Healing the Narcissist

in #ungrip6 years ago (edited)

I witness many people struggling with others who exhibit narcissistic and abusive behaviours.  The empath's struggle is that they think they can heal or change the narcissist.  The trap is thinking that these people can be healed and change through the empath's efforts.  

The individual who is exhibiting narcissistic type behaviours is the one that must do the work to change.  It may seem impossible for a narcissist to change, but I KNOW it is possible, as I've done it.  Prior to 2001 I could have easily been called a narcissist.  However, despite all the interventions, drug therapies, group therapies and even ECT treatments, there is nothing anybody could have done to 'fix' me.  

So how in the hell did I manage to change my personality and behaviours so drastically?  The changes that I made in my life are so startling and astounding that I often struggle to believe that I accomplished such a transformation.  

Pre-2001


March 2001, just after my surrender

The old me was abusive, arrogant and a terrified, hurting little boy.  The fear that I was not good enough, manifested all sorts of abusive behaviours in my life.  I often engaged in covert violence to manipulate people around me.  I was a master of laying the guilt trip, avoiding confrontation, pouting and engaging in other physical, mental, emotional and spiritual abuses.  I would use anger to intimidate people in order to scare or prevent them from standing up to me.  It was a horribly abusive behaviour which I engaged in all the time.

I also believed that all my problems were the fault of other people.  I blamed my wife, kids, family, friends, co-workers, corporations and governments all the time for the struggles in my life.  It was always their fault.  The strange thing about my life is that no matter where I moved, the jerks and ass holes were there too.  If anybody raised any concerns they had, I would immediately take it as a criticism and shut down the conversation.  I lacked the capacity to actually listen to what other people were talking about.

No matter who I talked to, I was right and they were always wrong.  My black and white thinking was absolute.  There was no room for the millions of shades of grey or the full spectrum of colors either.  Binary thinking was all I could do at the time.  This gave no room for negotiation.  

The most disturbing part of all of this violence was that I was completely unconscious about it all.  

The Defining Moment

So what prompted me to change?  When people started getting fed up with my behaviour they started setting boundaries and leaving.  They stopped walking on egg shells around me and spoke their truth.  These behaviours pissed me off greatly.  As more and more people left my life I ended up being alone, lonely, scared, hurting and going through depression and even attempting suicide.  I was addicted to pharmaceutical drugs, alcohol, sex, work or anything else that I could use to distract myself from the frustration and pain.  None of it worked.  

It took years, but I eventually got to the point where I lost everything in my life and I faced a choice:  Change or Die!  I surrendered!

For me, that was the defining moment of my life.  It is at that point that I made the conscious choice that I would do what ever it takes to turn my life around.  I went into a program with 40 other people where we worked for 8 hours a day, 5 days a week for 18 weeks.  Everything was on the table ... EVERYTHING.  

My tone of voice, body language, words, childhood, relationships, thoughts, feelings, trauma, abuse, violence, etc.  It was all brought out, evaluated and healed.  Confrontation was the name of the game and I was confronted on EVERYTHING.  I could no longer engage in my old ways and had to take responsibility for all my actions, behaviours and thoughts.  I could no longer blame other people for my problems.

The only reason this therapy worked now when all others failed before is because I surrendered and refused to walk away.  I really did want to learn and heal as I knew failure here meant certain death.  It was the most uncomfortable, scary, painful, heart wrenching, terrifying yet rewarding, enlightening and empowering experience in my life.  It gave me the tools and skills to remove all the masks that I put on as a result of the pain and violence in my life.  

I wore lots of masks, so many that I ended up being cut off from my feelings and depended on my intellect to get through life.  That coping mechanism nearly destroyed me.  

Post-2001


Christmas 2003

Now that I'm on this side of the experience, I can confidently say that if I had to go through that experience again, I would!  I learned so much about myself that it literally changed and saved my life.  I've been drug free for 17 years, rarely drink alcohol and kicked my addictions.  I've not been depressed or suicidal since!  

I still experience ups and downs, but I now have the skills to help me work through them all.  I've managed to not only heal my relationship with my wife and kids, but reconciled the relationships as well.  Carey and I have been very happy with one another for 16 years now as we celebrate knowing one another for 30 years.  

My boundaries are firm and resolute.  As I look back, what I need most from the people around me was firm and resolute boundaries.  When people walked on egg shells and surrendered or consented to my violent behaviours, it only fed my illness.  Those who stood up to me may have pissed me off the most, but they are the ones that triggered change within me and actually helped me the most.  

