You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Budgeting Time? Don't Cut Writing! 5 Quick Writing Exercises

in #writing7 years ago

Yeah, I'm finding a bunch of reasons for the kids tow rite these days. Learning English is a good one. Right now, my step-daughter is copying verbs, just a few, in all tenses. I dictated to her some info about tenses and POVs and such. Soon enough, I'll have her right short paragraphs in one POV, or focusing on a specific tense. I'll have her read some of my stuff and underline the verbs and find in what tense they are, so she understands when to use what. From that, she can begin to write more creatively in English as she doe sin French. This Summer, both kids were writing in French, more than they do in school. My step-son is a bit slower with doing work and gets distracted easily, but I'm thinking about what could be suitable for his level and will find something for him too. I want to encourage them to write because they don't write creatively enough in school. Creative writing helps the mind, the imagination, and of course, since I'm a writer, I feel it's important and I recognise how writing well can be a valuable tool.

Sort:  

You are an amazing teacher to your little ones. I work with many youth and wish more parents were like you and valued these seemingly little things which affect so many aspects of their lives.

Thank you. Sometimes I still have moment where I wonder if I'm a good step-mom, considering I typically am not very child minded and am anxious around children. Frank tells me often enough that I'm good with the kids. It took a while for me to build that confidence and relationship with them. Now that I'm more confident as a step-parent, I see opportunities to teach them things I find important and I go with it. To hear people other than my family telling me that what I do as a step-mom has value, is encouraging. So thank you :)

You are welcome.

It's hard being a step mom. Just taking that on is an accomplishment. You are a strong woman.

Thank you :) I know I'm stronger than I feel sometimes. I just need to remember that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 66791.52
ETH 3092.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73