You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Notes From an Amateur Writer #9 - Making Peace With My Kindle

in #writing7 years ago

You know, I have been tempted may a time into buying one, but couldn't come around to it on account of financial considerations. I elected to use the app on my phone instead, tipping it horizontally for a wider read. I do like the e-ink it employs. I've been trying to emulate that for my author site that I've been planning to modify, but I have been unable to. Books are always a great investment, and having a digital library shouldn't be counted against you. These days, it's the most economical choice for us bibliophiles.

Sort:  

Yes, the cost put me off for over a year. Then I looked back at what I had spent on physical books in that time and realised I could have bought several Kindles. So I juts eased off on my book expenditure and saved at the same time. It has been worth the cost though just on the fact that I am reading so much more now.

An example of this is - if i'd go to a cafe just for a coffee and to relax, I may want to take a book, but I usually don't as I don't know always know what I am in the mood to read. So I end up just reading the paper. And I hate the paper. What a waste of time. I took the Kindle with me today, and just flicked through until I found what I wanted to read, and instead read a few chapters of one of the novels I am currently reading. That is why I am reading more with it - it has helped me utilise my time better, and create better reading habits.

That's a great selling point! It's truly the natural evolution to reading. If people are able to view on demand, then why shouldn't they be forced to read things the same way, right?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56159.14
ETH 2370.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30