I went through therapy with a lady who was just like me.  She pissed me off to no end and I hated her.  By the time I was done therapy, I recognized that I learned the most from her as she was my mirror.  As a result, I had the highest regard and appreciation for her as she helped me 'see' the violence in my own behaviours.  When I said good bye, hers was the toughest.  My gratitude and appreciation for her far exceeded everyone else and I cried many tears out of gratitude and appreciation for what she did for me.  By learning how to empathize with others, heal my past and take off all the masks, I changed so drastically, that people still have a hard time believing it.

My message to the Empaths and narcissists of the world

Please know that the narcissists may not be consciously aware of what they are doing.  They are hurting, lost spiritual beings.  However, we cannot rescue or heal them, but we can help in the process.  Boundaries are so critical in our relationships, that I cannot express that enough.  Yes, it is extremely painful to be a witness to the healing journey that the narcissist has to go through.  It is dark, painful and down right ugly.  However, it is necessary in order for the narcissist to surrender and let go of their masks and behaviours in order to start healing.  

This is the principle behind tough love.  It is so tough to stand up to these bullies but tough love demands that we do.  Otherwise, we just feed into their narcissistic behaviours by playing the role of a victim.  The people that helped me most were the ones that walked the path of tough love.  It was the lady in my therapy group, the doctor in the emergency ward that refused to admit me into hospital, the loss of my family, home and possessions and the darkness of it all.  That is what it took for me.  That is the level of effort it takes for a narcissist to heal. It may seem monumental, but it is very doable and extremely rewarding. 

It was a damn ugly and painful journey, but I am forever grateful for the experience.  It saved my life and my spirit.  I pray others can heal without going through all that, but I refuse to put up with any of their shit during the attempt.  I pray their surrender comes long before the life and death choice.  

This is why I speak of the importance of boundaries so much.  This is why I take a zero tolerance to violence in my life.  There is a lot of broken people out there who all have some or all of these same characteristics.  We cannot fix them.  But by standing our ground with firm boundaries, integrity and a willingness to confront the behaviours peacefully, we can be a catalyst for change.  But it takes courage, strength, awareness and willingness to walk that path.  

I'm up for it as a reformed abuser and narcissist.  I hope this helps.  

Click here for more information on how to join The Virtue Circle
Click here to join us on Discord.  

Sort:  

I did not know that a narcissist could heal! Thanks for sharing your amazing story.
I have been doing a lot of investigating lately into narcissism, because Steemit seems to be a place that narcissists just CAN NOT handle! I've thought about writing a post about it because I have learned so much about these people lately, but I don't want to post a rant or appear to be shaming people.

However, it is CRAZY how narcissists have come out of the woodwork here on Steemit ever since I received a large delegation. At least now I can quickly and easily understand what is happening and quit wasting further energy or time on them.

The fact that money is earned on Steemit and that flags remove earnings, is just too much for the narcissists here to handle. As soon as someone that they think doesn't deserve the rewards as much as they do gets more, they become jealous, and flags completely throw them off the deep end.
My first bad experience here with a narcissist was after I received my delegation, and he asked me to vote for him, to which I explained why I could not vote for him, and to this day he calls me a Satanist because of it and writes posts about how horrible I am.

Drop me a link if you make any more posts about narcissism because this topic really intrigues me. It is such a sad state of being. And I am SO GLAD to hear that you somehow managed to escape it.

I'm sorry to hear of the attacks and violence against you. Yes, this platform brings out the 'best' in people eh. :(

The behaviours you describe is one of the reasons why I started The Virtue Circle. Boundaries are so critical and I take a zero tolerance to covert or overt violence. I've already confronted one individual who posted on my blog a few days ago. I've not heard from them yet and don't expect to either.

Jealousy is a big one as all these metrics used on the Steem blockchain feeds into their sense of self and they will use it to prove that they are better than others. It is their way of elevating themselves over everyone else. Your large delegation is, as you pointed out, could very well send them over the deep end.

The old me would most likely be caught up in that as well. However, the new me empathizes with the violence that you have endured and I offer my assistance should you have abusive people harassing you.

Despite the offer, it sounds like you are getting a grasp of how to deal with them. I mute them, do not engage them and on here, ignoring them works really well. As a reformed narcissist, I am open to answering questions you may have to help you with your research.

