Steemit Referral Rewards Program (Unofficial)

in #referrals8 years ago (edited)

Steemit-Referral-Reward-Program-simple01292.png

Do you want to work to get good new users into Steemit, but want some reward for it? Then I have an offer for you!

I've heard people request or show interest in referral programs again today. This is something people seem to want to have on Steemit, as I have heard it several times.

I'm not a rich man by any stretch, on Steemit, nor in real life. But here is what I am willing to do...

I will send you and your new recruits a signup bonus of $1SBD each. But you have to meet the requirements.


Requirements

Get people to join who have an existing real social media profile for verification of their new Steemit account. They need to make a post on Twitter, Facebook or other social network account, with the name of their new Steemit account soon after they create it (within days).

You also need to have an existing social media account as well so that I know you just didn't create a new Steemit account and posted it to your own social media account.

Also, the account needs to be active, posting and curating, for at least 1 week. However long it takes a user to get there, is up to them and you. I'm not going to give away SBD to people who just want a free lunch. So they need to be making a real post each day (not copy/paste, links, etc.), and curate other people as well, each day. When they are doing this for 7 days, they will qualify and you will get your rewards. This will show me they want to be part of Steemit.


Payment

Send me an email at:

[email protected]

with the links to:

  1. The new users account (active, posting, curating, 1 week).
  2. Your account.
  3. The new users existing social media account (including a post to their new Steemit account when they created it).
  4. Your existing social media account (to prove you are not them).

I will check all of the criteria and make sure it matches.

Payment can increase depending on funds received from others to help in this effort, and other factors. Maybe $1SBD is OK now, but not later... who knows.


I say minimum 1 week if you are eager and really think the user has done the work to show they want to be part of Steemit. But it could take them 2 weeks, or 1 month, to be active and post content of their own. Then, send me an email with the 4 requirements. They need to be active, and it may take them some time to understand how Steemit works. That's on you if you want the reward.

This is not freebie money for any freeloader to join Steemit. It involves effort on their part, and yours as well. This is not an automated system within Steemit. Maybe it can get there in the future (hopefully).

If someone doesn't meet the criteria, then they, and you, will not be getting the referral reward. What guarantee do you have that I will pay honestly? Because I am a man of my word. But don't blame me for not meeting one of the requirements, when I put it out, upfront for anyone to read. You can always email me and ask me any questions or seek clarification. Please do not hesitate or be shy.

So... please don't get lazy half-assed people to join. Put some effort to find good people to join. This is a voluntary recruitment and reward effort on all our parts. There is no guarantee.


I will make a new post each week to confirm who received referral rewards. This will also serve as a reminder that this program is temporarily in effect until Steemit Inc. employs something of their own.


[Image source for laurel wreath]


Thank you for your time and attention and any support, suggestions or criticism you can offer! Take care. Peace!

50/50 Payout Selected for more SBD


If you appreciate and value the content, please consider:
Upvoting upvote91a69.png ,    Sharing share2195b.png and   Reblogging reblog33b5f.png below.

Follow me for more content to come!


@krnel
2016-11-27, 2pm

Sort:  

my idea for a referral program is 10% of all rewards earned by every person I refer for 6 months

Though it would be a way to make good money from those whom you have invited to the platform, I don't think this is a good idea. First and foremost we should seek to retain the integrity of the site, and if everyone is running around spamming referral links to Steemit on other parts of the net, public perception of Steemit will be affected in a very negative way.

Beyond that, I feel that it would attract too many people to the site who are just after cash and we would see a steep decline in content quality before long. I want to see Steemit adopted on a much larger scale as much as the next person, but I would like it to be adopted by those who appreciate its true value as a decentralized social network where the community decides what is and what is not censored. I think this suggestion could potentially lead to an influx of users that post single links, quotes, memes and selfies in an effort to line their pockets. That would be the death of this wonderful creation.

content creators come to steemit to earn money blogging, the type of users you describe will post on steemit regardless of the referral program

I'm not debating that but, at the moment, there isn't too many of those on here. However, should this type of referral program be implemented, people will be attempting to draw in as many new users as possible, regardless of what merit or what detriment they may bring the site.

