Colourful Summer Rolls w/Sweet Chili Sauce - Food Photography

in #undefined6 years ago

I feel a theme coming to my blog, summer recipes! Then again, I eat a raw vegan diet so all of my recipes could be considered “summer” themed, eh?

I’m seriously loving eating a raw vegan diet, and it works for my especially at this point in my life as I am trying to lose a very significant amount of weight so by eating this way I can get incredible amounts of nutrients, yet still keep my caloric deficit. It’s pretty awesome all around! This doesn’t stop me from eating something cooked (but still vegan) every once in awhile though.

I feel my absolute best when I consume only raw fruits & veggies with some nuts & seeds, combine that with sun bathing & daily yoga and exercise and I’m on cloud nine, but sometimes I do enjoy something that has been cooked. Whether that be some steamed veggies (broccoli or cauliflower hits the spot for me!) or some olives in my salad, or in this case - some sweet chili sauce! This sauce is not raw, however I could come up with my own raw version of it probably very easily.

If you are strictly trying to stay raw always, you could replace this sauce with an almond butter sauce by combining almond butter with some lime juice, coconut aminos, grated ginger, finely minced garlic and some water to help thin it out. This is a raw sauce, and it is absolutely delicious with these summer rolls!

As of lately, I have come down with something really interesting. It’s a mix of tonsillitis, strep throat & tonsil stones. I will not describe what they are as some people find it really gross, and this is a recipe post!! But because of this issue I had decided to juice fast & rest a lot over the last couple days due to a really sore throat and some sinus congestion and difficulty swallowing! I have done so, and today is the end of day 2, and I can say my throat is SO much better and I’m feeling a lot better over all! I am having fresh jackfruit for dinner tonight with my husband! This summer rolls recipe was from a few nights ago. I hope you guys enjoy this recipe and let me know what you think! 💚😊

Colourful Summer Rolls w/ Sweet Chili Sauce

Ingredients:

For the Rolls:

Rice Paper

Red Cabbage

Red Pepper

Tomato

Avocado

Fresh Basil Leaves

For the Sweet Chili Sauce:

I like to use this recipe, but it’s not technically raw, so you can use a peanut sauce and it would be just as delicious!

Instructions:

1. Place rice paper in water evenly for 10 seconds, remove and place flat on cutting board or surface that you are using

2. Place desires veggies on the rice paper close to the side that’s closest to you

3. To close the wrap, fold the rice paper edge closest to you over the veggies like you would with a sushi roll, and then hold while you tuck in each left & right side. Continue to roll very tightly and that’s it! The other end will stick to the roll easily you won’t need to do anything to make it stick.

4. Serve with dipping sauce of choice

5. ENJOY!

If you haven’t yet, check out my other delicious raw vegan recipes below!

1) Raw Vegan + Oil Free Mini Lemon Tart

2) Raw Vegan Vanilla Lime Cheesecake

3) Raw Vegan Chocolate Caramel Pecan Brownies

4) Raw Vegan Chewy Twix Bars

5) Raw Vegan Deep Dish Pizza

All photography is mine, taken with my iPhone 7+ and edited by me! For more info about me, check out my intro post!

Sort:  

Yummie! ☺️

These look so colourful and fresh! Nice job 😃

It's lovely to hear that you've found out what works the best for you! Raw vegan or not, I bet these summer rolls are delicious! 😋

Yummy I looove summer rolls! Thanks for inspiring me to make some this week ♥ I included your recipe to my favourite 5 of the week here: https://steemit.com/food/@isshappy/iss-happy-s-5-favorite-vegan-steemit-recipes-of-the-week-12 :) Wish you a great week!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67334.64
ETH 3519.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.10