7 Day Positivity Challenge | Day 3 | Being Grateful For My Homeland

Goooood day readers! How are you? Let's be grateful for all the small things we have in life!


This is the Day 3 of my gratitude challenge, each day a reason to be grateful, one per day of the week until the week is gone.

thumb
Photo by Rafaela Biazi on Unsplash. Click Image to enlarge!

It's beautifuly blue and cold here; I'm grateful for another day and for being able to have a nice nutricious breakfast, I'm grateful for having a cozy bed to sleep on, I'm grateful for having a hot shower! All those small things unnoticed on a daily basis, yet so valuable for those who have travel experiences.

You can check my other positive days down below.

 7 Day Positivity Challenge | Day 1 | My Parents Started It All
 7 Day Positivity Challenge | Day 2 | Being Grateful For Being Alive

Traveling can bring so many new life perspectives for the ones who open themselves to perceive the experience in a genuine way. It's not only about going to paradisiac places for some days, taking cool pictures and then going back to that normal boring work.

amyr klink quote
Amyr Klink in Antarctica. Click Image to enlarge!

For those who jump into the traveling lifestyle, it becomes like an addiction. Being able to truly contemplate all those amazing places, will not only turn you into a positive and happy person, but will show you how to value everything. How many miserable situations we have to go through in order to get to those places?

This quote by Amyr Klink, that continuously insist on appearing in my posts is my mantra. The more I travel to incredible places in this world to see them with my own eyes; the more I value my own little city in my messed up country. The more I spend days exploring cold regions, the more I like our tropical summer.

So, for what am I grateful today?

I'm grateful for living where I live; I'm grateful for being Brazilian and living in the city of Pelotas.

From a normal citizen perspective our country is 'crap' - Believe me, I hear comments from Brazilians that makes me quite sad. I feel like everytime I explore different countries and the more I talk to foreigners, the more evident it becomes that every country in the world has it's own issues. Remember last post - Nothing will ever be perfect.

Everytime I come back from an adventure I feel more amazed by my own land, the place where I was born and raised. I feel more open to contemplate small things and my eyes are more sensible to see beauty on the small details. That park no ones gives attention, now, feels like a small oasis in the middle of a busy city. That beach everyone complains to be polluted, is like a paradise that no other city has. And so on.

Brazil may have political problems, it may have violence; but it also has beautiful landscapes and incredibly generous people.


From all the places I've been in this world, none of them had everything all together; mountains, rivers, incredible beaches, desert, vast flat fields, unimaginable forests.

Isn't it enough to be grateful for?

But wait, there's more... our people is generous, friendly, sometimes rude - but I'm yet to see a country where people are always smiling, a country where you can mix all types of religions and races without them killing each other - that's the magic of Brazil.

Thank you Brazil for being so beautiful.


thumb
Click Image to enlarge!

I was tagged by @riverflows to:

Write a post about something you have to be positive about today - this could be anything from being thankful for your current situation, someone being nice to you, being thankful for your friends and family, or even being thankful for the opportunity you have been given here on Steemit - just keep it positive :)
  • Do this for 7 days in a row if you get nominated.
  • Mention three people who should do this on each day.
  • Tag it with #7daypositivitychallenge and include these rules at the bottom of your post Include a picture of something positive (related to your story if possible.)
  • Tip: You need to put the # in front of 7daypositivitychallenge or it will not let you use the tag.

I would like to tag my friends @wanderlass @shasta @twowheeledmonkey whom I believe would write some beautiful texts - please don't feel obligated, but you've been tagged!


And you, what are you grateful for? Don't be sad if I haven't tagged you, we still have 5 more days to go.

If you liked this post, please, consider leaving your upvote for a hot coffee.

~Love ya all,


Disclaimer:  The author of this post is a convict broken backpacker, who has travelled more than 10.000 km hitchhiking. Following him may cause severe problems of wanderlust and inquietud. You've been warned.


I'm Arthur. I blog about Adventure Stories, Brazil, Travel, Camping & Life Experiences.

Follow me to stay tuned for more craziness and tips.

You may also want to read:

[Blog #13] Come Cycle With Me | Showing You My City & Exploring Trails

7 Day Positivity Challenge | Day 2 | Being Grateful For Being Alive

7 Day Positivity Challenge | Day 1 | My Parents Started It All

Monday Morning Quote: "There is no ocean bigger than human determination."

Mighty Steem Explorer Game! Discover the Location & Win the SBD

A proud member of the Steemit Travellers community:

Sort:  

Absolutely Professor like they say grass is always greener on the other side. India is in Similar situation and I keep hearing from my NRI friends how they get travel advisory from offices marking India in red. It's majorly what we choose to pick and follow. I might crib about a 100 wrong things here but I know I'll certainly miss it if I ever decide to move on.

It's all a perspective thing @thenomadictales, just like you said "grass is greener on the neighboor".

For me India is fantastic, I do see an incredible ancient culture, very different than mine and I would enjoy every single day if I were there. But still... it's no reason for disliking what I have.

I know many brazilians living in first world countries, it's consensus among them, that they would come back if it weren't by the bad government. Our countries have their problems, but the beautiful places surpass by far.

