Walk With Me [4] - Escape to the Marine Layer - Part 2 - Relief! - and Discovery of a Forest Retreat

in #walkwithme6 years ago (edited)

I made a 3 am escape from wildfire smoke, to find clean air. I found more than that! Come into my post and see!

x oregon wildfires 2017 1-1.jpg
Smoke from forest fires saturated everything around my town last summer, for weeks. It started off with pretty sunsets, but turned into thick smoke that made it hard to breathe or even see across the street.

giphy (31).gif
I had to leave! I ended up on a single lane road winding through the Coastal Range. Miles and miles of nobody, on a route I've never been before. Driving until I reach better air, where I can breathe deep!

My escape to the marine layer of air was the start of many trips, all during the autumn, to parts of Oregon that I hadn't been to. I hope you will join me for the whole series -- especially if you like mushrooms! Date of trip:
September 4, 2017.

Thanks to @lyndsaybowes for the #walkwithme tag!


Air!

I drove up and over the Coast Range mountains. And down to clean, breathable air! I was in Alsea, Oregon - population 164. I parked by the local library and sat on a picnic table to watch the sun rise.

x alsea sunrise 1.jpg
Maybe that sunrise view doesn't look any different than the smoke where I left. There is definitely smoke up above the hills!

x alsea sunrise 3.jpg
But look down below and it's a different story. That's not smoke -- it's FOG! Glorious, cool, damp air from the Pacific Ocean -- pushing miles and miles up the Alsea River during the night. Pushing under the hot, smoky air - wedging the smoke up high, above the fog. In the valley, I can breathe deep! Over and over! It felt so good to be in the cool damp air!


Exploring the Alsea Falls Trail

As the fog lifted with the sun, I headed back home, through the Coastal Range mountains. In the daylight, I found the Alsea Falls Trail.

x alsea falls 4.jpg
I can smell smoke, but the air quality is still good. It hasn't rained here for over 2 months, but the forest feels more alive than back home, where all the heat and smoke seems to stifle everything.

giphy (32).gif
I like how death supports life in a forest. This rotting tree stump is home for wild red huckleberry and salal. Both kinds of plants have good berries for eating!

x alsea falls 11.jpg
This big Douglas-fir tree fell across the trail. Even from this angle, I can tell it's a Douglas-fir because of all those layers in the thick bark. Look at how the water in the tree is coming out from specific growth rings, not all over the face of the cut log. You'll see the importance of that in a future post, in another log -- so stay tuned! This tree is big, but counting all the growth rings, it's barely 60 years old.

x alsea falls 5-1.jpg
The trees grow fast and big in Oregon's Coast Range mountains. I like seeing all that moss on the branches. It reminds me that autumn will bring rain to put out all the forest fires.


A Hint of Fun To Come!

Fungi, that is! Autumn rains are sure to bring out the mushrooms. But surely there can't be any during this dry time, right?

x alsea falls 7.jpg
I poke around in a slow-moving little creek. And then I see it.

x alsea falls 8.jpg
Do you see it? There, peeking out from under the Sword Fern.

x alsea falls 9.jpg
I sweep back the fern fronds for a closer look! A bracket fungus growing from a log. That orange edge is characteristic -- it's a Red-belted Polypore! I like to make tea from this common mushroom.

x alsea falls 10.jpg
It takes some bending and twisting, but I finally can see the underside. It's so cool how this bracket fungus grew around that little stick. With that smooth, bright white surface underneath, it's clear why artists collect these to use as a canvas. But I'm not going to harvest this mushroom -- it survived this hot, dry summer and I'm not about to keep it from enjoying the coming fall rains.


Alsea Falls

I can hear a waterfall up ahead.

x alsea falls 1.jpg
It's nice to see some fast-moving water!

x alsea falls 3.jpg
Yes! The flow is low, because it's late summer and there's been a drought. But that just means I can get out on the bedrock and enjoy the waterfall up close!

giphy (33).gif
All is right with the world! After a foggy morning and a day in the forest, with a waterfall and mushrooms, my attitude is a lot better.


Back to the Smoke!

I know I have to go back home, back into the smoke. I am ready.

x alsea falls 12-2.jpg
Yep, there's the smoke. It hasn't gone away.

x alsea falls 13.jpg
Don't turn back - even though it's tempting!

x alsea falls 14.jpg
The smoke is worse than when I left! But that break made all the difference. I feel for the folks that could not escape for even a few hours.


