Day 5 - Gratitude

GRATITUDE (1).png

Day 5

Gratitude
@conradt nominated me to start out with him on this journey of bringing positive vibes to Steemit.

When I was a child, we had a big garden just across the street from our house. Summers were mostly spent there and all kinds of fruit and veggies grew - like magic.

Of course, as a kid, I didn't have to work to make the bounty appear. We just played and played and played. And ate plenty.

Usually, the first strawberry would be ripe for my birthday and my mom got it for me. At the peak of the harvest, dinner often was lots of strawberries with milk.

Apples and pears form well over 30 trees were stored in the basement and we ate them all winter. The not so good ones were taken by the wagon full to the juice press and we came home with lots of bottles of apple juice.

As an adult, we moved a lot. I started many a garden but didn't see them come to fruition. Then, I had a store for many years and worked. All the time. Seven days a week and long hours. The glamorous life of a small business owner.

When I was done with the store, after moving a bit away, we came back to San Diego and looked for a place. I saw an ad for a house for rent in the right price range and we drove by to see if we were interested.

The house was empty so we felt okay to walk through the front yard and peek over the fence. What I saw was a big backyard. I didn't care what the house looked like. I wanted that place.

Long story short, we moved in and were able to buy our 1/3 of an acre urban homestead a few years later.

I am grateful that I got to grow up close to nature and eat out of our garden. Even though my parents sold the land when I was a teen, I am very grateful that the love for gardening has been with me all my life.

I am grateful that I get to play with plants, chickens and the wild critters coming by on a regular basis. Someday, I will have everything looking like I want it to. In the meantime, I am grateful that I learned not to push myself beyond what is good for me. Relax and enjoy more - my new motto.

Today's Nominees

Aimee @canadianrenegade - she already is spreading so much positivity on Steemit. Why not a little more.

@denmarkguy - so he can show his kids that we can reach far with our computers - don't need no stinking phone lol

@fitinfun - she is reaching so many and is spreading her gratefulness of finding health. I know she has 7 days worth to share 😉

As always, don't feel obligated. Only do this if it feels right.

The rules:

  • Write a post about something you have to be positive about today - this could be anything from being thankful for your current situation, someone being nice to you, being thankful for your friends and family, or even being thankful for the opportunity you have been given here on Steemit - just keep it positive :)
  • Do this for 7 days in a row if you get nominated
  • Mention three people who should do this on each day.
  • Tag it with #7daypositivitychallenge and include these rules at the bottom of your post
  • Include a picture of something positive (related to your story if possible.

Tip: You need to put the # in front of 7daypositivitychallenge or it will not let you use the tag.

Seemit band.png

Join us for the daily 5 - Minute Freewrite. Check my profile for a new prompt every day.

Seemit band.png

All images are my own unless otherwise cited.

Seemit band.png

My recent posts

Gratitude- Day 4

My Three Favorite Movies

Gratitude - Day 2

Freewrite Prompt Day 211

Gratitude - Day 1

When did I decide to Stay on Steemit?

How Many Posts Per Day?

Every Day - A new Start

Daily Prompt

Day 11 - Hive Mind or Smart Media Tokens

Do you Know What This is?

Steemit in 5 Years from Now

If you find a post after the seven days, please consider upvoting a more recent post.

Seemit band.png

Socalsteemitbanner2.jpg

#SoCalSteemit is building and supporting the Steemit community of Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Steemit, we'd love for you to follow us @SoCalSteemit and join our group on Discord!

Imgur IOW COLOR LOGO.png

art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

SS-pansies-EN.jpg

Award by @japhofin8or

thealliance_mariannewest.png

Thank you @enginewitty for the banner

Seemit band.png

WITNESS_enginewittyGIF.gif
Click on the graphics to vote for Enginewitty as a witness

Join us at the Freewrite House for fun and games!!! Weekly drawing for SBI memberships and so much more!!

Freewritehouse-footer-400px.png

Other ways to earn cryptocurrency

I will benefit if you use my links

Join Sola and earn SOL: https://sola.ai/mariannewest
Join Mana - Universal Income Project: https://www.mannabase.com/?ref=179a62831e
Listen to bitrad.io and earn Bro: https://bitrad.io/?ref=97511
Want to earn sweat coin by walking outside? Join here

Listen to the Sustainable Living Podcast here!

Sort:  

It’s a gift being able to grow and harvest our own food! I enjoy my garden and gems more than anything!

Well, @mariannewest, I'm just enjoying one post after another on your blog this morning. Feels so peaceful and such lovely stories, real and imagined. ;)

Relax and enjoy more - my new motto.

ADORE your motto!!!

Thank you!!! Let's all adopt it LOL

What a lovely story - there is something special about gardenig and being able to live off the land ☺.

Lovely the positive stories!

you got something nice started lol

Mmm.... I love when gratitude is also tied to find childhood memories, it's like a little added bonus. Thanks for the invitation and the kind words. I am looking forward to jumping in. -Aimee

Looking forward to reading your posts 😄

PLEASE CHECK THE UPDATED USER GUIDE
Released on: May 14th

As a friendly reminder, the current upvote fee is $0.12 SBD ($0.121 for incognito). Current 300%+ upvote is now $0.36+ SBD.

Join our 10 SP Challenge!!!

Simply click this link to delegate 10 SP Now!

Or delegate any of these other amounts and make a "striking" return on your investment!
50 SP --- 100 SP --- 200 SP --- 500 SP --- 1000 SP

That being said...

BOOOOOOOOOM!!!

The ground shakes as incredible power lights the sky. The thunder tests the quality of your post and deems it worthy, rewarding it with a 300% upvote and comment from @thundercurator.

Increase your chances of a 100% upvote and support the project by:

Investors who delegate SP to @thundercurator are entitled to 75% of @thundercurator income after curation. Get on-board early and grow with us!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61434.10
ETH 2474.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64