Please know that my life style, philosophy of life and all the work that I do to share my story is directly related to my recovery and healing in my life. That is why I am so passionate and dedicated to non-violence in all my relationships. My recovery kicked me in the teeth and I now work hard to ensure that I don't resort to that shit ever again.

That is also why I'm so vocal about it too. Now that I realized just how violent and abusive that I was, I will stand up against those who do the same. No matter where they are. I am hyper sensitive to covert violence because of my own history of it. I see it like a neon flashing sign in the dark. So obvious to me, so I confront and rebuke it in the hopes that the seeds that I plant grow into another changed spiritual being.

Thank you so much for the support and for your comments. I pray that this helps you and I am open to sharing more. All you need to do is ask. <3

Thank you for the personal revelation.....My story is similar with the path of addiction...booze was my choice....

The assorted ailment that you mentioned all go along with it since, ultimately, it all is a spiritual malady.

While I did not have the intensive session you had in terms of time and concentration, I believe we encountered many of the same things. Getting passed all that you mentioned is painful, difficult, and unforgiving. Persistence to the nth degree is the only way to succeed.

I cannot imagine going through it unless it was a matter of life or death.

I am glad to hear that you did not have to go that far to heal my friend. I know for me, I had to go that route to learn the lessons so that I can walk the path I'm walking now. I went as dark as one can go and came out alive, healthy and grateful for the experience. I pray others don't have to go as far as I did to turn their lives around. I am grateful to hear that you did it and that we are both on the other side walking the path. Bravo to you my friend. May your journey continue to be peaceful, prosperous and full of love and joy.

I didnt say I didnt go as far...mine wasnt in such a condensed version in terms of the work...I was spread out over a longer period of time.

But I was at the end point too...suicide was on my mind....not much lower to go than that.....

Yet out of that comes a powerful message. Hopefully others can learn from it yet the truth is that they all have their own path...and need all the pain they can garner to make the changes they can.

Please forgive me. I misunderstood what you said and did not want to diminish your accomplishment and healing in any way. My journey took over 20 years, but I finally did make it through. I'm glad to hear that you did as well. I know it is tough and I'm glad that you made it through my friend.

I am so pleased you found the strength to change your behaviour and you realised in time before you lost your wife and children. As I have told you before, I worry for my son as even though the majority of his actions are caused by his additional needs, I can see a similar behavior in him and I find it hard to deal with as I know he is alienating people, but he doesn't listen to reason. I try to react differently now to his aggression when it is aimed at me, changing the subject or diverting his attention to something humerous about the situation, sometimes it works, other times it doesn't. It is so hard to live with the atmosphere but I love him unconditionally. I just hope it is a blip and he gets through it soon. He is now on medication to help with his ADHD and he is able to process his thoughts more slowly, so perhaps this will help with his reactions.

I will continue to pray for you and your son. I don't know if he was damaged by vaccinations or what caused his ADHD or behaviours, but it is tough to deal with. Have you reached out to any support groups to help you and your son with strategies?

Yes, we are involved with a couple of organisations, but it is hard because he has different issues. Autism, ADHD, Tourettes OCD to name a few :( I don't know what caused these issues initially, I have thought it could have been down to vaccines or possily the traumatic birth (he was stuck in my pelvis after a 30 our labour), or perhaps even a combination of the two. There are so many variables and now he has the added pressure of hormones kicking in (he is 13). He is on a new medication which is certainly helping to slow his mind down and he is able to concentrate better, so perhaps this will help him to control his compulsions to destroy people verbally in a battle of intelligence (which exists only in his mind of course). I fear that he will be very lonely if he isn't able to overcome these issues as he never seems to be able to keep friends for very long.

:( Yes, if he cannot contain it, his life will be lonely. I did the same thing. I would use my intelligence to demean and belittle people and I was ruthless at it. Hyper competitive as a result. I'm glad to hear you have supports. I'm not sure how I can help in any way other than moral and spiritual support for you. <3

He has to do it himself I guess. Like you say in your blog, it has to come from the person themselves recognising their own behaviour. We will try to guide him the best we can. Thank you, I appreciate your kind words and suppport <3

There is a lot of broken people out there who all have some or all of these same characteristics. We cannot fix them. But by standing our ground with firm boundaries, integrity and a willingness to confront the behaviours peacefully, we can be a catalyst for change. But it takes courage, strength, awareness and willingness to walk that path.

And sometimes we have to realise that no matter how firm we stand in the boundaries, the abuser and narcissist won't (or can't) change.