Thanks for Walking With Me

I appreciate being able to hop in my car to escape all the wildfire smoke on the spur of the moment. Many people had it much harder than me, that's for sure. And I appreciate all the public land where I can hike and enjoy the forest and waterfalls. I hope you will continue to walk with me in the Coast Mountain Range, all through last autumn, as I enjoy the cool, wet weather - and mushrooms.

  • Have you had to deal with forest fire smoke?
  • What waterfalls are close to you?
  • Have you ever found a bracket fungus?

Plant and Mushroom List

  • Douglas-fir - Pseudotsuga menziesii
  • Red Huckleberry - Vaccinium parvifolium
  • Salal - Gaultheria shallon
  • Sword fern - Polystichum munitum
  • Red-belted polypore - Fomitopsis pinicola

This post is linked to the Steemit World Map at Steemitworldmap.com


Haphazard Homestead

foraging, gardening, nature, simple living close to the land

All content is 100% Haphazard Homestead!
My YouTube channel: Haphazard Homestead

Sort:  

IMAG2760.jpg

IMAG2763.jpg

Wow how would dad always say bad experiences or when bad things happen, we should take full advantage
as it is the case that tells us that fleeing from the Smoke Fort to breathe fresh air could be found with spectacular landscapes and beds in the forest.
Good thing he could find fresh air and in the process find spectacular places in the search for food, as well as some mushrooms like the one described to make you. ?????????

I have always been afraid of these fungi and here are several that call or resemble the ganoderma variety
The last time I came to Steemit, I asked if anyone knew the fungus that I describe below and I did not like the answer.
Maybe you can help me because here I see a lot but I do not know what they are or what their use is.

Above are the photos on it, I have never used them for fear that it is a poisonous and end up in the cemetery because with this we must be careful.

Thank you for sharing your great experience in the forest and good that you could get great resources, knowing where and how to find one is able to get food from the most thoughtful places in nature.

Thank you for sharing such a great feat, the truth that last year's fires were disastrous for that place, that I am sorry that they have affected many people,
and the worst is that many of these are caused by the same humanity.
a big hug.
Best regard @galberto.

I was glad I found good air, that's for sure. From here, @galberto, it does look like you have one of the Ganoderma species. Several kinds have the stems like that. It's hard to know exactly which kind, because DNA work is showing more variation and kinds of Ganoderma than people have thought. And even different strains have different chemistry. None of the Ganoderma are toxic, but with their different chemistry, they will have different health properties. Here is a paper with good photos of different Ganoderma. It is for India, but many of the species have wide distribution, the pictures are good, and there is a good introduction. This article by a mycological societyhas some good ID and harvesting tips - they caution to watch out for mold. I have only used Ganoderma for making tea. Not for any medical uses.

Thank you very much indeed if I still do not encourage myself, to make a tea in fact I have only read about what is medicine but if you take a tea, you are surely acquiring the same properties for your health.
but tell me how to make the tea, ie the whole plant, half fungus, 1/4 of the fungus, how much because suddenly and I make a cup of tea, with the whole mushroom and the amount already poisoned me.
I'm sorry, I'm too cowardly to take you, first I'll read the great documents you've shared to be sure, because here I've seen many support mushrooms very often, but they're scary, especially when they're petrified and can be used to light the fire.
Good thing I could breathe, I hope there are no more fires.
a hug and thanks for the information.

Again, you had beautiful walk with so many things to see. I love the sunrise over the mountains with the fog. The forest and waterfall make me feel refreshed.

The mushrooms are really big and amazing and it’s great that you can notice them which are under the Sword Fern. The tree is very large and tall.

Yeah! I always enjoy walking with you. Looking forward to your further stories about the Coast Mountain Range with much interest. ;)

Thanks, @tangmo! I know you a fan of trees! We have such a strong change between our wet and dry seasons. It is nice when the rains come back. And then the mushrooms come back, lol. : )

You're welcome! I know you know me well, my dear friend! Yeah! I like rainy season, too. And I'm looking forward to seeing many mushrooms from you.... ;)

There are so many different mushrooms in Oregon. And most fungi don't even make a mushroom - ever. Most of them stay underground and in trees through their whole life-cycle. I'm glad we get to see some mushrooms, from some of the fungi!

