Perth Cutlural Centre - Street art in my own backyard!

in #art6 years ago

Perth's Cultural Centre

A few days ago I came across a post by @lymepoet called STREET ART IN MONTREAL. It got me thinking about our trip to Penang and the wonderful street art they have there. This must of triggered something in my brain for the very next day I was running late to a work meeting in the city and I noticed all this wonderful street art right in my own backyard.

Cultural centre.jpg

Just over an hour later on my walk back to the train, I decided to take a moment to snap some of the things I saw along the way to share with you all. As you exit the Perth train station heading North you will be greeted by this quote from My Mind by Alf Taylor.

Kite.jpg

My mind is so free. I can be what I want to be. No obstacle too strong. No road too long. In my mind I can do no wrong.

Sphere.png

Just past the Art Gallery of WA, there are some beautiful natural wetland gardens with a hidden sphere, its set out a little like an amphitheatre with a few coffee shops and cafes within walking distance, so that many can sit and enjoy their surroundings during their breaks.

Street Art.jpg

Once you past Francis St onto Museum St the whole street becomes awash with colour and if you look to your right you will see a man looking rather impressed with himself.

Man.png

Unfortunately, not everyone is great at street art and really should leave it to the professionals. I really don't like graffiti when there is no art behind it. Especially on such a beautiful old building that has lost his way.

I had to laugh as I turned the corner to see these cute little "Baby Yaga Houses" at the TAFE. I instantly thought of baby chickens and was pleased to find the one on his lonesome with the artist's details and information.

Baby Yaga Houses.png

Baba Yaga the witch and her chicken-legged houses are traditional fairytale characters that have been adapted and included in different children's tales around the world. Marwa Falmy - Created 2012

Wood art.jpg

This collaborative piece by a lecturer and his students highlights a traditional Noongar family, for more information click on the image to enlarge and read the details.

Head Spring.png

I have to say that I love this piece the most, maybe because I am a colours person, maybe because of the fun nature of the art, either way, it made me smile and it was the only one I ventured off my path to get a good shot.

Art & Pigeons.jpg

Finally, what is art for? Ask a pigeon and they will just stare while pooping but so long as their not pooping on you, I guess its a win. Thanks for taking a walk through the Perth cultural centre, it's amazing what you can see in your own backyard when you look up. There is loads more to see too but I wouldn't want to spoil all the fun.

Power Up and Steem ON!



Want some inspiration, a hint or a maybe a laugh, I'm pretty funny I have been told. CHECK out these posts, all brought to you by @insideoutlet!

Throwing myself off a building, but let's start with a cliff...
What's in a name? Steemit Name Challenge

If you like any posts below this point please consider upvoting a more recent post as these while very useful have already paid out.

My hubby @shai-hulud is also a great steemian worth a follow, check out his knowledge bank below:

Steemit Week 1: Who Are You
Don't get hooked by a Phishing scam. Actual steps you can take to protect yourself.
Steemit Day One #2: Why lock an Empty House
Welcome to Steemit. Day one: Get ready for the learning curve.

Shai & I.jpg

What to know more about @shai-hulud and I Check out these posts:

Butt naked with 2500 other cruise line passengers! Featured in @qurator & @asapers
Love isn’t always shit free. Featured in @thesteemengine and #themagnificentseven
How I got flipped Inside Out... For REAL! Featured in @thesteemengine

Did YOU know that your upvote needs time to recharge? If not check out this post below, if you like it please consider upvoting a more recent post as this one has now paid out.
Steem & Voting Power, how not to waste it!

asapers 2.png

One last thing! @asapers has started a profit-sharing curation post called Read me A.S.A.P that picks from their followers so make sure you follow the @asapers to be curated next.

The STEEM Engine

Team Australia Banner - @insideoutlet.png

Steemit Bloggers

Upvote follow resteem.png

Team Australia Banner @bearone, @asapers by @shai-hulud, @steemitbloggers by @zord189


Sort:  

Really, we fail to notice certain things until they are consciously brought to our awareness. I only began to notice the beautiful trees around when I took interest in Tree Tuesday challenge here on Steemit. Shame! Previously I just took it all for granted.

And these are very beautiful art, (thanking @lymepoet for the inspiration, lol). Just see the Baba Yaga houses. So cute! actually hearing about the tale for the first time (sorry just dropped from Mars.) I'll google for more. Beautiful beautiful post @insideoutlet.

Thank you, I'll have to check out Tree Tuesday as I live old yes and we hike often. I have never heard of the chicken houses either, so more research may be required on my behalf to. Lol

I'm glad to see that Perth's redevelopment continues strongly. i used to write articles for a food blogger in Perth, so I'm somewhat familiar with all the changes going on there. Someday, I will get to visit, and I'll know my way around already!
Thanks for the post.

I hope you do visit. A food blogger would be an interesting job. Do you get to try it all?

I didn't get to actually visit. The food blogger would give me the names/sites of the restaurants he wanted me to cover and take the pictures. So, no, unfortunately. :(

Thats a bit of a bummer as a food blogger you would have been able to eat it.😭

Ive just visited sydney and melbourne few months ago and the lst time inwas in perth was in 1995 i guess? Lol. I always love street arts in fact ive been invited to paint 5 walls around Kuala Lumpur city in the next 5 months and im excited! Thank you for sharing this im inspired! :)

Wow being invited to paint is an honor. I can't paint very well but I'll give anything a try. Good luck I hope you post about your painting works.

Those Baba Yaga house are so awesome! I would love to have a walk within your city and enjoy these artworks up close. Thanks for sharing!

Thanks for inspiring me to look up.

Ohh I love street art too. You've been to Penang?? Ipoh and Penang have a lot of street art around the town center.

Yes a few times. We love Escape the adventure park and the good. The art was just a huge bonus. I love that they have a map to point out all our and there are some that are incorporated into the shops.

!!! Let me know when u drop by Penang again!! Maybe I can gather the #teammalaysia tour peeps for a meetup!

These are wonderful sights and as I look at them I wonder what creativity has played out in some of those buildings and walls, creativity at work. Nice shots!

Thanks for stopping by. It was a lovely walk after a rather useless meeting.

Art is really so beautiful, i love those pictures.f

These are all amazing. We don't have much street art in my hometown. It's really fun seeing all these. Personally that baba yaga one really caught my attention. Thank you for sharing.

I loved the chicken houses too, they cracked me up and I had never seen anything like them before either. Thanks for stopping by.

I regret I didn't visit Perth when I travelled Australia, a few years ago.
What mostly amazed me were the colours and the fact that you really value art, so you can see beauty everywhere

I am a huge nature fan, so I love hiking and seeing natural beauty and animals, i am great a spotting odd insects but often don't look up when in the suburbs, glad I took my eyes off Steemit long enough to get a good post for it. lol :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by insideoutlet from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59209.84
ETH 2659.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43