What is Yee Sang - CNY Prosperity Toss

in #cny20195 years ago

8523673446_cc4c145dee_k.jpg

Image source: Marufish

Hi Steemians! Today I am going to share a little about Yee Sang which is the Chinese New Year prosperity toss. It is also known as Yu Sheng, Lou Sang and Lo Hei. Yee Sang is a popular Chinese colourful salad dish in Malaysia and Singapore. It is a part of the Chinese New Year tradition where people gather around the dining table and toss the ingredients high with chopsticks to welcome the new year with wishes of prosperity and abundance for everyone. Yee Sang is made of many ingredients and some of them are pickled vegetables which are sliced. They are all mixed thoroughly when the meal is eaten.

The following photos are some of the ingredients of Yee Sang which I snapped in a Chinese restaurant. They caught my eyes because they looked so colourful. Unfortunately, I couldn't get a perfect top view of all the ingredients due to my short height :(

P_20190131_162902_HDR g (1280x960).jpg

All of the ingredients that I could find in the restaurant.


P_20190131_162847_HDR g (1280x960).jpg

A closer shot of the first half of the ingredients

The yellow ingredient on the top left is called takuan. They are daikon radish pickles. The other shredded ingredient in the container is pickled red ginger which indicates good luck. The ingredient placed beside the container is Chinese 5 spice powder. It is to usher good fortune to everyone in the family. The ingredient next to it is sesame seeds. It symbolizes prosperity in one's business. Then, the first ingredient on the bottom row is shredded beetroot for good luck as red is an auspicious colour. The next ingredient is candied ginger. It is a symbol of seeking more abundance throughout the year.

P_20190131_162854_HDR g (1280x960).jpg

A closer shot of the other half of the ingredients

The ingredient on the top left was already mentioned in the previous paragraph. Hence, I am moving on to the one next to it which is crushed roasted peanuts. It is to symbolize a home that is filled with gold and silver. The ingredient next to it is white ginger. Yee Sang toast is done with a small portion of raw fish. So the ginger helps to kill the bacteria if there are any in the raw food item. In the bottom row, the green ingredient is chuka wakame which is seasoned seaweed. It is used because the colour green symbolizes the hopes for youthfulness and vitality in the year. The ingredient in the last bowl is vermicelli noodles. The main ingredient which is a raw fish is missing as it was not displayed. The dish will be complete with the fish.

bitmoji-20190221073808.png

I wish everyone celebrating Chinese New Year a belated Gong Xi Fa Cai.

May the Year of the Pig bring lots of good luck to you!

Sources:

What Each Colourful Item On Our CNY Yee Sang Dish Really Represents
The Origins of Yee Sang
Yu Sheng (CNY Raw Fish Salad)
Yee Sang 101: Why Do We Toss It And What Does It Symbolise?

If you like this post, please upvote and leave your feedback below.

If you would like to see more posts from me, follow me.
Stay tuned! xx

bitmoji-20190221073847.png


Click the Images to View My Recent Posts:

Zendoodle Adult Colouring Artwork


Being Single is Better than Being in a Toxic Relationship


"Gaslighting Led Woman to Suicide" - What is Gaslighting and the Signs of Being Gaslighted


Feeding Bloodworms to Climbing Perch - The Unique Fish that Can Climb Trees


How to Paint Fireworks | Step by Step Tutorial with Video | Watercolour Painting


My Christmas Ornaments Artwork - Watercolour Painting Step by Step Tutorial


bitmoji-20190221073817.png

Follow me: @yashny

My Dtube Channel: Yashny

About me:

I'm a chill, happy go lucky person. I am a feminist. I love food, art, books, numbers, psychology and occult science. I am in the process of healing and diving into spirituality. I think life is a gift and we should appreciate the little things of life more. Everything that I post is a little piece of my life. I believe that everyone is carrying their own cross, so don't judge anyone and be kind!

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥

Thank you for your support and encouragement
♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64839.49
ETH 3551.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32