Notes #56 | The Little Mysteries of Life

in #writing6 years ago

enter image description here

Notes #56 | The Little Mysteries of Life


1

I remember one time when I was walking down the street minding my own business. There was just me, the path, and a world that existed outside of my thoughts. And I wasn't particularly in the mood to interact with that world.

Perhaps sensing my mood, a physical manifestation of balance to keep the scales from tipping too far, a crow emerged from the nothingness, and into my somethingness. Into my little bubble.

He landed on the path in front of me, and left a trinket. A little gift from crow to human. He pointed his beak to it, nodding his head, perhaps as a request to receive his gift. I walked over, tentatively, watching the crow, and watching his little offering laid out on the ground. I picked it up and studied it. A piece of twine, with a little plastic bead tied in the middle. I had no need for such an item, but deep down inside of me I knew I had a need for the gesture. This crow knows things, I thought. He senses what no one else can. How is that possible?

I looked back to Mr Crow (as I started to call him, although I did assume his gender, so for story telling purposes bear with me), unsure of what to say. I mean normally you say thank you when offered a gift, but this was unique territory for me. I didn't want to disappoint.

"Thank you," I finally said, unable to come up with something more befitting the grand moment that it was. Mr Crow hopped from one foot to the next. I assumed it was a crow gesture of acceptance. "I don't have anything to offer you in return." Perhaps he would accept food, but I had none. I could barely remember to feed myself.

He continued to hop from foot to foot, watching my deliberations with what appeared to be a form of avian curiosity. And as if Mr Crow implanted the thought in my head himself, it occurred to me I did have one gift I could offer. Perhaps he would approve.

"It's not much, but I could offer you my friendship," I said. He looked at me, tilting his head like a little puppy bemused by the foibles of it's owner. "Would that be agreeable to you, Mr Crow?"

He jumped up and down, nodding his approval. We walked down the street, human and crow side by side. Twine and friendship. How did this all come about I wondered? One of life's little mysteries, I suppose.


2

Our friendship lasted on and off over the years. A crow needs the support of his fellow crows. That's how these things work, and I understand. But he would drop into my place regularly over the years, to say hello, and bring me more twine. Some plain, some with little beads in them. Mr Crow was a collector it seemed. Thanks to him I became one too.

Eventually Mr Crow stopped making his visits. Perhaps he got old and life turned to death, and he went to the great twine basket in the sky. Perhaps he met Ms Crow and she became Mrs Crow, if that's how things work in the crow world. I think about him from time to time, especially when I see my bowl of twine and other assortments. The gifts from a friend who saw through my blackness, and brought some light. The black crow who chased the black dog away and dropped in from time to time just to make sure it wasn't trying to get back in. He was a perceptive creature.


3

I was reminded recently of a story I read many years ago. It was about an older Russian man who befriended a cockroach. He used to share his vodka with it, give him little droplets, whilst the man had his regular drink. Together they would sit over a drink and keep each other company. I wonder at how much of that story stays true to it's original form in my memory, and how much alteration, or interpretation has taken place.

I wonder too at how that friendship evolved over the years. I hope it wasn't like often happens when the elderly have a pet, and if the human passes away first the poor animal is left bewildered and confused by the absence. Could this have happened to the cockroach? Did he turn up one day for their regular drink, and the human was no longer there? No more droplet of vodka between good friends?

Or perhaps the old man outlived the cockroach, and he was left to wonder at what may have occurred? How long do cockroaches tend to live? Not long I assume, especially if they overdo the vodka intake. Did he wander off one day, to do his regular cockroach antics, then fail to make it back? How would the old man have felt, with vodka in hand, but no friend to share it with?

I wonder about these things. I don't know why I wonder about them, but they seem oddly important to me. Life is so full of little mysteries, waiting to be breathed in and absorbed.



Images sourced from unsplash.com.

Thank you for taking the time to read this. If you liked it then please like, comment, and follow.