Ah! It's my new knowledge. At first, I think the fungi and mushrooms are the same.... Thanks so much for your information. ;)

It's really wonderful walk with you @haphazard-hstead.
Yes there is a beautiful waterfall in my country Pakistan. This is Manthoka waterfall that is located in kharmang valley skardu, Pakistan. It's very fabulous and breathtaking waterfall.Manthoka-Waterfalls-Skardu-Pakistan-750x562.jpg

Thanks, @anayakhan! Thanks for letting us know about the Manthoka waterfall. It's beautiful! I can see from the tents in the lower left of the picture, that it is a big waterfall and a powerful river. Does it get snowmelt from higher in the mountains? With all the exposed rocks and gravel in the river channel, the river must get a lot of water sometimes! I can imagine all the sounds of the water in that canyon -- so enjoyable! I hope you get to go there whenever you want! : )

Yes, snow melting higher up of mountains feeds this waterfall and at times the gushing stream gets more noisy with more water.

It sure makes for a pretty place and a wild river. Nature is so amazing!

Hi, great post like usually, but today it clicked on your youtube chanel.. Im amazed ;) I didnt know that you put there so amazing videos;)

Thanks, @liltammy! And thanks for checking out my YouTube channel. I have to get back to posting more videos -- I get too focused on Steemit! From my videos, you know my love of foraging wild plants is real, lol! ; ) Maybe you have some of the same plants in Mexico, too.

I'm on the edge of the prairie, so no significant waterfalls until you go further north. We had a couple days last summer where upper air patterns brought us smoke from your fires. That was rather bizarre!

It's neat that you noticed how we are all so connected through our shared atmosphere. Maybe you got some nice sunsets from all our wildfire smoke! I grew up in Kansas prairie country, so I can relate to not having any significant waterfalls! At least you don't have to go too far to those great Minnesota forests and the waterfalls. Do the mosquitoes stay up there or do they make it to the prairie? In Kansas, those mosquitoes had to know how to hold on in the wind! ; )

Definitely great sunsets during the fires out west!
Mosquitoes in southern Wisconsin seem dependent on the area. I live on the river, but the water flows fast enough that I don't get many here...plus there are lots of birds! The next town over has a couple of shallow little lakes, and the mosquitoes there are horrible!
Northern WI has some fabulous waterfalls, too.

Birds sure do help with the mosquito population -- and dragonflies and bats once it gets warmer. The worst I've ever had it was on a cattle ranch, where there were deep hoof-prints all through a muck area. Every footprint was a mosquito breeding spot. Worse than the Boundary Waters area's blackflies, lol. I hope you get to enjoy some waterfalls this spring! :D

@haphazard-hstead that was a very interesting adventure. I am thankful that I have not had to deal with the smoke from forest fires like that. Once a few years back I did have to drive down the Florida coast near Daytona through black smoke from a fire. It was quite scary.

I do not know that much about mushrooms other than I love to eat the ones I buy at the grocery store so I have never found a bracket fungus but there are some awesome waterfalls here in Georgia. I have only seem like half of them but I really want to do this ultimate waterfalls road trip.

Thanks for sharing your story. Upvoted and resteemed!

Hi, @strypes! What a cool roadtrip! I think it would take a lot longer than 5 hours -- each one is so pretty, it deserves it's own few hours of appreciation, lol. It would be a great 3-day weekend! I bet there are some bracket fungus on trees around those waterfalls! ; ) Thanks for the resteem, too!

I am planning on taking my time. I want to try to get some good photos to share.

The colors in that forest are amazing! Yes I love to take my time while walking so I can see the little, cool things all around me!

The colors were especially nice to see after being in all that wildfire smoke for way too long. It was nice to be able to relax in the ferns, for sure! Enjoy your walks!

I love Oregon! Just did an article about Tillamook a few days ago! Super tall trees. Combination of coast, mountains streets, elk and so much more! Great article!
God bless!
Daddy William

Thanks, @mhm-phillipines! The Oregon coast is pretty amazing. And it's still 98% public land. I'm glad you've been able to enjoy it!

Alsea area and the coast range are some of my stomping grounds!

That is some beautiful country! I'm amazed at how empty that road from Monroe to Alsea is. It feels like I'm back in time, in the 1950s when there weren't so many people around at all. I made so many trips there this past fall. What great mushrooms all through that area, too. Enjoy all your stomping around there! ; )

It really is a great place. The only wild mushrooms I have harvested are chanterelles but I want to learn more!

Excellent post good article and photography my dear friend @haphazard-hstead

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56570.01
ETH 3028.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29