You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Healing the Narcissist

in #ungrip6 years ago (edited)

Yesterday, I wrote an article on how to increase our happiness through three simple steps. Here's a very short summary:

  1. Forgiveness (including self-forgiveness) to release our negativity
  2. Gratefulness for the beauty around us to fill ourselves with positivity
  3. Gathering courage to make positive changes in our lives

You've gone through a fantastic example of #3 on that group therapy!

Sort:  

I suspect you did not 'mean' that last sentence in the way it was written. Care to edit it? It comes across as insulting. It is out of character for you to say such things, so I offer you an opportunity to fix it if your intent was in fact different.

The etymology of the word 'desperation' is 'to lose all hope'. Suicide would be an act of desperation. Healing takes 100% courage.

I'm sorry for the wrong wording, by no means I wanted to insult you. I've deleted the last sentence from the comment above and I'll rewrite my thoughts below.

Sometimes we need to come to a position in which we choose between losing everything or making drastic changes in order to realize that we really need to change. Your old behavior was in a desperate position - it was no longer sustainable, it was hopeless, it had to die, and the only question was: will you, as a person, die with it. You, as a person, were most definitely very brave in that moment - you choose to strive to create a new, better behavior over suicide, which is a harder path to go (you've gone through a fantastic example of #3 - gathering courage to make positive changes in your life).

I forgive you. Thank you for rewording your thoughts. That fits closer to what I know of you and your work. <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59996.99
ETH 2531.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48