Put an Indian person living in a tropical beach and I bet they'll dream about the Himalaya for example hahaha

Just the mention of Himalayas can pull my strings. Guess it's time to head back for a vacation

Hahahahha can I join you? I'd love to cycle on that road that goes over the Hymalayas.

Comeover. I'm heading to Tirthan valley this weekend and hoping to go back to Ladakh in September

Awesome! If I had the money for the ticket I'd definately go.

I agree, I never longed for my back yard and my bed as much as I did after spending three weeks on another continent. Its all perspective.

a country where you can mix all types of religions and races without them killing each other - that's the magic of Brazil.

That is one of the things my husband remembers about the 13 years he spent in Brazil.

He spent 13 years there???

Yeah, first 13 years of this life.

Exactly! Travelling causes that, when we come back everything looks brighter.

Thanks for the comment @ginnyanntte! I still think you'll love Brazil though hahahahah

Love this part:

a country where you can mix all types of religions and races without them killing each other - that's the magic of Brazil.

And I can also relate to what you said for my own country - the Philippines. A lot of us leave the country and hate the situation (poverty, drug war, political leaders, etc). But you're right that each country has their own issues and we better look at the brighter side - that for me would be pristine beaches and virgin islands :)

Thanks for tagging me. I think I need to be reminded of the things I should be grateful for each day, even those things I usually take for granted. I shall make a post soon :)

Weheee @wanderlass, I'm glad you've accepted the challenge.

I think our countries have the same problems, but I'm sure the good things surpass that by far. We have so much to be grateful for as travellers - Look at the opportunity we have, many people in this world spend their lifes doing incredibly tough jobs.

Btw just a couple minutes ago I was discussing here how lucky we are to be able to open the faucet and have fresh water - many brazilians take that for granted.

Clean water is something we take for granted and having a faucet to easily access it. In some provinces here, people have to walk a long road to get clean water or have to manually pump water.

I can finally start posting as I'm done with the sndbox quest that I joined :D

Wohoooo curious to see what you'll bring!

From all the places I've been in this world, none of them had everything all together; mountains, rivers, incredible beaches, desert, vast flat fields, unimaginable forests.

THAT'S BECAUSE YOU HAVEN'T BEEN TO AUSTRALIA.

We have violence too - I kick photocopiers hahaha. No actually, we've got this awful domestic violence problem that is getting worse. Plus they want to mine everywhere and destroy what we have.

Brazil always seems like a great place to me and I'd love to visit one day. If it's got people like you in it, I'm in.

We have violence too - I kick photocopiers hahaha

Poor little machine, but it's got the job done - Appreciate that very much, still have to check the book though.

Dude, you have Buttercup, that's one hell of a reason to go for an endless tea meeting.

Domestic violence is a thing here, I see cases everyday on the newspaper, terrible cases - It worries me, in what point in history we've forgot about respect.

However, I do think that it's changing for better, we have Maria da Penha Law - you hit a woman and you are basically fu.. It's sad though that most women here are intimidated at home to not report to the police, most of them don't.

I was listening to a great podcast the other day about raising boys - part of it was telling them it's okay to cry, to acknowledge feelings - bottling it up can lead to aggression and violence later in life as there's just no where for that shit to go. But the problem is it's a bit of a cycle if they're raised in shitty situations themselves.

Yeah, when you told about violence you meant men beating up woman or child violence. I got kinda lost here.

For me both are terrible anyway and it's heavily related to where this people live. I don't know, my parents never needed to raise a hand for us, however, we were lot living in a violent environment ourselves.

We've learned that respecting others was everything in life and never to raise a hand for a woman, instead defend them. Now, imagine teaching this to your kid, but when he goes outside he sees all kinds of shit, it'll not work.

@mrprofessor, I'm wondering who started this good initiative?

also, I agree on this

Brazil may have political problems, it may have violence; but it also has beautiful landscapes and incredibly generous people.

I have a brazilian friend who is very nice and thoughtful. I think despite political problems, good people are still there.

Heyho @macchiata, curious to see your next texts xD

I've tried searching for the person to give him/her credits on my posts, but I couldn't find, even checking other people's texts.

Yeahhhh I love our spirit here! One day I've even made a Russian friend smile hahahahahaha, which is kinda hard to see

@mrprofessor this is what I just found :-)
https://steemit.com/7daypositivitychallenge/@ilhuna/7-day-positivity-challenge-day-7-ilhuna
''The challenge was started by @conradt''
https://steemit.com/@conradt

Have a great evening my friend! 🌙

There you go! I though it was some kind of myth just like Satoshi Nakamoto or something ahaaha.

Thanks for finding out @shasta

I will say something very controversal...

I would probably trade in Switzerland's boring (but thankfully largely un-corrupt) politics and its grumpy citizens for a few kilometers of Brazilian beach 🙂🌞

Lemme do a counter-proposal hahaha

A few kilometers of Brazilian beach for a small part of the Alps, i'll need a small wooden hut too!

Lovely comment, thank you so much! I'm thinking about cycling Europe in the near future, maybe I'll visit you so we can kayak on those amazing lakes.

Haha, let me know when your travel plans become concrete.

When we meet up, we'll set up an international trading agreement: Alps against beach. 😀

AHAha deal! Let'me finish my coastal trip then I start thinking about Europe, I've heard it's possible to find sailboats for a good price over there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61185.73
ETH 3012.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84