Budgeting Time? Don't Cut Writing! 5 Quick Writing Exercises

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

Writing is like basketball. First you learn the basics. After a little practice you try more complicated plays. Practice some more. But the most important thing is the rebound.

A rebound in basketball is when a player took a shot and missed and another player grabbed the ball and now has a chance to score. What many people do not realize is that rebounds are nearly as important as points. More rebounds mean more opportunities for your team to score.

And you do it over and over until your achieve your goal. In basketball, you must get off the bench to get better. Same with writing.

Often, parents and teachers pass over writing lessons. One of the main reasons is they say they don't have time. But writing is an invaluable resource. And you don't need that much time! Make a little time for writing each week, even better each day, and you will see results in many areas of your children's lives!

Writing skills are absolutely essential to form a solid educational foundation in children.

Their vocabulary will increase, creating more neural pathways in their brains, which makes them smarter and able to understand more complex ideas and problems. They will have more confidence reading and speaking. And their creativity will increase dramatically- which is good for all aspects of their present and future. Writing even improves hand-eye coordination.

Easy and Quick Writing Prompts

Picture This

Post an image. A person on a bus. A cat on a farmhouse porch. Two kids on a street. Have everyone write the story. This is really cool because each story is different!

Musical Pencils

Play an album and ask them to think about the feelings in the music and write a story based around those emotions.

Hats Off

Write a dozen or more of each of the following on strips of paper and place in a hat or jar: Person, place, animal, emotion, color. When you're low on time pick several and write a short story.

Create Your Own Holiday

Kids of all ages love this! They have to name the holiday, describe what it's about and why, and when it is.

What Does it Feel Like to Be Wrong

This will help them examine this. Most children get defensive and angry when they know they're wrong. If they get in touch with this feeling it helps drastically in that regard.

Autobiographical Biography

Ask them "What if someone wrote a book about you? Someone that didn't know you very well- only what they see? What would they write?"

pretty border.jpg

Whatever you or your children's reason for not writing is, just pick up the ball. You don't need very much time to play the game. Rebound again and again and you'll make great gains in your writing game.

Images via Creative Commons and Pixabay

shaded line.jpeg

I appreciate your support :)

With Love and Light and Good Mojo to my Tribe!

ufr.gif

line1 2

In case you missed these stellar posts by @ArbitraryKitten :)

animated-heart-image-0104

animated-arrow-image-0314 Steemit- Where Dreams and Reality Collide
~
Words Hurt ~ an Experiment
~
Protect Yourself From Disappearing Posts and Comments!
~
Positive Affirmations for Kids
~
5 Tips to Get Their Attention
~
What Type of Learner are You? Quiz
~
And Now That You Know What Type of Learner You Are, Trick Their Minds Into Doing What You Want ;)
~
Create a Group Story!
~
Enjin Coin. Smart Cryptocurrency for Gaming
~
Homeless Vets to Have a Safe and Warm Winter
~
Get Lean and Fit Just by Using Your... Brain?
~
Level Up Your Life! Join the Steemit Manifest Challenge!
~
The Weight of a Smile

animated-cat-image-0167

If you found this post after the 7 day reward period, please consider upvoting one of my recent articles

buttons upvote resteem.gif

Sort:  

Great article and tips. I see it directed more to helping children build their skills but what I am taking away is that it will help me too. I was once asked the question: "what is the most important thing your mother taught you?" My answer was "reading". By age 4 I was reading newspapers as I'd run out of material around the house. Back then we were limited to mostly the writing on bags of flour, sears catalogues and what mail may have come. So newspapers were the next step up when someone would occasionally purchase one. I've been an avid researcher ever since. But now moving into the more golden years I've challenged myself to begin writing. I was actually scrolling through freelance opportunities when someone shared this Steemit platform with me. @arbitrarykitten you inspire me to stay focused and make the time I need to pursue a worthy goal. Thank you Kitten.
Let peace be the journey,
@vickiebarker

Hello Vickie, and wonderful meeting you :)

That is so cool, and I am happy you are here <3

Yeah, I'm finding a bunch of reasons for the kids tow rite these days. Learning English is a good one. Right now, my step-daughter is copying verbs, just a few, in all tenses. I dictated to her some info about tenses and POVs and such. Soon enough, I'll have her right short paragraphs in one POV, or focusing on a specific tense. I'll have her read some of my stuff and underline the verbs and find in what tense they are, so she understands when to use what. From that, she can begin to write more creatively in English as she doe sin French. This Summer, both kids were writing in French, more than they do in school. My step-son is a bit slower with doing work and gets distracted easily, but I'm thinking about what could be suitable for his level and will find something for him too. I want to encourage them to write because they don't write creatively enough in school. Creative writing helps the mind, the imagination, and of course, since I'm a writer, I feel it's important and I recognise how writing well can be a valuable tool.

You are an amazing teacher to your little ones. I work with many youth and wish more parents were like you and valued these seemingly little things which affect so many aspects of their lives.

Thank you. Sometimes I still have moment where I wonder if I'm a good step-mom, considering I typically am not very child minded and am anxious around children. Frank tells me often enough that I'm good with the kids. It took a while for me to build that confidence and relationship with them. Now that I'm more confident as a step-parent, I see opportunities to teach them things I find important and I go with it. To hear people other than my family telling me that what I do as a step-mom has value, is encouraging. So thank you :)

You are welcome.

It's hard being a step mom. Just taking that on is an accomplishment. You are a strong woman.

Thank you :) I know I'm stronger than I feel sometimes. I just need to remember that.

@reported has voted on behalf of @minnowpond.
If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

            To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

@minnowpondred has voted on behalf of @minnowpond.
If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

            To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57038.56
ETH 2908.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65