Tell Me Your Thoughts About Steem Voting For A Chance To Win 100% Upvotes From Me

in #vote6 years ago (edited)

So the idea is simple - provide engaging, well thought out answers to the questions below and you will be entered into a drawing for 3 prizes.

vote-3569999_640.jpg

source

The Rules


I am the sole judge of whether the provided answers qualify for the drawing - remember that I am looking for engaging, well thought out responses. I will mark all qualifying answers with a comment that contains "Entry #___".

After payment is received for this post, I will randomly select 3 winners. I typically use Random.org to make the random selections.

If your entry is selected and you want to defer your prize, I will upvote another Steem member of your choice, even if they did not participate in the survey.

The Prizes

Based on the current price of Steem, a 100% upvote from me is worth between 15 to 19 cents depending on my voting strength (which is usually above 80%).

*** The Questions ***

  1. What are your criteria for upvoting a post?
  2. How do you decide how much of an upvote you should give?
  3. Do you leave comments for posts that you did not upvote? Why or why not?
  4. Do you upvote comments that people write for your post? Why or why not?
  5. What is the one thing that bothers you the most about Steem upvoting?

Thanks for stopping by. I look forward to hearing from you.

@SumatraNate


More About My Steem Projects

image source: bitmoji app Like This Post?
Upvote, Comment, Resteem
Want More Like It?
Follow My Steem Blog!
Learn how to format your Steem posts so that your great content looks great!
image source: pixabay Wanna Join The Best Birthday Party On The Steem Blockchain? Click here for more details!
Sort:  

1.What are your criteria for upvoting a post?
It is simple for me. If a post appeals to me in any way, I want to upvote it. I do give more consideration to those I follow over those I don't follow, and of those I learn toward art-related postings.

2.How do you decide how much of an upvote you should give?
I never worry about this. I give 100% on every vote, and I don't wish to ever change that no matter how much SP I have. I feel that I should give 100% to everyone that deserves it and when my power depletes for the day that is a way of limiting my time-eating habit of going down many steemit rabbitholes and wasting time that I need to use on other things.

3.Do you leave comments for posts that you did not upvote? Why or why not?
I don't really do this. If I comment on something it usually gets an upvote as well. If it were to happen, it may be because my power was completely depleted.

4.Do you upvote comments that people write for your post? Why or why not?
If they are a genuine post yes, they will get an upvote and perhaps a reply as well. No upvotes for those that are asking for upvote reciprocation without providing any critique, commentary, or other intellectual value. I also don't normally upvote bots either.

5.What is the one thing that bothers you the most about Steem upvoting?
It would be nice if we could still earn on posts after the first week. I will be honest, I don't know 100% how the whole system works so maybe there is a roundabout way of getting something from old posts, but I'm not sure. Otherwise, I am fine with Steem upvoting.

Entry #1 Thanks for your engaging responses. This is a great example of what I was hoping for. I am not aware of a way to receive payment past the first 7 days. I don't think that 7 days has always been the payment deadline. If I am not mistaken there was a longer window to receive upvotes in the past.

Quick follow-up questions based on the following line:

when my power depletes for the day

Do you limit your upvotes to about 10 a day so that you can recharge your voting power within a 24 hour period?

I am not aware of a way to receive payment past the first 7 days. I don't think that 7 days has always been the payment deadline.

Before Hard Fork 19, which happened mid-2017, posts could pay out
after 7 days. There was multiple payout windows, but after mid-2017 this system was replaced with just having a 7 days payout window.

My daily upvotes are usually less than 10 a day.

1.What are your criteria for upvoting a post? I am engaged through the whole text. The writer cares about grammar and uses images with appropriate attribution.

  1. How do you decide how much of an upvote you should give? I vote based on the effort displayed in writing. I believe some posts deserve more based on the length and depth of the topic.

  2. Do you leave comments for posts that you did not upvote? Why or why not? Usually I don't. I try to wait and return if my value is too low

  3. Do you upvote comments that people write for your post? Why or why not? I do on the majority of comments. I don't upvote follow me back comments

  4. What is the one thing that bothers you the most about Steem upvoting? I feel that many great posts are greatly undervalued and new users fall by the wayside.

Entry #3 Thanks for answering my questions.

I am engaged through the whole text. The writer cares about grammar and uses images with appropriate attribution.

I really like this response. Engagement is important for me as well. I really enjoy posts that effortless guide me to the end. I must admit that I am not the best at grammar, but I always try to source the images I use.

Thanks for stopping by and interacting with my post.

My pleasure. I felt your questions are appropriate and deserved honest answers.

