DAZ3D Genesis 3 to Unity - The problem with eyes - making the imported Daz Eyes look nice.

in #unity7 years ago (edited)

I've showed importing of Genesis 3 characters into Unity several times now. There is always one area that always looks like crap when imported. That is the eyes.

I took some time today to determine how to address this and this will be a short tutorial focusing just on that.

Here are my results

Using this texture:

bethany7_eyes01_1007.jpg

Now there were three materials related to the eye it imported. I was messing with Bethany 7 as she is one of the figures I am reworking for our Wormhole Ventures game.

EyeMoisture (Material)
Bethany7_eyes_007 (material)
Cornea (Material)

So, eye moisture is intended for crying and tears and such. No texture exports for that and setting unity to transparent, fade, etc does not really help with this. Slapping the Eye texture here looks really ugly and that is what I showed in an earlier tutorial.

Instead I went into photoshop and created a white texture 64x64 and called it tears and set its opacity to 5%. I then used that in my EyeMoisture albedo texture. I went ahead and maxed out the smoothness. If you plan on doing a lot of crying and such you may want to tweak this and change the texture some.

This texture should work for you for Eyemoisture as long as you check Alpha is Transparency on the texture in Unity.
TEXTURE BETWEEN THIS POINT
Tears.png
AND THIS POINT

This texture is the white part of the eye.

Cornea is the actual color of the eye, iris and all of that.

Note it doesn't look very good. This is where I discovered a really important step in Unity.

Set the tiling X and tiling Y to 3 and 3 respectively. Suddenly your eyes will look like they should.

I thought this might prove useful to some of you that are trying to use Daz figures in conjunction with Unity.


Past Daz 3D/Daz Studio Tutorials

Sort:  

another great tutorial!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58397.49
ETH 2619.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42