Music Alphabet Challenge - A Fun Way To Share Music

Hooray dear readers! How are you? I was nominated by @veckinon for this challenge, here we go!


thumb
Photo by Diomari Madulara on Unsplash

Who here doesn't like music? I do! So nothing better then accepting the challenge of finding a song for each letter of the alphabet. Cool, that way I can listen while I write this post.

I was nominated for this challenge by my friend @veckinon, a fellow musician. You can check out his own post HERE.

So, the idea was created by @verhp11 (CHECK IT OUT). It is called  Music Alphabet Challenge, and we have to find a song for each letter of the alphabet. But not only simple random songs, the ones that somehow have a meaning for us.

The Rules

• You have to mention one song per letter of the alphabet. The song title has to start with that letter
• Write a small line of text for each song, memories or something else...
• Put a video with every song, if there aren't you can put a soundlink
• Use the hashtag #musicalphabetchallenge
• Nominate at least 1 person, the more the better 

Nominations

@rossfletcher - He's been posting his epic vinyl collections, I'm curious to know what he'll bring.

@riverflows - My friend from the other side of the world, I also know she's a music nuts and have a nice vinyl collection.

I nominated this two because I clearly remember they love music, guys if you feel like not participating or don't have the time don't worry! The idea is to have fun.

If you are a friend of mine and was not nominated, don't be sad! Do it anyway and link your entry on the comments - I would love to know you more through your playlist!

LETS GET STARTED, SHALL WE.

A


Angie - Rolling Stones

The great mistery for every Stones fan - Who is Angela? Not even Richards knows exactly who he wrote that for...

B


Baby Driver -  Simon & Garfunkel

I remember when I've discovered this sons, I used to listen to it over and over and over again driving my 70's car.

C


Crossroads - Cream

I know, I know... it's a Robert Johnson blues. However, as a guitar player, this one blew my mind the first time I've heard this. Clapton is god.

D


Deserted Cities of the Heart - Cream

Oh yeah, I'm afraid you'll see a lot of Cream on my selection. Once my friends asked me "Dude, do you only listen to Cream?". I'm absolutely blown away by this band.

E


El Condor Pasa - Paul Simon and Ganfunkel

I remember watching the movie Wild and sticking to this song like the girl on the movie. Then, when I was about to leave my last flat, I was listening to this over and over again while packing everything. Lovely song.

F


Fortunate Son - Creedence Clearwater

Blatlefield Vietnan - Anyone? How about Forest Gump? There's no way to not include this song as it goes back to the days my friends and I used to play computer games all night long.

G


Gimme Shelter - Rolling Stones

I can't explain why, but everytime I listen to this song I feel somewhat energetic, powerful. Used to listen to it on my cellphone going to uni.

H


Homeward Bound - Paul Simon and Garfunkel

I remember traveling with my passed away uncle listening to Paul Simon and Garfunkel, such memories. I guess he was the one introducing me to this guys.

I


Imagine - John Lennon

Can you imagine world as one? Was John a dreamer or we could do it? No way I could not include this song.

J


Jardim Eletrico - Mutantes

Picture this, Brazil in 1971, tropicalia, samba, and then THIS. I wanted to post this to share a bit of brazilian music.

K


Kashmir - Led Zeppelin

Remember me as a young guitar player trying to figure out this one - How the fuck does Jimmy play it? What a relief it was when I've discovered that DADGAD tunning.

L


Layla - Eric Clapton

This is perhaps the most impactfull song in my life. It was introduced to me by a great friend waaay back in childhood, we were both learning how to play acoustic guitar and then he showed this and we were like "WTF".

M


Manish Boy - Muddy Waters

I'm surprised this is the first true blues I include on my list! Every blues fan knows and plays this one every single time. Classic. I guess it was one of the first Muddy songs I've heard.

N


Não vá se perder por aí - Mutantes

A classic of the brazilian rock. How many times my friends an I got drunk going to brazilian music parties. This one is called in english (Don't get lost out there)

O


Outside Woman Blues - Crem

Perhaps the first song I learned the solo on guitar by myself, that woman tone on the guitar still amazes me.

P


Proud Mary - Creedance Clearwater

I remember listening to this at random bars drunk as a goat and singing only the main part with my friends hahahaha

Q


Quisás, Quisás - Buena Vista Social Club

I'm a blues and rock guy, but dude, Buena Vista Social Club sounds so sexy.

R


Roll Over Bethoven - Chuck Berry

The man himself, the legend, the myth - Chuck Berry. Any guitar player once found himself in front of the mirror doing the duck walk - Don't lie.

