and lights. I used dark brown and an insignificant amount of black on certain parts on the water and near the flower shadow area. I also drew some horizontal lines to create little waves on the surface of water. I added a few more colours like a dark golden brown and light green. Another thing I did was, I added a whitish green on the surface of water on the areas I wanted to look a little cloudy. You can also use white for the same effect.

P_20190225_022611_HDR - Copy g - Copy.jpg

This is my completed painting of water lily. I rarely use oil pastels although it is one of my favourite medium to paint. This should be a good start for me to use it more often.


This is my video tutorial with my voiceover. You will be able to watch me paint while listening to my voiceover guide. I hope that you enjoyed reading my post and I will be happy to know if it is helpful. Thank you for reading and have a great day/evening ahead.

If you like this post, please upvote and leave your feedback below.

If you would like to see more posts from me, follow me.
Stay tuned! xx

bitmoji-20190219124726.png


Click the Images to View My Recent Posts:

What is Yee Sang - CNY Prosperity Toss


Zendoodle Adult Colouring Artwork


Being Single is Better than Being in a Toxic Relationship


"Gaslighting Led Woman to Suicide" - What is Gaslighting and the Signs of Being Gaslighted


Feeding Bloodworms to Climbing Perch - The Unique Fish that Can Climb Trees


How to Paint Fireworks | Step by Step Tutorial with Video | Watercolour Painting


steem artists.png

bitmoji-20190219124908.png

Follow me: @yashny

My Dtube Channel: Yashny

About me:

I'm a chill, happy go lucky person. I am a feminist. I love food, art, books, numbers, psychology and occult science. I am in the process of healing and diving into spirituality. I think life is a gift and we should appreciate the little things of life more. Everything that I post is a little piece of my life. I believe that everyone is carrying their own cross, so don't judge anyone and be kind!

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥

Thank you for your support and encouragement
♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥

Sort:  

A very detailed tutorial great work

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you and I'm glad you like it =)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Such a beautiful tutorial, @yashny! I love how you lay out your process and the video is very nicely put together with wonderful music and narration <3

I havent tried oil pastels, but it seems like a difficult medium to work with but you did really well <3 The colours are bright and lovely and the water's reflection is done nicely also <3

Thank you so much for your feedback @veryspider! I am glad that you like it ♥ It may look difficult but actually it is really fun and as long as you don't overdo the blending of different colours, it will turn out great! Thanks for checking out my video too. I hope that you give it a try one day and I would love to see how it turns out =)

Hi yashny,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you @curie! ♥

Firstly, unto the artwork itself before the personal recommendation of a tutorial. I must admit, simple yet elegant colours for a delicate frame to paint for; especially when it’s oil on canvas. Equally, I love the reflection work and the suggesting of water being there (which reflects the existence of the pond). The sunset and it’s lights reflect simply, yet correctly, unto the pond to where I feel the impressionism (qua art movement and sensenuality) beaming out of the painting. And the lily rose calmly sitting/floating on the lake, undisturbed, is probably one of the cuter and beautiful aspects of the painting; which aids in the impressionism in general.

Unto the post proper, I love how you mention right away you forgot a crucial part but were lucky to have a video. Gave me a chuckle here alright, happens to us all unfortunately. Moving on, I like how you describe (AND FREAKING USE THE WORD "I" AS WELL WHICH IS SWEET!) and go through the motions. Step-by-step, which is reinforced by the video, showing how you carry out the process which might be a benefit to us all. For that alone deserves a @curie upvote that this post got. Makes me feel a certain SPIDER might enjoy a post like this... hey they already saw it, neat!

(To briefly touch on the video: the voice is definitely clear, direct, firm and without stutteting. Like it when tutorials are such, no matter where the person comes and no matter their accent. Accents shouldn’t account for anything significant in a person’s viewing of this post or any other post for that matter - thankfully the comments here on Steemit have been graciously nice so far. Keep that up people, anons and steemians!)

So happy painting and happy steeming!
FFFF035D-9959-4E03-B6A9-3D361A96CBEC.gif

Thank you @theironfelix for taking the time to give me such a detailed feedback! The fact that you paid attention to little details makes me feel really appreciated and it is definitely encouraging me to perform better! I am glad that you like my description because I thought that some people might find it odd that I use the word "I" instead of drawing a set of guidelines that are in the form of instructional steps. The reason why I use the word "I" is because I prefer describing everything that I do including my mistakes (like what happened in one of my previous paintings where I wanted to paint a horse and somehow it became a bodybuilding donkey LOL but I corrected it). So, people who read will understand that art is not always about perfection as mistakes happen and sometimes we correct it and sometimes we can transform it.

I am glad that you like the video too and understand my voiceover. I guess you are referring to @veryspider and yes, she did see it :)

Welcome for the comment!~ ^^
I purposefully brought up the “I” thing since I hadn’t seen a University Prof. ever get ticked off with a professional/scientific/research/dissertation paper ever use the word “I” where I live. So it makes me feel queasy when I see “professional” anon steemit users get ticked off when people use “I” in their posts.
Yus, that Spidy-widy~ ^^

I like to see different artists showing details of their work as each of you work differently. Some of them prefer to start from the focus point, other like you from the background. Art is so versatile and we can all do whatever we want as long as we get to an artwork that we like.

I love the golden light that you used. It contrasts perfectly with your water lily. I must admit that I have never seen a water lily fully open. I always come too early or too late :)

Yours looks beautiful! It's a good idea to use your fingers as otherwise you would indeed have some white spots. I see that you mastered working with oil pastels :)

Also, thank you for sharing your video. I like the way you explain what you do. You are well spoken and easy to understand.

Have a lovely day and congratulations on your curie vote!

Thank you for the feedback and I am glad that you like the colours that I picked. Indeed it is. Art is versatile and everyone has their own style of creating art.

I am glad you do. I like adding a touch of contrast to my paintings so it makes the main subject stand out. You are not alone. I have never seen one fully open either :)

That is right, smudging helps to fill most of the white spots. Although they are a part of using oil pastels, I prefer to keep them at a minimum level. I guess I am getting there because I have been using oil pastels for many years now and I have learned a lot on what works best for me.

I am glad that you find my video easy to understand! Thank you again and have a great day/evening ♥

This is such a lovely water lily! Thank you for sharing the process...working with oil pastel can be very difficult and you have outlined some great tips here! <3

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you @creativesoul and you are welcome! Yes it can be due to being a little messy as we use our fingers a lot or mix the colours too much which ends in a muddy looking colour. I am glad that you find it helpful ♥

What nice artwork👍👏 Keep on painting and sharing

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you so much! ♥

hi @yashny
I'm really impressed by your work, a true work of art! t's a bit like being in your head and seeing with your eyes, because with regard to eyes, You have a special sensitivity. And I really like it when you artists show us all the steps that led to the creation of the work.
I liked your style so much that I went to see the other drawings you did and one of the favorites is the fireworks! Congralutations and thanks for sharing with us

Wow, that is so kind of you to check out my other artworks along with the latest one! I am glad that you like my work. I believe that steps are important because, only then others will be able to attempt the painting with confidence and try. Thank you for the wonderful feedback ♥♥♥

Congratulations @yashny! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 500 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 600 upvotes.
You received more than 2000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 3000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64951.20
ETH 3557.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35