A Tale of Two Extremes {Meditation & Running}

in #actifit5 years ago

Hey guys! How's your week going so far? I hope everyone is doing well and accomplishing goals! Though this is an @actifit post, running can very much be moving meditation so I figured I'd touch on that topic, as well. The picture above is the view from my quiet spot on Saturday. A rainy day is a great opportunity to be still and spend some time with my own mind!

I can't tell you how pumped I am to have finally joined the @naturalmedicine community! Though I've enjoyed reading posts from members like @riverflows and @walkerland (among so many others) for a long time, it took the promise of group meditation to finally get me to jump on the bandwagon. @bewithbreath has led two meditations so far through the community discord, and I've had the pleasure of joining in on both.

Though I've tried to cultivate the practice on my own, lately I just haven't quite seemed to be able to get motivated to sit down for some solitude and reflection. Just having the accountability of the group sessions is great by itself. However that first session was so uplifting joining in with others with the same energy and purpose. I already learned a few techniques to use in my own practice that I hadn't tried before! Thanks to the crew for welcoming me in to enjoy this experience! I look forward to the next one!

I also got some great "me time" yesterday chilling out on the back porch. I might have read an entire book in one afternoon...

Balanced out with all of my chill time has been plenty of running! I know we're a week into May now, but I don't think I did a quick April recap. I had one off week when I scaled back after going to the chiropractor, but other than that I pretty much hit all my training marks!

It's getting pretty toasty at this point in the season, so even with trying to get out earlier in the day I'm adjusting my pace to not pass out from heat. 😆

Today was a sweaty one. Just shy of 8 miles, split into an easy first 4 miles followed by 3 miles of half-mile repeats. Definitely not my fastest, but I'm happy with my effort given the conditions. I had originally intended to do 11 miles today, but opted for the longer speed session instead. I hit the 10-mile mark last week, so I think an 11-miler early next week will seal the deal as my last long run before race day. After that it will be taper time!

The good thing about training in the heat and humidity now is that I'll definitely be prepared if it is this warm on race day. I'm also signed up for the Peachtree Road Race on July 4th, and that one is always a scorcher! I have enjoyed the longer runs lately, especially when I settle in and find that nice physical and mental cruising zone. But I think as usual I'm going to be quite happy to scale down once summer hits full force!

Alright, time to rest my legs after finishing up dinner and hydrate some more! 💦

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png


15193
Running

Sort:  

A run in nature is indeed a kind of meditation.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I used to run more on the treadmill just to get my training in, but now I realize I get so much more out of being outside than just the miles! So many benefits beyond the physical. :)

Congrats on providing Proof of Activity via your Actifit report!

You have accordingly been rewarded 66.5 AFIT tokens for your effort in reaching 15193 activity, as well as your user rank and report quality!
You also received an 1.15% upvote via @actifit account.
Actifit rewards and upvotes are based on your:

  • User rank: which depends on your delegated SP, accumulated AFIT tokens, rewarded post count and recent rewarded activity.
  • Post score: which depends on your activity count, post content, post upvotes, quality comments, moderator review and user rank.

To improve your user rank, delegate more, pile up more AFIT tokens, and post more.
To improve your post score, get to the max activity count, work on improving your post content, improve your user rank, engage with the community to get more upvotes and quality comments.

Actifit is now a Steem Witness. If you believe in our project, consider voting for us

rulersig2.jpg
Vote for Actifit as a Witness
Chat with us on discord | Visit our website
Download on playstore | Download on app store
FAQs | Text Tutorial | Video Tutorial

Wow, that’s a good run, your fitness level is ⬆️⬆️⬆️⬆️

Thanks! Trying to make sure I'm as prepared for my race as I can be! :)

You’ve been visited by @porters on behalf of Natural Medicine!

I'm so happy that you came to join us at @NaturalMedicine and that you were able to make it to both group meditation sessions in our new "Mindful Life" discord channel!
There will be another one this Wednesday May 8th at 8:30 pm London Time. I'm glad you benefited from it and hope to see you on other sessions planned to be held regularly on Wed. 8:30 PM London time and Sat. 6:30 pm London time!
That's quite a running schedule you have for yourself! I can tell you are serious about it - your moving meditation!

--- ##### Come join us in the Natural Medicine fortnightly competition for a chance to win Steem rewards. The theme for this challenge is Home Remedies!

50SPII100SPII200II500SPII1000SP ♡♡♡ Discord

Thanks @porters! Planning on making it to the session today, as well! Hopefully we'll keep getting the word out and continue to grow the group! Love the energy that is put out when so many minds come together. :) It can definitely carry through when I take to the streets and trails for my runs.

I am terrible and mediating or quiet time I am kind of hyper and always on the go, the closest to meditating for me is my photo walk and photo editing

thats a good run today and that will get you ready for running in hot conditiions for sure

Thanks for being an active member of SteemUSA !tip

I think a lot of people have a hard time slowing down. ;) Spending time out in nature can be very calming, though, so I think that counts.

Oh boy is it getting hot here already! Tough to want to move around at a high intensity, but I'm trying to will myself through it!

I am sure that is the case, but MY family say I am over the top with it, but it is just the way I am full speed ahead or stop I don’t hve any other speed settings LOL
It must be hard inthe heat I know its bad enough here inthe peak of summer and I think it is a lot worse there

I tried meditating but my mind is constantly running and I can't.

Some sessions are definitely better than others for me. There are times when I just can't seem to get my mind to still, but I've realized I still get benefit from taking the time. :) I've done ones as short as 3 minutes just to try to focus and re-center myself.

I have been trying to meditate, begginer level, finding it very tough to start. Glad to know you are catching up with the pace.

It can definitely be challenging to get in the routine! I started out using the app Headspace, which I still really love. But now I am so happy to have the opportunity to jump in with @bewithbreath and the @naturalmedicine crew because it adds a whole different element to actually practice with others--even if everyone is all over the globe! I think like anything you just have to be kind to yourself and trust that given time you will improve. :)

Yeah trying :):) ,thanks for the tips, I will also try a group practice that might surely help me start :)

🎁 Hi @plantstoplanks! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @tattoodjay!

@tattoodjay wrote lately about: My Actifit Report Card: May 7 2019 Feel free to follow @tattoodjay if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

In the zone @plantstoplanks

Meditation and running. You are on fire. 15k steps as well. I love the post run shot of hard work and sweat! Awesome job.

Gaz

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks Gaz! I may not be on Team Gazza officially, but I appreciate the support. 😉

The meditation has been really great to add back in lately. I love the running and cathartic exercise, but the quiet time sitting and letting everything else go is a wonderful foil to all of the movement!

Meditation and solitude is what I need right now. Week is really stressful for me and everything doesn't seem to go right. Looks like you enjoyed your run and that is good for the body. I couldn't find the time to run as during my free time I just try to spend it on rest. But I need to get in shape sooner or later.

There have been times when I have only carved out a few moments for quiet reflection, and it has still been beneficial! Whether it is a few minutes a day or a few longer sessions each week, meditation truly is a wonderful habit to incorporate for health and wellness. I hope you can find some time to work it into your busy schedule!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66631.72
ETH 3487.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71