TOASTED QUINOA WITH BASIL AVOCADO SAUCE AND HOMEGROWN MUNG BEAN SPROUTS 🥑🌱

in #vegan5 years ago

DSCF3771-1.jpg

Growing sprouts and other microgreens in your own kitchen with minimal supplies is fun and easy. It is a nice project to involve the kids and make them curious about health foods too. Though I will give you a full update and tutorial in another post, the only thing you need to grow your own supply of spouts is a jar, beans or seeds, and water.

Given the tropical climate we live in it only takes about two days to get a jar full of yumminess, though in colder climates it may take a day of 3 or 4.

Though there are many seeds and beans you could sprout I like the taste of mung or adzuki bean sprouts. Plus, they are super cheap and always available here in Cambodia.

mung-bean-sprouts-5.jpg

Nutritional value of mung bean sprouts


Each cup of sprouted mung beans contains around 31 calories and provides about three grams of protein and two grams of fiber. They are a good source of fiber, antioxidants and other essential nutrients such as Thiamin, Niacin, Vitamin B6, Pantothenic Acid, Iron, Magnesium, Phosphorus, Potassium, Vitamin C, Vitamin K, Riboflavin, Folate, Copper and Manganese.

And while many people eat them raw in salads, they are crisp enough to maintain their texture when used in stirfries or other cooked dishes.

mung-bean-sprouts-8.jpg

FRIED QUINOA WITH BASIL AVOCADO SAUCE AND HOMEGROWN MUNG BEAN SPROUTS 🥑🌱


INGREDIENTS (serves 2-3 people)


For the basil avocado pesto


1/4 cup unsalted cashews, soaked
1/2 avocado
1 cup Italian basil
3 tbsp nutritional yeast
3 tbsp avocado oil or extra virgin olive oil
3 clove of garlic
Sea salt and black pepper to taste

For the fried quinoa bowl


2 cups cooked quinoa (we used a mix of red and white quinoa, that's what we had left)
1 cup red beet, diced
1.5 cup cooked chickpeas
1.5 cup bean sprouts
Sea salt and black pepper to taste

DSCF3744-1.jpg

DIRECTIONS


  1. Cook the quinoa according to the instruction on the package.
  2. Meanwhile, combine all avocado sauce ingredients in a blender and process until smooth. Add water if needed. Set aside in the fridge.
  3. When the quinoa is cooked, heat a skillet over medium heat and toast quinoa until brown and crisp. This will take about 5 to10 minutes. Transfer to a bowl and set aside.
  4. In the same skillet, add a little more cooking oil and stir-fry the red beet over medium heat for 5 minutes, or until softened. Then stir in the chickpeas and cook until heated through and slightly browned.
  5. Then add the bean sprouts and cook for a few minutes more or until heated through. Add the toasted quinoa. Stir well and serve with avocado pesto.
  6. Optional: garnish with extra raw bean sprouts to give the dish a crispy touch.

DSCF3747-1.jpg

DSCF3758-1.jpg

DSCF3763-1.jpg


signature-new.png

FYI: For green smoothie tips, tricks, and recipes, download my FREE GREEN SMOOTHIE EBOOK HERE!


ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL!
PICTURE(s) TAKEN WITH NIKON D5600 AND HUAWEI Y9


LET'S CONNECT!


Website - Facebook - Google+ - Twitter - Pinterest - YouTube


🥑🍓🍆 FIND MORE YUMMY PLANT-BASED CREATIONS BELOW 🥑🍓🍆

BULL TRYING TO STEAL MY GREEN MORNING DRINK (+ GREEN SMOOTHIE RECIPE)

HOMEMADE TURMERIC SOFT SHELL TACOS WITH SPICY BATTERED BROCCOLI AND GARLICKY CASHEW SAUCE

SMOOTHIE OF THE DAY | PROBIOTIC COCONUT CASHEW PEACH MORNING BLISS

ZOODLES WITH HOMEGROWN CHERRY TOMATOES AND SUN-DRIED TOMATO PESTO (#fruitsandveggiesmonday)

SUPERFOOD CINNAMON BANANA ICE CREAM

SMOOTHIE OF THE DAY | PROBIOTIC TROPICAL CARROT MORNING LASSI


DQmeghPGYhwUy1Bafh4LpeqbRKFykxNwtufJxJtMCCuCNom.gif

7ohP4GDMGPrUMp8dW6yuJTR9MKNu8P8DCXDU9qmmoBZUcHz58m3pP6QX7KjeCNfAsekinuSbJ8Snb8X4RZ5GchCZ7iRBkBC.png

Sort:  

Sonds like a pretty tasty treat for real food lovers

Thanks my friend. Was very yummy indeed.

Your post has just reminded me that I've been planning to start sprouting for ages. So I took my alfalfa seeds from the pantry and started soaking them. Where shall I keep the jar once they're in it? I guess it shouldn't be directly in the sun, right?

Mung beans will be the next thing on the list for me :) I love them!

Your quinoa looks delicious! It would be something what my husband would love :)

Thank you for sharing and have a nice day!

Sorry for the late reply though I am happy my post inspired you to start sprouting right away. Out of the sun indeed. I'll try to post my method as soon as I find some time.

Looks delicious and healthy 🤤👍👏

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks my friend.

This dish looks yummy and healthy.
I love most of the ingredients, but have never tried them in this combination.
I think that I have eaten sprout beans only in chinese food (which makes it very fatty/unhealthy).
People usually complain about vegetables leaving them with the sensation of emptiness shortly after they've eaten. How does this dish compare?

Thanks for your comment. If you eat enough veggies you shouldn't feel hungry. Also the quinoa provides much needed carbs and protein to keep you full.

Hi @amy-goodrich, good to see you again. This dish looks very tasty and healthy. Reading your post made me remember that many years ago I grew sprouts myself and had them in salads. maybe it's time to do it again. Thanks for the recipe and have a nice day!

I hope you do. Glad to hear that my post has brought some good memories back. Have a lovely day and thanks for stopping by.

My pleasure, you too have a nice weekend 😃

Good morning, how are you? I hope very well. I have tried Quinoa in mixed cereal bars in Peru and Argentina. If you like healthy food you can visit my blog and read about the native Andean potatoes of Peru and Argentina, which besides being very rich are healing. I wish you an excellent day and enjoy the Quinoa. Greetings from Rosario (the land of Messi), Argentina.

Mung beans are common here in our place and it's even more delicious with coconut milk and pork bits. :)

No pork for me. I am a happy plant)based muncher. Have you tried sprouting the beans?

Hello dear! It’s a healthy dish! Especially with this homegrown mung beans sprouts , it’s looks so yummy with the chickpeas.
Bon appetit dear!

Thanks my friend. How are you and the family? Did the second baby arrive? Need to catch up on everybody. Been so busy lately. Take care.

Hi dear! Am well! Really am so busy , my belly becomes so big I can’t move to much, not yet get my baby , am in my 7 month and half, but am near, these days we are so busy with the work, and I start feel tired , that’s why I stopped blogging, but now I will start again, thank you very much for asking about me.

Happy to hear you are doing well. I bet you all can't wait to welcome your little wonder.

Exactly! Now I start counting the days just to welcome him , really am so happy and I hope all will pass well , and my baby also I want to see him well.
Good Sunday!

Hi amy-goodrich,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thanks for the love and support. Keep up the good work -X-

Yeah we too have them and call them chola they are so tasty it's like a snack for us to enjoy in the evening

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for passing by and leaving a comment. Where are you from?

I'm from Pakistan

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60754.57
ETH 2658.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51