Posted using Partiko Android

I think my answer to this question will change once I have steem to generate income for others with my vote, however for now I upvote creative posts I like and use it as a guide to whether or not I have entered a competition.

Unless I have plain forgotten I upvote any post I am commenting on.

I have just recently started upvoting received comments, but I am not consistent about it.

The one thing I would change would be to add a heart and a dollar sign as options to choose from, that way I can still let people know I have seen and liked their post without having to comment and once I have a vote worth some cents I can support the projects that are outstanding.

Entry #2 Thanks for responding to my questions. I appreciate it! I see your point about your answer potentially changing as you grow on the Steem platform. That may be true, but I would recommend that you think about your voting strategy now, because it will be easy to execute once you have more Steem power and authority.

What are your criteria for upvoting a post?

  • the story within the post.. i dont care if he/she grammatically wrong.. not all here are as good in English grammar, but they are trying. You can see the effort ones put into the post. It should well appreciated even just by an upvote love.

How do you decide how much of an upvote you should give?

  • as much as i would want to give all that i have at 100%, but i want to engage to more than 10 people. I tried my best to spread more upvote love. I learned my lesson, i have been upvoting at 100% before and it got my VP depleted and reached 16% VP.. haha.. but i wasnt all sad. Lately my upvotes range from 70-100%, it is still big to share to everyone.

Do you leave comments for posts that you did not upvote? Why or why not?

  • yessss! Always! I feel that it is my one way of saying that your post were not left out and go unnoticed. Commenting means i was here, i read it!..it is my pride to be the first commenter! I have been there once, I know how it felt.

Do you upvote comments that people write for your post? Why or why not?

  • Yes but sometimes i forget. I become so engrossed in relying all the comments. But in my free time, i go back to all of them and tries to upvote. My way of thanking them for dropping by. I dont have much but it will do.

What is the one thing that bothers you the most about Steem upvoting?

  • bidbots?? Dont get me wrong i love them.. but not all can afford it! So most great and excellent post go really unnoticed! Its a total waste that all their afforts were not appreciated. If only i was a WHALE i would search all high and lows to notice them all. Most great writers are newbies and red fishes. It hurts to see them fade away amd lose inspiration to keep writing.

    This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

Entry #4 Thanks for stopping by. I appreciate your thoughtful comments.

I wonder how many Steem members understand about voting strength. I know a lot of people that enjoy voting for other people so much that they deplete their voting strength. I try to keep mine about 80%.

I agree that there is a lot of undervalued content out there. We have to make sure that we are making a difference in the subcommunities that we are involved with. We need to be ready to welcome new members to those communities.

Great thoughts! See you around.

I think a lot have not yet understand how Voting Power and its strength works. I for one had learned it the hard way. But it was fortunate for me WW Family had explained the matter when I was under training..

Yes see yah around too! Take care!

Posted using Partiko Android

What are your criteria for upvoting a post?
As a curie curator I try to find exceptional stuff and curate the best out there, but if there is some good stuff that don't get into "curie zone" I still upvote them too and posts from my feed (known users with whom I interact on steem-chat and discord). Criteria, I really like formatting of the post, how it looks like, the layout - if it is photography post I really like to see some follow up story. If it is long scientific article, I like when it is broken in sections, with some nicely sourced images.

How do you decide how much of an upvote you should give?
Since my upvote worths about 10 cents I throw 100% if I really like the post and if the post is nice but the person is well rewarded I lower the percentage to have more VP for under-rewarded great authors.
Do you leave comments for posts that you did not upvote? Why or why not?
Only if the topic is interesting enough. But mostly not :)
Do you upvote comments that people write for your post? Why or why not?
I upvote comments that are wrote for other posts too. Comments are future of this platform (if they are not begging and spam stuff). Sometimes the comment section persuades me to upvote the whole post too.
What is the one thing that bothers you the most about Steem upvoting?
Too many good posts and authors with so limited voting power. But I guess that is why we have 7 days payout, to recover some VP and cast a vote later. And another thing that will change with the new hardfork selfvoting on first minute, but penalty will come in, and everything will be sorted. :) have nothing against self voting if it is casted after 30mins. :)

Thats all for now :) cheers!

Entry #11 - I had read through your response several days ago, but I never replied to you. I am very sorry about that.

I agree that post formatting is very important. It helps a reader navigate through content. And another thing that you mentioned was managing Steem Voting Power. I see a lot of new Steem users depleted their voting power and not give it enough time to replenish. Some lessons you have to learn the hard way, but it was nice if we could pass along some of these basics on to the newest members of our community.

How long have you been a curie curator?

