And then I got a smack.

in #art6 years ago (edited)

gargoyle devil carving imp dwarf.png

I always had an overwhelming urge to carve, to create. Around 7-8 years old, I had grown out of plasticine (don't worry – this was just temporary insanity) and was looking for a new sculpting medium.

I searched high and low for wood but all the spare wood had already been burnt or was fixed too securely in place. I was almost bereft with frustration and starting to feel I would never find anything suitable.

Almost ready to give up, I came across a large concrete breeze block amongst a thicket of *pee-the-beds and *mother-dies in some waste ground nearby. It was heavy and dirty, but I wiped off the crawlies and lugged it back home.

I don’t know how many hours I spent chipping away at this block, but it was — for me — one eternal moment of bliss.

I initially intended to create a Romanesque bust. In my fantasy (all childish creations are paired with fantasies of glory, aren't they?), this carving of mine would be held aloft by my proud parents. Reporters would flock from every country to marvel at this genius sculptor child. I soon realised, however, that the gap between fantasy and technique was somewhat wider than anticipated. I had to adjust my ambitions. My design ideas began to fall more in line with my skill level. In the end I opted for a free-form, abstract totem pole (ish). It resembled something like the image below (only mine was much more amateurish).

crude carvings.jpg

I continued on like this until all my dad’s chisels and screwdrivers became useless, blunted beyond repair.

I surveyed my work like a proud artist and set about finding a platform for the big reveal. I opted for the top of the *telly which was sturdier than our glass table. I draped antimacassars over the top and summoned my family to the lounge.

applause.jpg

Their reaction wasn’t what I’d hoped. Mum gave a confused grimace and then burst into applause, her knee-jerk response to anything that could pass as a skill – probably as a result of reading too many child psychology books.

Dad’s reaction wasn't as encouraging. He thumbed the valleys and sharp edges of my work before narrowing his eyes at me. I wriggled a bit. My spidey senses knew something was off.

‘What did you use to make it?’ His voice was dark.

I knew breeze block was not the right answer.

'Just some tools,' I said, shrugging.

Dad sprinted to the patio where I'd been creating my masterpiece. His face was grief stricken. I watched with dread as he cradled his deformed tools.

And then I got a smack.

I never lost my urge to carve though. Many years later, I drove all the way to Derbyshire for a one-day stone carving course. I spent the whole day just chipping away at a piece of limestone and was at once transported to that eternal blissful moment I remember from my childhood. I drove home with numb and swollen hands, covered in lime dust and bursting with a sense of achievement. I didn’t even get a smack when I showed the result to my dad.

celtic cat carving.png

In case it’s not clear (guffaw), this is my carving of a Celtic knot formed by three interwoven cats. Of course that's what it is! It has a special place in my garden and is visited regularly by Trevor, my canine art critic.

weeds.jpg

*pee-the-beds and *mother-dies: these are not strict taxonomic labels for classifying local flora. Children, not having access to taxonomic journals of plantae, classified plant names independently. All this was based around completely made-up and terrifying mythology. Children were convinced that picking a pee-the-bed would result in that child peeing the bed for the foreseeable future. Picking mother-dies would result in the child's mother dying.

telly 70s.jpg

*telly: back in the 70s, televisions were heavy, deep and wide pieces of furniture. You could display almost a tonne of bric-a-brac on top.

Thanks for reading.

Love
Anji x

Did any of your hobbies ever get you in trouble?

akdivider.png

SMARTSTEEM

Other eclectic articles

Crafting

6-word story contest. Now Open! SBD Prizes!

Did you just assume my gender?

Crypto Empire expands – New Embassies

Introducing @MINNOWBOOTCAMP Community Bot Account for NEW MINNOWS and UP!

Is someone trying to kill your dog?

Interview with an English Bulldog puppy

Fractal Buddha with Bonus Haiku

Life advice from an imperfect human

@EagleSpirit

How to write a critique for fiction

How to improve crap fiction writing

akdivider.png


Crypto Empire

All pics in my blog are either mine or freely available online (pixabay, wikimedia, pexels, flickr, public domain pictures, freestockphotos.biz, maxpixel), labelled for reuse and doctored by me.

Sort:  

Wow, I love it! How heavy is that thing! I am very fond of these knot structures.

I'm grinning loudly imagining the scene where you placed your glorious artwork on top of the telly. Wuh woh..... Look at that face...Time to run!!!!!

Aw thanks Eon :D

I dunno how heavy but it was too heavy for me to carry. My muscley son had to carry it from the car for me.

Hahah, yeah run XD

Are those cats? I think I lack your imagination lolz...

I did get into trouble a number of times because of my fascination towards playing in the dirt and dust, if you can call that a hobby :D

How wonderfully you write... I am learning from all of you guys not just the how to survive here but also how to write good enjoyable reads...

Yes they're bloody cats! :P hahah lolz

Aw thank you for the kind compliments. It's great to be working with such a positive person in MBC as you.

cheers
Anj :D

I had tons of smacks here and there. ^^ lol

The Celtic knot is a good hand work anj (from a newbie perspective) lol I never tried that craft and you doing that is purdy cool! ♥

Aw lol @ the tons of smacks. Yeah, me too hehehe

thanks Dawn. Very kind of you to say.

cheers
Anj xx

So happy to hear that the pee-the-beds and , mother-dies and even the smack never stopped you. Totaly Love the knotty celtic cats sculpture ! Thanks for sharing your story :)

Thanks @jey-blue. Yeah, smacks and mythology don't scare me... much :P

Thanks for popping by to comment :D

You're welcome! :)

Wow, so cool! I can’t imagine being able to carve, let alone with such detail and skill. Really awesome work, keep on creating!

Aw that's so kind of you @lilyraabe. My skills need a lot more practice but it's the activity I love best.

Thank you for your lovely comment :D

Hey! I love this--and you have a lot of amazing work. Followed you and happy to see you’re part of the #thealliance family. I run a multimedia art contest that I bet you would have an amazing entry for, if you might be interested in submitting? https://steemit.com/contest/@lilyraabe/art-mix-up-contest-or-01

Thanks Lily. That's really kind of you. I'm not fully a member of the alliance. Still in the playground until I can prove I play well with others, but fingers crossed :D

Thank you for the link. I'll look at that now.

cheers
Anj :)

Steemit get's me in trouble on a regular basis and causes a lack of sleep! Wonderful carving though, shame your first efforts were not totally appreciated - although I imagine back then the tools were quite precious and hard to come by. Quite an elating tale though, because despite your initial troubled start to carving you went back to it and created a piece of incredible beauty. Super post, thanks for sharing.
c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance

Aw thanks Coff.

Hahahah that Steemit hobby!

That was so kind of you to say. Unfortunately, my skills fall short of my ambition. And yes, tools were EXPENSIVE back then. They were his good ones :P

Laters
Anj x

Celtic cats. Love it.

thanks @coldsteem
I wish they looked more like cats but I'm working on my skills hahah :D

"Just some tools"...
lmao, maybe Breeze Block WAS the right answer! :D

Why did you think you need to define "telly" :P
Well, maybe for the non-English crowd...

Lol I think you're right about the right answer XD

I was thinking that the younger audience might not remember the tellies we used to have. Nowadays, you can just about balance a coin on the top. It was to help with visuals :D

thanks for coming over to chat Undie :D
xx

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 61016.36
ETH 3388.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56