S


Swlabr - Cream

HAH! Was not expecting such a strange name, right? This psicodelic rock where not even the band knew what the fuck they were writing. Btw, have you noticed how I like Cream?

T


Travelin' Light

This Clapton song that I always come back to for some reason. Not a big fan of his contemporary music, but I like this one.

U


Under Pressure - Queen

How not including this myth of rock and roll! Bring the AC-30's baby. I atribute to my mom the reason for me liking Queen.

V


Velha Amiga - Cachorro Grande

Again, this not a particular impactant music in my life but it's worh sharing. This is a band from my state called Cachorro Grande, the song is called Velha Amiga (Old Friend). It's lovely the guitar on this song in my humble opinion, so pleasing to listen.

W


While my guitar gently weeps - The Beatles

Now we are talking. This combined two really important musicians in my live (Clapton and Beatles). I remember learning this song for a Beatles cover gig, my satisfaction when I got all the small guitar bits right and my frustration for not being able to cranck up the volume to bring that sustain.

X


X-Tatic - Foo Fighters

I'm not a fan of Foo Fighters but this was the last letter remaining and I absolutely wanted to complete. Since one of my best friends is a Foo Fighters nuts I'll do this for him.

Y


Y tú que has hecho? - Buena Vista Social Club

Ahhhh Buena Vista! Memories from El Chaltén in Argentine where we would listen to this all day at our campsite.

Z


Zoot Suit - The Who

This is by far no my favourite Who song, however I really took the challenge do fill in the list. Hunf. Moreover, it remembers me of times I lived like a MOD using heel boots and tie.


Hoooooah this is long, but it's all in there! Sad I couldn't include muuuuuch more as there are so many songs that I like or that impacted my life in some way or another.

I hope you've enjoyed this selection and if I haven't nominated you, please, feel free to do it anyway If you feel like so, and don't forget to send me your selection.

LET'S SPREAD MUSIC ALL OVER!

If you liked this post, please, consider leaving your upvote for a hot coffee.

~Love ya all,


Disclaimer:  The author of this post is a convict broken backpacker, who has travelled more than 10.000 km hitchhiking. Following him may cause severe problems of wanderlust and inquietud. You've been warned.


I'm Arthur. I blog about Adventure Stories, Brazil, Travel, Camping & Life Experiences.

Follow me to stay tuned for more craziness and tips.

You may also want to read:

Travel Story: Hitchhiking Tierra del Fuego & Learning History (Genocide of the Selk'nam)

TRAVEL: CREATIVE TIPS TO EARN MONEY - BROKEN TRAVELER EDITION

Simple Lifestyle in Valizas, Uruguay | Would you live there?

Bedside Books: Sharing Knowledge Through Fun Contests

Brazil - Bicycle Lane For What?

A proud member of:

Sort:  

Great classic selection, dude! Super cool!

Cannot beat the classics hahahahaa

Thanks for dropping a message @gibic and I'm glad you like those songs!

Your post was manually selected and voted for by @illuminati-inc (IINC) with support of @curie and its train of votes. About IINC: here. About Curie: here.

Omg! hahahaha I woke up this morning and checked my blog - Whaaatha happened here?
Such a surprise.

I absolutely love the community support on Steemit, it's something anywhere else to be seen. I cannot express how thankful I am and I just hope that I can continue growing, until I can do what you guys do - motivate & help.

For now, the only thing I can do is to follow you and start contributing with my humble upvote.
Thank you, Arthur.

How cool. Thanks. Keep up the work :)

Wow! This your playlist will be enough for me for a whole week, heh :). When I finish it completely, then I will definitely give my comment

Weheee @madlenfox, btw you should do your own list! I'd love to know what you listen to - I can already imagine you like rock/blues.
Come on, do, do, do xDD and link it here.

I love different music :)
it is possible That I can make such a list, but not today :) ?

gogogogogog dodododododod xDDD
Btw I was waching a video on TEDx about two russian guys talking about Jew's Harp, amazing! That was the ancient instrument that later gave life to harmonica and accordion.

Ohhh man! You got all the great classics! A few people in your list almost made it in to mine as well. Namely, Simon and Garfunkel, The Stones, and Queen.

Nice to see The Buena Vista Social Club on there too. I have not listened to them for years.

Yeah we share the same taste, man!

Buena Vista, ahhhh so many memories. Once I've lived for a few days in El Chaltén at a really cheap camping site, full of backpackers and climbers from all over the world. The best part of the day was during dinner, everyone reunited at the shed for cooking - Buena Vista loudly playing in the background. Superb! That's the first time I stopped to appreciate Cuban music.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57305.83
ETH 3076.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40