Before long, we could end up with a mass of individuals who arrived here because they were told that they could make easy money by someone who was trying to make money from referrals.

Sure, there would be those that genuinely want to create good content and we would be lucky to have them here. But, there would also be a large amount of those who are looking for that quick payout, posting shitty content at a rate our downvoters would not be able to keep up with.

I'm not guaranteeing this would happen of course, but its a risk that ought to be considered.

if I refer a user who is not able to earn rewards, I don't get paid for that user, it's very simple and effective way to encourage quality refferals, perhaps there can be a limit on how many users I refer, like 10 per week, or a penalty for referring too many users who don't earn rewards. A high reputation score required for being able to refer others is another way to improve the program.

I apologise for referring to your previous comment as dismissive, now that I have received this one. The message alone looked rather rude when taken out of the context now available to me.

This could certainly lower the risks involved. The penalties sound like they could be a little problematic though. What sort of penalty would you suggest for referring someone who continues to post shitty content? (spam, one link/pic posts etc).

a risk that has to be taken for steem to acquire more users with a referral program. I earned thousands with the Paypal(x.com) referral program that only lasted 6 months in 2000, after that paypal did not need the referral program anymore, and I also earned with the google adsense referral program until google did not need that anymore. Referral programs work great even if it's only short term. I have also earned with the coinbase referral program. I currently get paid $$$ daily for the next 2 years from genesis mining referral program.

I think you may have overlooked something here;

Coinbase, Paypal and Google Adsense are all services. Steemit is a community. Their reputations are dependent on their ability to provide a service to a person, where as Steemit's reputation is reliant on its user's ability to provide a service--that service being uploading quality content.

You are comparing apples with oranges in this instance.

Steemit is a proof of stake algorithm for the steem blockchain that financially rewards users to perform transactions with blogging and upvoting

Yes, it is- but, it's also a community, as I'm sure it was intended. Take all the users out the equation and then what are you left with?

I can explain in greater detail what I meant in my comment about the differences between providing a service and providing an ecosystem in which others can provide services, but I'm sure you already know exactly what I meant.

If you would like to converse on ideas to improve your initial suggestion then I'm sure I and many in this community would be willing to build upon them and find ways to negate the risks.

However, if you're going to continue to stubbornly hold the position that your idea would be good for Steemit, and respond to genuine, logical concerns with smartarse dismissive comments, then I respectfully request that you desist with the replies entirely.

I would not impose penalties based on actions of those I refer, but being limited to how many referrals I can refer based on how many referrals I get paid for is good, so if I refer 10 users who never earn any rewards then my status in the referral program is limited somehow. I have created affiliate programs for my own web sites in the past and paid out hundreds of thousands in commissions, the fear of users spamming referral links can be eliminated with a well designed referral program.

I don't like the blanket idea of refer new users and get free money. I was not big on social media neither are most people I know. This kind of idea would just hurt people like me who would never be able to make any referrals, unless I refer myself which would not add value to retain creators here on this site. This would only benefit the people who can go to other forms of social media to get new people over to SteemIt. I like the Idea that @krnel has, I would think this would add value. This idea would be like a one time reward for having new users join who are active and proves they are not just referring themselves.

Thank you. I appreciate the support!

Thank you. I appreciate the support!

Awesome job! (Resteemed)

Thank you. I appreciate the support!

This is definitely a great initiative.
@krnel - I hate excessive resteems but I hit the button for you. LOL
Let's get some new blood on the platform!

Haha, thanks for your support!

I think my friend from the US down South there is signing up. I have been after her.

I like this idea, I hope it works. I disagree with the blanket 6 months idea that @craig-grant proposed as I don't use other forms of social media. But I do like your idea.

Thanks for the support!

I will sponsor a new recruit. Thanks @krnel

Thank you very much @alaqrab for your support! Much appreciated.

Excellent idea sir @krnel, that is very lucky the venture, thank you very much in supporting the community

Very good initiative! I hope it will work! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64010.98
ETH 2791.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65