Sometimes we have to just walk away and pray that they find healing. Sometimes they don't make it. Other times they do. It is a painful process to witness and experience!

Walking away is difficult, but it is the best thing that can happen for both the abuser and the enabler. I am walking. We will see how things progress. I always pray for healing. We all need it, and we are all abusers at some times. It is painful to realize that. That is when we learn to forgive ourselves, reach out with a sincere apology if it is appropriate, and move on.

Well said. My thoughts and prayers go out to both of you. I know that you know that! <3

Appreciate the post @wwf. This being human is the hardest thing I've ever done. Looks like it was the same for you. But I have to say the reason you were so pissed is because of the glasses you wore (2001)! You look much happier in the second pic! I recall that a few years earlier than you I went through a similar process. My wife at the time told me I should start a new "anonymous" program called "Fucked Up Anonymous". Kind of funny I was in a therapy group of recovering alcoholics and drug addicts but I was not addicted to either of those things...but I fit in just perfectly! Me? I'm still working on things, as I suspect you are, but seem to be making progress. More peace. More love. More laughter. I guess those are good signs. Blessings.

hahaha. Yes, those glasses would send anybody into depression eh! The second picture was after my recovery and I was much happier then. I'm glad to hear that you are working through your shit as well. "Fucked Up Anonymous" is a good term for what we went through eh!

Good signs indeed. <3

Glad that you made it! Thanks for the reminder to set firm boundaries. Just struggling with my son's behavior. It is exactly what I have to do instead of overreacting emotionally. From such confrontations we probably learn the most.

I'm glad I made it too. :) You are welcome. I hope this helps with your relationship with your son.

Thank-you thank-you for sharing this. This would make an amazing he said/she said ;)

:) I'll have to look through the ones we wrote to find out if we covered this topic already. I'm glad you found this post valuable. <3

I am very moved by this story. Thank you for giving this gift to the world. It should bring great hope for those who are in a relationship with a narcissist and for those who live as the narcissist. I am sure many people will be helped by your speaking about this. Much love.

Thank you my friend. <3 I pray it helps.

Yesterday, I wrote an article on how to increase our happiness through three simple steps. Here's a very short summary:

  1. Forgiveness (including self-forgiveness) to release our negativity
  2. Gratefulness for the beauty around us to fill ourselves with positivity
  3. Gathering courage to make positive changes in our lives

You've gone through a fantastic example of #3 on that group therapy!

I suspect you did not 'mean' that last sentence in the way it was written. Care to edit it? It comes across as insulting. It is out of character for you to say such things, so I offer you an opportunity to fix it if your intent was in fact different.

The etymology of the word 'desperation' is 'to lose all hope'. Suicide would be an act of desperation. Healing takes 100% courage.

I'm sorry for the wrong wording, by no means I wanted to insult you. I've deleted the last sentence from the comment above and I'll rewrite my thoughts below.

Sometimes we need to come to a position in which we choose between losing everything or making drastic changes in order to realize that we really need to change. Your old behavior was in a desperate position - it was no longer sustainable, it was hopeless, it had to die, and the only question was: will you, as a person, die with it. You, as a person, were most definitely very brave in that moment - you choose to strive to create a new, better behavior over suicide, which is a harder path to go (you've gone through a fantastic example of #3 - gathering courage to make positive changes in your life).

I forgive you. Thank you for rewording your thoughts. That fits closer to what I know of you and your work. <3

Congratulation to you!! Well done in your personal journey!!
I had a friend who is a narcissist. Anytime anyone disagrees with him, he considers it a betrayal. He burned every bridge with every friend he had, until I was the last. And then the inevitable happened, and he is now my former friend. I don't see much hope for him. Too bad.

Thank you. It is sad to hear and equally difficult to witness. I lost a lot of friends through the process as well. No shortage of friends now. :) I pray that he finds the courage to hear what others are saying. It is really tough to let go of all those masks and protections. For me it took a life and death crisis to break free of it all. I pray it does not end up being the same for him. <3 Thank you for sharing that. Painful to witness as the feeling of hopelessness or powerlessness is evident as there is nothing we can do to save or help them until they surrender and chose to heal.

I'm gonna follow you. If you write any more on this please let me know. Thanks!
I wish I could help him, but it is beyond me. Nothing I can do or say helps, in fact it makes him despise me. So instead of receiving the threats, I'd rather leave.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65725.20
ETH 3370.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63