THE POND- Making of (An original acrylic painting realized by my 4 years old)

in #art6 years ago (edited)

IMG-20180826-WA0004.jpg

A few months ago, I posted one of my 4 years old son's paintings on Steemit. That post received a Curie upvote and turned @dreemsteem into Auntie Dreemie. As Auntie Dreemie loves dragons, she fell in love with the painting my son created and expressed her wish to buy it. Unfortunately at that time, it was not for sale and later on, it was passed on to my son's best friend as a birthday gift.

Since summer was knocking on the door and we were getting ready to leave in our long waited vacation, he did not have enough time to make another painting for Auntie Dreemie. Thus he promised he would do one, upon his return.

When you are 4 years old there's a whole world out there to explore, puddles to jump in, scooters to ride, mud pies to bake, friends to play with and so on. Summer is the busiest season of them all!

Although my little artist was still in vacation, he did have in mind his art patron, Auntie Dreemie. He spoke with great excitement about her to all of his family, relatives and friends. Everyone knew that he was working on commission for a client in the states.

Once we came back home, he decided to make a mockup painting before starting the real one. It did not happen exactly during the same week, but he did take his job very seriously.

IMG_1126.jpg

Here are some of the photos I took while he was working on the mockup painting. As you can see in the photos below, he started by adding some modelling paste and spread it on the canvas in order to create different patterns and texture.

IMG_1131.jpg

IMG_1136.JPG

Since Auntie Dreemie mentioned she liked the blue colour, he collected all the shades of liquid blue we had and poured them on the canvas. Then he waited a day for the paint to dry properly.

IMG-20180817-WA0002.jpg

Because he was not quite pleased with the way some shades of blue got darker, he decided to add more colours, make it brighter and alive for contrast. Therefore he kept on adding layer after layer of colours. I loved watching him play with paint, creating such a beautiful texture.

IMG-20180817-WA0042.jpg

He used many tools such as wedges, brushes, rolls and even his fingers to spread paint and create intricate patterns. According to him, you must feel a painting and the simplest way to do so is by touching it.

IMG-20180817-WA0037.jpg

IMG-20180817-WA0038.jpg

IMG-20180817-WA0036.jpg

He named this painting THE POND because this is where the fireflies live!

IMG-20180817-WA0041.jpg

I am blown away by his ability of translating his own vision of the world into an abstract art work. Each one of his paintings tells a story. This one talks about Auntie Dreemie's fireflies in an autumn setting.

IMG-20180817-WA0039.jpg

What I find stunning is the fact that he does not easily lose interest in painting as most kids of his age would after a few minutes. He can go on painting for one or two hours and plans the next step of his art project. He clearly has a sense of composition and colour!

IMG-20180817-WA0043.jpg

Let's have one more look at THE POND! Could you believe it was done by a four years old? I couldn't be more prouder of my little artist!

IMG-20180826-WA0004.jpg

Auntie Dreemie, I hope you are enjoying as much as I do this mockup painting! I love it! If he calls this a mockup, I can't wait to see what he will come up with for the real one!

Here are some of my art related posts:

FLUID ART
BLAZE - MAKING OF
LET YOUR INNER CHILD IGNITE YOUR CREATIVITY
UNDER THE BLUE -MAKING OF
DRAGON - MAKING OF
ART THERAPY, WHAT THE HECK IS THAT?
FUN WITH ACRYLICS
MAGICAL UNICORN- MAKING OF
MUSHROOM TABLE- DIY
WHAT SPARKS YOUR CREATIVITY?

Unless stated otherwise, all photos used in this posts are taken and owned by myself.
If you wish to use any of my images, please contact me!

Thank you for reading, I hope you enjoyed it! Please leave your feedback in the comments,
I would love to hear your thoughts!

@2018 LaviPicu aka The Lyme Poet. All rights reserved.

Sort:  

Great to see talent so young @lymepoet something to nurture.

Yes, indeed! I am thrilled and supportive of his passion for art.

Beautiful! well done mate. I can see a famous artist in the near future. Love to your family.

Thank you! He is happy with the final result!

I remember doing that sliced potato thing when I was young.

Namaste, JaiChai

That is always fun to do for kids!

That is so cool seeing how he created this beautiful work of art

Thanks! He had lots of fun doing this painting.

ohhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh that mock up is wonderful!!!!!!!!!

My little artist!!!! I am getting so so so very excited!!!! hehehehe

I can't wait to give him MORE notice by posting about this excitment hehehehehehehe

Please tell him I love what he said about "feeling" the painting. and I absolutely am so honored that he's spent SO much time thinking about fireflies!!!! what a delight he is!

so special to be supporting him now! I still need to think of SOME way to express my joy! nothing monetary! just... something special for him! :)

Thanks, Auntie Dreemie! Happy to see that you are enjoying this! He was curious to hear what you would say about it. Now he is relieved you liked it ;0)

oh tell him its absolutely beautiful!!!!

and tell him he can NEVER be afraid of too much blue. blue is the color of the sky and the sea and dreemie! heheheheheehe

but i love his reds and greens too! its all wonderful!!

also - tell him i loved to see his hands in some of the pictures! they are the hands of an artist for sure!!!!

Early show of talent, must be encouraged @lymepoet. I can’t believe he is only 4 😊

Thank you! I do encourage him to paint whenever he feels like it.

I love it when pictures have that 3D effect on them. I just played with it too, a couple of days ago using foil and different brushes. This turned out very lovely, good job! 💚

You can't go wrong with foil and brushes, it's always fun!

I am wowed by this. He has got talent

Thank you! He likes painting with acrylics.

congratulations my friend. your work its wonderfull

Thanks! I am glad to see you liked his painting.

Very creative!! I love the idea of putting clay on the canvas first for texture, what a cool idea!

Thank you! Using modelling paste or even glue saves you paint when you try to create that extra texture.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 57379.94
ETH 2522.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32