KrNel's Declaration of Witness

in #witness-category7 years ago (edited)

I am officially declaring my entry as a Steem Witness. Please continue reading as I make my case to secure your upvotes.


For those who don't know what a witness does, they host nodes that process blockchain data blocks, and ensure their integrity. These blocks contain data for posts and transactions that Steemit or other sites can interact with. Witnesses also provide security to the network and establish changes to Steem, like setting the price feed, SDB interest rates, and account creation fees.

You have 30 votes to apply to elect people as a witness and promote their chance at higher rankings and responsibility. You can see where people are here:

https://steemd.com/witnesses

And vote for people here:

https://steemit.com/~witnesses

To vote for me, use the above link, and go to the bottom of the page, and enter my name krnel into the box and click VOTE:

Or just click on the upvote button if I am in the top 50:

You can also delegate your witness voting to someone else instead of doing it yourself. If you want your votes applied by someone else, then you can SET PROXY to someone else at the above witness page. Just put in the person to whom you want to delegate your witness voting to and click on "set proxy".


Here are some additional resources to help you understand more about Steem witnesses:


Why should you vote for @krnel?

Why support me?


What are my qualifications?

  • Computer Science degree, graduated in 2005
  • Worked in Technical Support for many years
  • Familiar with Linux structure and CLI
  • I have spent more time learning about the world -- monetary system, politics, psychology, consciousness, philosophy, truth and morality -- than I have working a 9-5 job
  • Trustworthy, honest, responsible, reliable, mature, knowledgeable, quick learner
  • My original content when I first joined Steemit shows what I focus on in life (truth, morality, philosophy, psychology)

What am I doing for Steemit?

And now I'm running a witness node to provide reliable block production as a dependable and trustworthy individual.


What do I see in Steemit?

A visionary and revolutionary technological model and virtual community that can test decentralized organization and decision making functionality, refine it, and bring a new way of living into the real world.

I have some posts that talk about why I am here, what I have learned, some things I tried, posts that help others on Steemit, and what my vision is going forward:

Tutorials to help users secure their server for a Witness:


Server Specs

Witness

  • 2 vCores
  • 2.4 GHz
  • 8 GB RAM
  • 4 GB swap

Seed

  • 1 vCore
  • 2.4 GHz
  • 4 GB RAM
  • 10 GB swap

If my ranking in the witness list go up significantly where there is a demand for better hardware to fulfill my position, then I will upgrade at that time.


I hope that was enough for you to give me a shot and move me up the witness list :)

Anyone who has followed my work, or has looked at the work I started with, will know my goal is to help change the world for the better. I want to use Steemit to do it. I appreciate all the support for the specific work I put out in that effort, and will also appreciate your support as a witness for the Steem blockchain. I want to take the new model of the blockchain changing the world, and keep going into changing ourselves so that we can change the world for the better.

If you support my work and what I do, please also consider supporting my efforts to be a witness for the Steem blockchain.

Vote for krnel

Or just click on the upvote button if I am in the top 50:

Thank you!

Contact me? [email protected]


@krnel
2017-01-28, 9:01am

Sort:  

SteemTrail stands behind you 100%. You get one TRAIL for this article too!

Of course, you can opt out if you want. ;)

Thank you for the support :) Appreciated.

Hi thanks for your support i have voted for your witness.

but i have question, i dont find any new post for configuring windows witness. just very old and dont work. can you help me plz.

Sorry, I run on Linux. Thanks for the support :)

You have my vote and thank you for supporting my witness for so long. Also I really appreciate the spirit you bring, direction and all the hard work you're doing! Keep it up my friend!

Thank you for your support and feedback :)

Congrats on receiving all those votes already and among them none other than @ned!

Thanks :D

Keep up the good work krnel!
You got my witness vote.

Thank you for your support :)

I have chosen you as a witness and do not forget me :-)

Well good luck Dude. Hope my vote helps

Every vote counts. Thank you for your support :)

Great news!
You're doing great work KrNel. Your efforts in SteemTrail and our goals there have been incredibly helpful, and I get to see a lot of what you're doing that others don't. You'll be a great witness. Here comes my vote, as well as a couple others who use me as a proxy. :)
I've resteemed this in support of your bid as well.

Well thank you very much for the feedback as well as your support and those who trust your voting :)

Kernel- thank you for sending SBD several times as a reward for relative comments- I voted for you as a witness a week or so ago and am resteeming this- keep up the good work!

Thank you for the support, and you're welcome :)

Done! Being that I'm just a sub-minnow, I don't know that my vote counts for much, but you have it!

Thank you for your support :) Your vote does count to me :)

Thanks. Although I tend to disagree with you from time to time on an intellectual level, I find you to be of the highest moral and ethical nature...you will make a fine witness!

I have chosen you as a witness sir @krnel and do not forget me :-

First time I have ever voted on one of these witness things. Thanks for the explanation of things at the top, keep up your great work on Steemit.

Thank you for your support :) I will do just that hehe.

Congratulations @krnel. One of my 30 unknown witnesses is scratched now and you are already voted as one of my new, really sophisticated witnesses.

Thank you for your support :) I appreciate it.

Great to hear you try to know who you are voting for.

We really need to know as much as we can and hold the witnesses accountable. Otherwise they will be able to use any powers we delegate them for short term profits at the expense of everyone else.

I always try to know, what people do in leading positions, @the-ego-is-you. Even if I don't understand what whitnesses are really able to abuse. I'm still a newbie. But most of people in leading positions doesn't tell you anyway, what really goes on. You always have to spend trust in somebody. It starts with your mother and maybe doesn't end with your death. You can choose whom to trust. There's no more degree of freedom for poor Minnows.
I am watching @krnel since two month' now. He has been always very, very serious. Gosh, serious like a rock! People like him are not able to screw up something just by mood. That's not part of such a strong personal equipment. Good premise for a witness, isn't it. And his variety of themes in blogging is always, reliable high quality unique content, oh, did I mention it, and so serious. I think, he's one of the best bloggers in Steemit and to evaluate this meaning, I must not look up in any high score list. I just read his postings to decide: Yes, he's one of my preferred witnesses. Anyway what witnesses ever are doing.

I can agree with most of that for sure.

It's not that there's a lot that a witness as such can screw up most of the time, but the witnesses get status and recognition, and they can earn money simply from being what they are.

That's why I want to make sure I'm not giving money to someone who's giving it to other people that I think are less likely to do what's best for the community and in extension to me.

I do not know much about witness–business but as I understand in every business else, anybody is allowed to spend his money where ever he want to. And when he does it wrong in your opinion does it make a difference if he said yes or no to your questions in advance?
There's only one chance for all of us: Trust. If you don't trust, don't elect. I give a sh…– pardon, whatsoever on candidates words. The only thing you can ever value is what they are really doing. That he earns money of his new status now – wow, he worked really hard for. Everybody has been able to watch this work. It is not a lucky punch. It is a logical result of his acting and I would be lucky sometimes to get extra bits from him when he likes what I did. Even @shla-rafia gave me extra bits yesterday because I've made him laughing about two or four replies. Just a mood. No corruption.

If someone that I judge to be of enough integrity (considering the risks and rewards at hand) tells me that they will do something, then I can "trust" them to do it. But I don't just trust anyone to do anything. There will always be a standard.

I will upvote you because I've seen your actions as an active member of the community that authenticates and legitimate you candidacy for me.
Good luck for the days of upgrading new versions. :)

Thank you for your support Charlie :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.036
BTC 65930.92
ETH 3387.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75