Walk With Me [5] - Saunter in the Siuslaw National Forest - Part 1

in #walkwithme6 years ago (edited)

Come with me to explore Oregon's coastal forest! You know there's mushrooms! But what else will we find?

x wwm sept 14 1.jpg

This continues my travels to parts of western Oregon, all through the autumn of 2017. I hope you will join me for the whole series -- especially if you like mushrooms! Earlier posts in this series are: Escape to the Marine Layer - Part 1 and Part 2. I made this trip on September 14, 2017.

divider 1.png

Big Trees and Long Time

Forests and time go together. It takes time for trees to grow tall. But sometimes the evidence of time is from the absence of a tree!

x wwm sept 14 6.jpg
The autumn rains haven't returned yet. But in the forests along Oregon's coast, plants are still green and lush -- thanks to regular fog from the ocean. The forest is dense and the trees are tall.

x wwm sept 14 7.jpg
What's going on here, with all these old tree roots above the earth? It seems strange, especially with such a big, old tree right next to it, growing in the usual way.

x wwm sept 14 8.jpg
The view from this other side makes it all clear. The old tree on the right grew from a seed in the forest debris and moss on top of a fallen tree, lying on its side. As the little tree grew, it stretched its roots along the fallen log, looking for a path to the earth. But now that fallen tree is all rotted away, leaving only the shape of the log that once was there.

Think about all that time! The original tree growing from a seed to be so huge. Falling over! Then a little tree sprouting on the fallen log and growing to be big. Then the dead tree rotting away. That all takes a long, long time. That's forest time!

divider 1.png

Butt Rot!

As I walked through the forest, thinking about time, I saw them. At the base of a big tree. What did I see? Mushrooms! The autumn rains haven't even started. But here are big mushrooms!

giphy-downsized-large (29).gif
Do you see it? That tan-colored funnel thing?

giphy-downsized-large (30).gif
Here's a bigger one!

x wwm sept 14 9.jpg
They must be getting water somewhere. And they are -- from the roots of the big trees. It's one of the many Butt Rots of the forest. These fungi infect the base of a tree, or a whole group of trees. And eventually break down the carbohydrates and cellulose so much, that the tree falls over.

x wwm sept 14 10.jpg
Which Butt Rot is this one? That yellow-green underside is distinctive. It's the Red-Brown Cubical Butt Rot. Also known as the Dyer's Polypore. They are an important part of the forest -- and good for dyeing wool and other animal fibers. I'll show you more about that in a future post, so stay tuned!

divider 1.png

Along the Stream

I kept strolling, to a stream. I saw familiar friends of the forest that like living in the continual dampness and shade of the shoreline along the stream.

x wwm sept 14 2.jpg
Even in September, there's Stinging Nettle that hasn't yet flowered. They are good eating when cooked into greens, for sure. But watch out for the stinging hairs along the stem!

x wwm sept 14 3.jpg
Can you see the Stinging nettle here? There's another great edible plant here, too -- the one with 3 leaves, like a clover. That's one of the Oxalis, or wood-sorrels. They have a nice lemon flavor -- good enough to eat on the spot!

x wwm sept 14 4.jpg
The Stinging nettle and Oxalis are native plants. But even here in the forest, there are invasive intruders. This is one of my least favorite plants -- the Creeping buttercup. It's easy to see how it spreads so far, so fast! It is a scourge! And not for eating. This plant is on the run for new territory to take over.

x wwm sept 14 5.jpg
And here's another invasive exotic -- the English daisy. I enjoy eating their leaves and flowers. Here's a post I wrote about them. They don't take over quite like those Creeping buttercups. But there's no risk of picking too many!

x wwm sept 14 TN.jpg
I enjoy hearing the gurgle and babble of the creek. The light and shadows are amazing, especially how reflections on the water light up the ferns and plants hanging over the far shore, in the pool above the little waterfall.

giphy-downsized-large (31).gif
Can you see the dancing light above the far side of the little pool above the waterfall?

divider 1.png

A Pleasant Pavilion

I crossed the stream and headed up to a clearing. It's a group campground, closed already for the winter. But nature isn't closed - let's go look around!

x wwm sept 14 11.jpg
I like rustic pavilions! This one looks majestic in the waning sun! Can you imagine tents scattered around the area and kids playing games in the meadow? This must be a lively place in the summer!

x wwm sept 14 16.jpg
There are so many different styles of pavilions. This one has some cool design features. The long buffet table built into the left side probably holds a lot of food when large groups are camping in the meadow! I like the bench seats and table built into the right side of the pavilion. The bottom images show more details. I bet a lot of crafts get made there! And look, someone left a little heart of stone!

divider 1.png

Thanks for Walking With Me

In part 2, we'll see what we can find around the meadow. There will be mushrooms and some good wild foraging! I hope you will join me!

In the meantime, here's a mystery. Can you identify this plant just from its leaves? What do you think I will do with this plant?

x wwm sept 14 17.jpg

Thanks to @lyndsaybowes for the #walkwithme tag! And to everyone using that tag! Enjoy your walks!

  • What forest is nearest to you?
  • Do you like the sound of a babbling stream?
  • Have you ever seen a Dyer's Polypore mushroom?
  • What do you think my mystery plant is?
  • What do you think I will do with that mystery plant?

divider 1.png

Plant List

  • Dyer's polypore - Phaeolus schweinitzii - not for eating
  • Stinging nettle - Urtica dioica
  • Wood sorrel - Oxalis spp.
  • Creeping buttercup - Ranunculus repens not for eating!
  • English daisy - Bellis perrenis

This post is on the Steemit World Map.


