[Vietnamese Translation] - Source: The Curious Expedition - Part 2: 1033 words in English

in #utopian-io6 years ago (edited)

1.Repository

The Curious Expedition on Github
The Curious Expedition on Crowdin

2.Project Details

- Project name: The Curious Expedition

The introduction of this project was written in details in my previous post. However, I would like to list out some main ideas as follows:

Curious Expedition is a rogue-like expedition simulation set in the 19th century. (source: http://curious-expedition.com/)

This game brings to the players a chance to explore the undiscovered and mysterious places. To get success and be survived, the game players have to be very careful and clever to decide the right ways to solve the unpredictable tasks.

This is a rather difficult game. The game takes place over a series of 6 expeditions, each being larger and more difficult than the last. The goal of each expedition is to discover and explore the Golden Pyramid in each map, and hopefully bring back items to increase your fame and fortune.

For more information about the Curious Expedition, you can find out via its official website: http://curious-expedition.com/

- Translation's Reasons:

This project caught my attention when I was thinking of choosing the project to work on. It seems that Vietnam is a potential market for gaming projects. The number of players in Vietnam is increasing rapidly. However, the game market in Vietnam is underdeveloped and not diversified. There is even a lack of standard documentation to cater to gamers.
I want to use my translation skills to give the Vietnamese community a standardized document that is suitable for Vietnamese culture when approaching an international game.

3.Contribution Specifications

3.1. Translation Overview

This is the second translation part of The Curious Expedition. I still worked on the file about Apes Mod. The strings translated were mostly game dialogues.

In this part, I would like to highlight some points which I faced up with when translating:

Point 1. There are some strings contain the words that cause the misunderstanding in the different countries. Thanks to the contribution and comment from other translators and moderators, I could dig deep into the meaning of the whole strings and contexts as well. Here is the example:

String: The Humans did not seem to fear us very much. Their demeanour was almost...spiteful.

(Source: String No.37, page 2/5, Ape mod file, Curious Expedition)

+) The problem: The word "spiteful" caused the wonder to the translators when translating it into the right word which can fit the whole context.

+) The solution: I did pay attention to the comment from other translators and moderators to get myself the exact meaning of that word.

Point 2: There are some words which are considered as the old words. I find it really difficult to look up the exact meanings both in the dictionary and in the modern text.

For example:
The word: Banana Schnapps in the string No.16, page 2/5, Ape Mode file. (source)

The word: Berserker in the string No.16, page 3/5, Ape Mode file. (source)


(This screenshot is taken from the website Oxford Learner's Dictionaries

In order to get my translation much better, I have to enrich my knowledge with the language and the culture of the gamers - the target readers. I also asked the advice from my language Moderator - who is very specialized in both English and Vietnamese. Moreover, he himself did get experience as a gamer in some other similar types of game. Then, I spent my time searching thoroughly for the project to get myself an overall view. I reached closer to the new terms above and tried to convert them exactly and closely into Vietnamese.


3.2. Languages:
Source Language: English
Target Language: Vietnamese


3.3. Word count:
This part has 1033 words in English. There are not many untranslated words.
The untranslated words are: 15 words.
The translated words in total are: 1018 words.


3.4. Proofread
My translation part was proofread twice by the Language Manager of the Vietnamese Team - @carlpei. It means that my work was checked and followed in details by the authorized person.

4. Proof of Authorship

You can lookup Crowdin project on the following link, as well as the summary of my activities: Crowdin Project Activity

__

This part I would like to spend to say many thanks to you and my team for taking your time to follow me and my translation. Moreover, I would like to say a big thank to my Language Manager for his time reading and making proofread in details. I highly appreciated what he has done for our team.
I am so happy to be a part of our team and we are trying our best to bring to our community the useful sources of information. You can check more Vietnamese translation via my team who have Steemit accounts are: lantracy, symnop, adam.tran, lecongdoo3.
Finally, I am so grateful for being an approved translator of Davinci and Utopian.

My other contributions:

Sort:  

Thank you for your contribution to the Davinci-Utopian translation project @lenancie. This is your 10th contribution to the translation category.

  • This is your second translation on a gaming project but I have to admit that I was very excited to proofread your work. You are using the correct word and the layout is well structured, the translation has a logical flow and uses correct punctuation.
  • I have to agree with you that those words can be complicated when translating them into Vietnamese and the good thing is you know where to search for information to make a translator become a better translator. You are doing a well-done job. The next time we meet, please remind me these 2 things in discord:
    1. There is 1 line that I believe we can improve it (The translation is correct but if you wish to improve it and you shall have it).
    2. Direct links on Crowdin for string and source.
  • The Curious Expedition is a difficult project with technical terminologies and gaming jargon which will require a good background knowledge. You are doing a fine job on this project because you are a professional and a licensed translator. You use factual information as evidence to back up your choice of words and I highly appreciate that.
  • You pay attention to detail and you use the correct terminology. Your article is accurate and pleasant to read. You present your thoughts and ideas clearly, precisely and professionally.
  • Your ability to work independently is top-notch but you also provide assistance to your fellow translators.

It is a pleasure to have you as a team member. I look forward to seeing your next contributions.


Your contribution has been evaluated according to Utopian policies and guidelines, as well as a predefined set of questions pertaining to the category.

To view those questions and the relevant answers related to your post, click here.


Chat with us on Discord

Thank you for your review, @carlpei!

So far this week you've reviewed 1 contributions. Keep up the good work!

@carlpei, thank you for your time reading and proofreading my translation. Highly appreciate what you have noted about my job above. Thanks once again.

Hey, @lenancie!

Thanks for contributing on Utopian.
We’re already looking forward to your next contribution!

Get higher incentives and support Utopian.io!
Simply set @utopian.pay as a 5% (or higher) payout beneficiary on your contribution post (via SteemPlus or Steeditor).

Want to chat? Join us on Discord https://discord.gg/h52nFrV.

Vote for Utopian Witness!

Chúc mừng @lenancie, bạn đã nhận được một upvote 25%. Tôi là con bot của cộng đồng Việt Nam trên Steemit. Tôi được tạo ra bởi nhân chứng @quochuy và được uỷ quyền, tín nhiệm bởi các thành viên Việt Nam, hôm nay tôi vote cho bài của bạn để ủng hộ bạn. Tôi hi vọng sẽ được thấy nhiều bài viết hay từ bạn.

Chúc bạn vui vẻ, và hẹn gặp lại một ngày gần đây.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 7 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 16 SBD worth and should receive 121 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Hi @lenancie!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your post is eligible for our upvote, thanks to our collaboration with @utopian-io!
Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63900.26
ETH 3063.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.21