You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Walk With Me [5] - Saunter in the Siuslaw National Forest - Part 1

in #walkwithme6 years ago

I grew up in a village where there were many forests and meadows around. Grandmother always took me with her for "mushroom hunt", and we collected herbs together with my mother. Now I live in the city, but I like to travel outside of it to communicate with nature, to pick mushrooms or berries. I agree that the knowledge received in childhood can be very useful in the future, and it's great when you can share them with someone.
About your mystery plant... it looks very similar to Comfrey (Sýmphytum). Its roots are used in some medicine, and its leaves we gave as a food to our pigs and rabbits.

Sort:  

That so great you had a grandmother and mother to take you along to collect mushrooms and herbs! And that you still do the same today! Comfrey is a great plant - and thanks for putting the genus with the common name. That helps so much to make sure we are talking about the same plant. But I think you might be surprised at what my mystery plant is. I'll show it in my next #walkwithme post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57151.22
ETH 3067.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32