WITNESS THIS: Show me the Action

in #witness-category6 years ago (edited)

There’s nothing like getting a bunch of witnesses together to make things exciting.

Yes, witness debates excite me. What? ;)


source

I’m stoked for the upcoming WITNESS CHAT with @shadowspub on the Steemit Ramble Discord this Saturday, 11am EDT, and I’m hoping there will be a good turnout.

It’s felt quiet this week, which seems to be a combination of the crypto roller coaster and people going monster crazy, but the recent debate between @sircork and @timcliff spiced things up. Shout out to the SteemStar Network and @littlescribe for hosting. The subsequent discussion with @lukestokes was excellent, too.

My biggest takeaway from that chat was the importance for people (new users and the general public) to understand this:

STEEM Is NOT Steemit. STEEM Is More Valuable Than Steemit.


If you do not yet know the difference between the Steem blockchain and the website Steemit.com, read this post by @lukestokes, who presents the value of Steem in a clear way.


Check out the replay of @littlescribe's show for a replay of the Witness Debate with @sircork and @timcliff, and a Bonus Interview with @lukestokes.

kings of steem
Photo credit: @littlescribe


What adds value to Steem, and how do we get it to $10?


Top-ten witness @timcliff recently put out a call for Steem Stakeholders to define what adds value to Steem.

My answer is twofold:

  1. Participating in the blockchain in a positive way.

  2. Adding to its evolution, and increasing the value of the investment.

Obviously, my idea of what is positive might not be the same as someone else’s, but I like to think the best thing that could happen to the social media side of Steem is that Steemit and other apps would encourage quality content and engaged curation.

As for the blockchain itself, there are wider uses, but let’s be real: Steemit is the face of the currency right now for most of the public. It’s got a lot going for it, but there are also a host of issues that should not be issues cough…sign up process…cough and improvement is needed in a bad way.

Easy for me to say, when I don’t have the skills to offer up a fix. But I do vote for witnesses, and I hope they’re up to the task.

@timcliff also asked the question What needs to happen to reach $10 STEEM in 2018?, and the comments in that post are well worth the read.

More than one person pointed to the need to make STEEM valuable enough that it isn’t tied to Bitcoin and the general mood swings of the market. Great idea! How do we get there?

What I like is the call I’ve been hearing for witnesses and community devs to work together. Another a great idea! I’d love to see it in action. Would love to see more action in general...

So how can we get in the action?

archway---ricardoGomezAngel-sm.jpg
Photo: Ricardo Gomez Angel/Unsplash


Research witnesses, VOTE, and participate in the conversation.


Who steers the Steem ship? Witnesses do. Particularly the top twenty witnesses, but there’s a whole lot more of them (according to https://steemian.info/witnesses there are currently 134 active witnesses), and I think we need all the help we can get.

As users/stakeholders, it is vital to educate ourselves on who the witnesses are and what they do. IF YOU ARE ON STEEMIT, PLEASE BE SURE TO VOTE FOR WITNESSES! Sorry, don’t mean to shout at you, but it’s important. ;)

I know I only see the tip of the iceberg of what witnesses are working on, and am always interested to learn more. I try to go through my witness list each month to be sure everyone is active and I’m voting for people I believe in.

To help you research (and to remind myself why I’m voting for these people), here are some great posts by witnesses who currently have my votes. Obviously I don’t expect you to read them all, but click on a couple and see what you find!

line break

Check out these witnesses and what they have to say:



source

There are so many amazing witnesses, so if I didn't mention your favourite witness here, be sure to give them a shout out in the comments!


starry-sky-time-lapse---Andrew-Preble-sm.jpg
Photo: Andrew Preble/Unsplash

TL;DR — Steem is not the same as Steemit, research and VOTE for Witnesses!


Attend the Witness Chat, this Saturday! It'll be fun.


The Steemit Ramble WITNESS CHAT is happening this Saturday, 11am EDT, and I’m looking forward to hearing about what’s happening to improve the value and longevity of the blockchain.

All witnesses are invited to join these witness discussions hosted by @shadowspub. She does a damn fine job moderating, and I learn something every time.

Thanks to the witnesses who show up, and to everyone who participates!

Peace. @katrina-ariel

Katrina Ariel

Author bio: Katrina Ariel is an old-soul rebel, musician, tree-hugging yogini, and mama bear to twins. Author of Yoga for Dragon Riders (non-fiction) and Wild Horse Heart (romance), she's another free-spirit swimming in the ocean of Steemit.

dragon
dragon art: Liiga Smilshkalne


Steemsugars

WITNESS_enginewittyGIF.gif
CLICK HERE TO VOTE FOR WITNESSES

alliance banner

Sort:  

I missed that Witness debate last night, busy few weeks at work and I had much to catch up with at home once I finally got there - will try and catch up on the discussion.

The Witness debate on Saturday is a superb way to learn more about what is happening in the background - but the important aspect of this open chat is for actual posters of Steemit to come along and ask questions - it's fundamentally important every account on here takes more interest in both Voting for Witnesses and also taking the opportunity to ask questions at events like this. It is the perfect opportunity for everyone to ask questions and also put forward their own suggestions. I have attended the last few of these sessions and the Witness attendance has been impressive - but it felt to me like very few other people attended and the opportunity was missed for the wider community to have their voices heard. Hopefully more will take the time to join this session.

The longer I have been on Steemit, my own feeling is the strength of this blogging platform - which to me is almost an interactive wallet for the Steem Cryptocurrency - is the people using and posting on it. Growth will only come with active users, and the more the better. To me the greatest challenge is both bringing in new user accounts - but also retaining the accounts that are already here - and to do that people need to feel that the work they are doing is truly valued. I read, share and comment on as many posts as I can manage to fit into my spare time - and so often see really excellent high quality posts getting little reward - and that is a massive problem. Finding ways to help posts get seen outside of post rewards will benefit everyone, my own feeling is a ranking of Popular which is done by physical page views would far better highlight quality content compared to the existing options.

Whatever happens, the greatest value I find is the people that make up the Steemit platform, communities and friendship.

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

^^ THIS! This whole comment. But especially this:

the important aspect of this open chat is for actual posters of Steemit to come along and ask questions - it's fundamentally important every account on here takes more interest in both Voting for Witnesses and also taking the opportunity to ask questions at events like this.

Yes to communities, yes to helping people onboard easily and have fun here while making a profit. Curation is huge! But friendship is even better. I'm grateful for so many of the people I've met through Steemit. The more the merrier, and let's make this thing shine even brighter! 💖

Great research work honey! So nice of you to share it with us 💚

Thanks! This is fun for me, sorta like a curation post of witness stuff. Hopefully others find some interesting rabbit holes here. Thanks for the comment, love! 💖

You have gotten a vote courtesy of @c0ff33a!
They have enlisted the help of the @alliedforces!
We gladly answer your call!
(@alliedforces is a collaboration of witnesses @jatinhota & @enginewitty)
Have you supported your favorite witnesses?

💖
tips hat to @c0ff33a
winks at @alliedforces
💖

Fabulous Public Service Message! You rock!

_PYPT-PINK.png

Hey, you rock. ;)

Thanks for being you! 💖

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54260.52
ETH 2284.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30