Haphazard Homestead

foraging, gardening, nature, simple living close to the land

All content is 100% Haphazard Homestead!
My YouTube channel: Haphazard Homestead

Sort:  

Thank You for a interesting walk, did you find lots of things to eat there :)

It is amazing how there is usually something to eat out there!

Such a beautiful part of the world. Nothing better than a walk through nature to reload! Have a beautiful Sunday!

Thanks, @amy-goodrich! We both live where there is a lot of green around us. It sure is nice! Happy Sunday to you, too!

Wow...you have really outdone yourself again @haphazard-hstead!! Your #walkwithme's put us all to shame :) :) That scene with the brook, I felt like I was right there....

Thanks, @lyndsaybowes! Too bad the gifs don't have sound with them, too. That brook had such a nice sound. There are so many interesting things to see in Oregon's forests! So many mushrooms - and more to come! :D

I did not know clover was edible. i will have to try some the next time I am in the forest. I am looking forward to the salmon berry season. Another month or so and it begins here. What about in Oregon?

The plant that looks like clover is the wood-sorrel (Oxalis spp.). It's tart and tangy like a lemon. Some of the regular clovers are edible. I like the flowers of white clover (Trifolium repens) in a salad. Salmon berries are some of the earliest berries around here. I think they are still more than a month away, though - May and June. Here's to lots of tasty berries this summer, of all kinds! :D

Yes ... I dried salmon berries once ... they try rather nicely:)

I've never dried them. I'll have to try that!

They are good in soups and stews that way.

This was a very enjoyable walk! That Creeping buttercup reminds me of the vines I have running up and down the hill on the lake side. They are apparently hard to kill. A few I have tracked down to a central stump hidden away, but other ones, there is no telling where they go!

Great pics as always!

Thanks, @old-guy-photos! Running vines, of so many kinds of plants, can be tough to deal with! I spent so many hours at my grandmothers removing Wisteria vines from her Spirea hedge, lol. Every year! The creeping buttercup is so bad -- it sends out a big wad of roots at every leaf where the vine touches the ground. Good luck with your vines! Some plants are such monsters!

Such a gorgeous post! Filled with interesting info and pretty photos.
I wanna be like you when I grow up. No joke!
I had no idea the butt rot mushrooms and English daisies were that powerful.
As for the last plant, is it called Borage? (I only know it in French) If so, you might wait for the little blue flowers to grow and eat them? My grandpa puts them in salads to decorate - he says it's good for your health - I trust the man ;-) (probably also very good along with dandelions)

I'm glad you enjoyed my forest walk, @osm0sis! Those butt rots really are something -- they can change a whole forest. I'll let you know what my mystery plant is, in my next #walkwithme post. I agree with your grandpa about using Borage in salads! They are so good for that, and to flavor water, too. But you may be surprised about what my plant is....

Oooohh I was almost sure it would be that. Now I'm curious to know... suspense, suspense 😉

I grew up in a village where there were many forests and meadows around. Grandmother always took me with her for "mushroom hunt", and we collected herbs together with my mother. Now I live in the city, but I like to travel outside of it to communicate with nature, to pick mushrooms or berries. I agree that the knowledge received in childhood can be very useful in the future, and it's great when you can share them with someone.
About your mystery plant... it looks very similar to Comfrey (Sýmphytum). Its roots are used in some medicine, and its leaves we gave as a food to our pigs and rabbits.

That so great you had a grandmother and mother to take you along to collect mushrooms and herbs! And that you still do the same today! Comfrey is a great plant - and thanks for putting the genus with the common name. That helps so much to make sure we are talking about the same plant. But I think you might be surprised at what my mystery plant is. I'll show it in my next #walkwithme post!

This is lovely. Thanks for taking me through a green forest, when I'm trying to be patient for the snow to melt up here! Looking forward to seeing nettle growing and hearing tree leaves rustle in the breeze. :)

Thanks, @katrine-ariel! You are in a beautiful part of the world, too! Your nettles will be ready soon, no doubt. So many great wild food plants are out in the springtime. Enjoy every bit of it! :D

That tree is awesome. I would have just assumed that it was dead or something. It's cool to see how it grew around a log that eventually decayed. Very cool stuff!

Glad you enjoyed that tree, @fronttowardenemy. Everything is so intertwined in the forest. I can't even imagine what all the underground roots look like, lol. Especially with all the fungus under there, too. There is so much more going on with trees, especially. Forests are amazing! Thanks for talking a #walkwithme!

Nice to walk with you again in the forest! It's very nice scenery and great nature surrounding with big, old green trees. Really wonderful! I like the waterfall, it looks really refreshing. Ah! I can see the dancing light...amazing! WOW! You found the mushroom...very interesting! The white flower is my favorite.....beautiful! You took great photos of those things. ;)

Um! I don't know what kind of plant in your last photo and have no idea what you will do with it.... Sorry! ;D

Thanks, @tangmo! I know you like trees! And you like white flowers of all kinds! I'm glad you could see the light dancing off the water. I wasn't sure how well it would show up. In real life, it was so nice! I'll let you know about my mystery plant in my next #walkwithme post. :D

You're welcome! Ah! I can imagine what you found the light dancing off the water in real life....
I look forward to seeing your mystery plant with much interest. ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57296.76
ETH 3055.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32