The question is a lot. But I will answer all

  1. To keep a position elevated, we continue to voting on his post. So that they become a good place.
  2. I do not do such a thing. Yet they do not make my comments
  3. People always write my thought in my post. In which they tell the goodness of my post. But sometimes there is no shortage. But they should tell a deficiency. Which can make your post excellent.
  4. I do not know anything about this. Thanks for keeping good thoughts

Entry #6 Thanks for stopping by. I appreciate you answering my questions.

Loading...
  1. What are your criteria for upvoting a post? —I usually upvotes when it catches my attention like the Title and the 1st photo seen in their post.
  2. How do you decide how much of an upvote you should give? —I always upvote 100% 😝 why? Means I sincerely like their post.
  3. Do you leave comments for posts that you did not upvote? Why or why not? —Yes! I’m too noisy not to say something haha
  4. Do you upvote comments that people write for your post? Why or why not? —No. Cause since it limited, I reserve it for upvoting post.
  5. What is the one thing that bothers you the most about Steem upvoting? —I’m scared my power goes down to zero. Haha cause I upvote a lot!

I’m tagging my sister @maquemali because... well there’s no reason haha just want her to join the fun! 😆

Posted using Partiko iOS

Entry #7 I completely agree that the title and thumbnail image are very important.

I think a lot of people are concerned about low voting strength. We do have to balance voting a lot with voting with high values.

Thanks for your thoughts on​ this topic. I appreciated you taking the time to leave a response.

Let's answer this through phases.
There are 2 types of posts that I upvote good, engaging and well thought posts, simply because hard work deserves recognition in my opinion. The other type of posts, just like this one, that allows the community to grow up and allows people to interact between themselves.

I don´t have a chance to chose the % of upvote that I want to use, here on Steemit (which is where I spend most of my time).

I always try to leave a thoughtful comment even when I can't upvote... Sometimes my voting strength is too low and I find good quality posts, so I try to improve that post through commenting.

Being in my blood, I upvote quality most of all, so if anyone leaves an interesting, funny or well thought comment, I will upvote it and most importantly interact with them.

I see a lot of people complaining about the way the upvote system works, but the reality is that we are always evolving and solving problems here on Steemit, I think whenever this system doesn't work anymore someone will find a good solution. (So I do think most of it is good for now - even with all the already pointed downsides)

Entry #8 Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment. It looks like you are on your way to reaching 500SP. That is around the time that you gain access to the slider.

Engagement is so important. I try to reward people for the time and effort they invest in adding to a conversation. There are some things that need to be improved, but overall, I feel blessed to be on the Steem platform and apart of the Steem community.

I started with not real objective, but when you start to accumulate it's just impossible not to want more, so, definitely the 500 SP will be on of my goals.

Glad to see my entry being confirmed, especially considering the requirements ("engaging and well thought ") :D

  1. What are your criteria for upvoting a post?
    The structure of the post, I take much into account that, that this ordered and simple for the reader. The quality of the information, I like that it has at least 50% original content. And if I observe any small suspicion of plagiarism or spam, I automatically do not vote.

  2. How do you decide how much of an upvote you should give?
    I do not worry much about it, since I do not give anything! I do not even have 50 SP yet. Although a month ago, I was delegated 150 SP, which lasted a month. When I got that prize if I was more careful not to vote so much, and choose only the best.

  3. Do you leave comments for posts that you did not upvote? Why or why not?
    Sometimes I like to help with corrections, or say that the information is wrong, is false or is a plagiarism. In those cases obviously comment, but I do not vote the publication.

  4. Do you upvote comments that people write for your post? Why or why not?
    Most of the time yes, to almost everyone, even though I do not give them anything of $, not even 0.01. I appreciate each person who sees and reads my publications. It's incredible that they take part of their time for me.

  5. What is the one thing that bothers you the most about Steem upvoting?
    No doubt how difficult it is to get SP. For someone like me, who does not have enough money to start my account. It is very complicated to obtain many SP. I wish it would be a little easier to at least give a small vote of 0.01


These questions made me think, how good I felt, last month when I gave votes of 0.01! It's a huge difference, I wake up a lot. Now that I've had less than 50 SP I feel a little insignificant in the community :( I hope to get much more soon!

Regards!

Entry #9 I agree that readability to important. I like finishing a post and then realizing that the writer carefully crafted a plan to draw me to the end.

I want to encourage you to keep pressing forward and to keep Steeming. I remember how hard it was when I was new to the platform. It can be discouraging at times, but it is worth the time and effort you invest (imho).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62261.48
ETH 2423.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66