You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Healing the Narcissist

in #ungrip6 years ago

I am so pleased you found the strength to change your behaviour and you realised in time before you lost your wife and children. As I have told you before, I worry for my son as even though the majority of his actions are caused by his additional needs, I can see a similar behavior in him and I find it hard to deal with as I know he is alienating people, but he doesn't listen to reason. I try to react differently now to his aggression when it is aimed at me, changing the subject or diverting his attention to something humerous about the situation, sometimes it works, other times it doesn't. It is so hard to live with the atmosphere but I love him unconditionally. I just hope it is a blip and he gets through it soon. He is now on medication to help with his ADHD and he is able to process his thoughts more slowly, so perhaps this will help with his reactions.

Sort:  

I will continue to pray for you and your son. I don't know if he was damaged by vaccinations or what caused his ADHD or behaviours, but it is tough to deal with. Have you reached out to any support groups to help you and your son with strategies?

Yes, we are involved with a couple of organisations, but it is hard because he has different issues. Autism, ADHD, Tourettes OCD to name a few :( I don't know what caused these issues initially, I have thought it could have been down to vaccines or possily the traumatic birth (he was stuck in my pelvis after a 30 our labour), or perhaps even a combination of the two. There are so many variables and now he has the added pressure of hormones kicking in (he is 13). He is on a new medication which is certainly helping to slow his mind down and he is able to concentrate better, so perhaps this will help him to control his compulsions to destroy people verbally in a battle of intelligence (which exists only in his mind of course). I fear that he will be very lonely if he isn't able to overcome these issues as he never seems to be able to keep friends for very long.

:( Yes, if he cannot contain it, his life will be lonely. I did the same thing. I would use my intelligence to demean and belittle people and I was ruthless at it. Hyper competitive as a result. I'm glad to hear you have supports. I'm not sure how I can help in any way other than moral and spiritual support for you. <3

He has to do it himself I guess. Like you say in your blog, it has to come from the person themselves recognising their own behaviour. We will try to guide him the best we can. Thank you, I appreciate your kind words and suppport <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59207.00
ETH 2507.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53