Feeding Bloodworms to Climbing Perch - The Unique Fish that Can Climb Trees

in #dtube5 years ago (edited)


Hi Steemians and Dtubers! This is my pet fish, Stefan. He is a climbing perch. I am feeding him bloodworms, which is his favourite meal in the video. The bloodworms are stored frozen in little cube shapes. When I choose to feed him, I put them out for around ten minutes in room temperature and proceed to feed him after that. Apart from that, I also feed him the general fish feed made for climbing perch.

Stefan loves it when I turn the lights on. He swims fast like a bullet back and forth. He also jumps up and down when we go near him. On rare occasions, he jumps so high that he accidentally hits the top of his tank. On the events where my entire family has been out for too long for a few hours, he gets upset and hides behind the plants when we go near him after getting back home. He stays that way for about ten to fifteen minutes before cheering up. When nobody is watching him, he pushes the plants and moves their positions to arrange them in a new order. It is like his 'playtime'. Only when we check him later on we realize the change in positions of the plants a.k.a. his toys and understand that he played with them.


P_20180225_120547.jpg
Stefan swimming around in his tank


About climbing perch

The scientific name of climbing perch fish species is Anabas testudineus. They are fresh water species. They usually live in estuaries, lakes, canals, ponds, swamps, paddy fields and rivers. They are native to Asia especially Southeast Asia which is where I am from. However, they have propagated to Papua New Guinea over the last 40 years. One of the things that make the climbing perch fish unique is they have the ability to walk on land using their pectoral fins and even climb onto trees. Another thing is they can live without water for a few days and even a few weeks because they possess air breathing organs.

Interesting facts

Climbing perch is a restricted pet in Australia. This is because some of them were washed away from Papua New Guinea to Australia during a heavy rainfall. Hence, they are concerned that the introduction of a new species of fish can be a threat to the existing ecosystem of animals there. Therefore, in the event where someone wish to keep a climbing perch as their pet, they need to obtain an official permit.

Sources:

FishBase - Anabas-testudineus
Queensland Government - Climbing perch
Pestsmart - Are climbing perch a major incursion threat for Australia?
ABC News - Aggressive climbing perch may make it to mainland Australia, researchers fear


Thank you for reading and I hope that you have a nice day/evening.


If you like this post, please upvote and leave your feedback below.

If you would like to see more posts from me, follow me.
Stay tuned! xx

bitmoji-20180407075008.png


Click the Images to View My Recent Posts:

How to Paint Fireworks | Step by Step Tutorial with Video | Watercolour Painting


My Christmas Ornaments Artwork - Watercolour Painting Step by Step Tutorial


Woods, Meadow and Lake | Step by Step Tutorial | Water Colour Painting


How to Paint a Rose | Step by Step Tutorial | Water Colour Pencils


How to Paint Tokyo City Skyline | Step by Step Tutorial | Water Colour Painting


How to Paint Fall Trees | Step by Step Tutorial | Water Colour Painting


How to Paint Clematis Flowers | Step by Step Tutorial | Water Colour Painting


Follow me: @yashny

My Dtube Channel: Yashny

About me:

I'm a chill, happy go lucky person. I am a feminist. I love food, art, books, numbers, psychology and occult science. I am in the process of healing and diving into spirituality. I think life is a gift and we should appreciate the little things of life more. Everything that I post is a little piece of my life. I believe that everyone is carrying their own cross, so don't judge anyone and be kind!

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥

Thank you for your support and encouragement
♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

Sort:  

@yashny, Interesting to watch this video and i am planning to have a Fish Tank soon. Stay blessed. 🙂

I am glad that you like it and that is cool, because it will be fun to watch them grow and even develop their own personalities! Thank you and may God bless you too =)

Welcome and thank you so much. Have a great time ahead. 🙂

You too ☺

Thank you. 🙂👍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70541.68
ETH 3582.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.74