@naquoya


Appreciator
Animated Banner Created By @zord189


Links to earlier works

- Fiction
My Fiction Writing Collection
Writing Myself Out of Existence
When the Levee Breaks
Reality Fading
Lessons Learned From a Dying Man - includes audio version.

Book Reviews
The Switch - Elmore Leonard
A Glitch In The World - Alex Drozd
All The Light We Cannot See - Anthony Doerr
Where Epics Fail - Yahia Lababidi
Hellbent - Gregg Hurwitz
1Q84 - Haruki Murakami
Soon - Lois Murphy
The Girl Who Played With Fire - Stieg Larsson
American Gods - Neil Gaiman
Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep - Philip K. Dick
The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo - Stieg Larsson
Altered Carbon - Richard Morgan
Fight Club - Chuck Palahniuk
Crooked God Machine - Autumn Christian

Audio Poetry
The Dance of Destiny and Fate
One Day, Just Not Today



Sort:  

What a special relationship you developed with the crow, mate! Sometimes the gesture is even more important than the gift itself, no matter how intentional it was. It's the little things in life that make a big difference. All the little drops taken together form countless of ripples across the still water we call life. Even though big things tend to cause waves, it's the little things that add up to even grander ones.

Also, sorry, but I think I killed the cockroach.

My wife hates cockroaches. I never told her about this story, but it always fascinated me. They don't bother me, but I know they aren't too popular. Unless you're a lonely old man with some spare vodka.

I love how animals have the ability to cut through human mind games and insecurities and deal with what is. They keep things simple, and sometimes that enough.

Oh definitely. They're the embodiment of not overthinking things.

Cockroaches could go extinct for all I care. I don't know if they really ever serve a purpose.

I think there purpose is to freak people out. And they appear to be impervious to extinction. The cockroach, our ultimate nemesis.

The crow, the cockroach - epic! "The truth is too good for fiction," Nancy Price told us in a college fiction class, and it took me years to grasp that. The crow with his gift of twine (how would we know if that crow was a her?) - and your own ability to recognize and appreciate The gifts from a friend who saw through my blackness, and brought some light. The black crow who chased the black dog away and dropped in from time to time just to make sure it wasn't trying to get back in. He was a perceptive creature. I could write a whole post responding to all the cool stuff in your post. Thanks @naquoya - this made my day!

Thank you, I'm glad this spoke to you. I love that quote, The truth is too good for fiction. This can be so true. I find when I am quiet and observing nature, many memories or ideas will come to me, and yet they are based in truth, in actuality. They occurred to me, or to someone I know. Or I read an article about it sometime. And it is usually when connected to nature, to animals, in this manner, that something clicks for me. Not always, but quite often.

Thank you for taking the time to read and share your thoughts. It's always appreciated.

What a touching story of friendships made and lost. It reminds my of the complete impermanence of this world, and our need to make connections. If only we were all as perceptive as Mr. Crow.

So very glad you enjoyed this. It kind of just flowed out my contemplation on this topic and the nature of life.

It flowed so very well. Either you have a gift or have spent much time honing your craft.

Thank you.

Very touching story, no man is an island ....

Thank you, who knows where one's support will lie.

Simple gestures of friendship can really go a long way in someone's life. You may not realize it, but you may be coming into their life at a time when they most need someone to rely on. Wonderful story!

This is very true. So much goes on below the surface, and we just aren't aware of all the nuances at play. Thanks for reading.

I love how you eloquently describe your manifestations and experiences, at the same time, crafting your story in an organized and easy to read manner :) @naquoya

And I love how your feedback and comment is encouraging and makes me want to keep writing. Happy that you enjoyed the story :)

Nice piece, "Life is so full of little mysteries, waiting to be breathed in and absorbed." Totally agree with you. There are more to be discovered

Yes, many left to experience. Hopefully one a day, or maybe more. Thank you for your comment.

Interesting lines... Nice stories. No doubt life is full of mystery and sometimes may require diligence to decipher the path and air to breathe

Thank you. Yes diligence, and openness. Not everything makes sense, but that's life.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65814.16
ETH 3444.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64