Spirit of the Indigenous 'Lenape' (1623 AD) Named "Blue Cloud"

Being a descendant of the Canarsee Tribe of the Lenape people in the area of what now is called Manhattan, N.Y.C., I have had the privilege of hearing some old, indigenous, tales passed down by my Elders of yesteryear.

One of the most intriguing stories passed down to me as a child by my great- grandfather (Henry ‘Long Bow’ Jhanson) was that of a “man from the future”.

His ancestor’s spoke of a man who appeared one day in their village, within a swirling ring of sparkling dust and a bluish cloud. It occurred sometime in the early 1600’s before my people allowed the newly arrived ‘White Men’ a portion of land to settle, unimpeded, and across the waters on an Island now named Roosevelt Island.

This land was the actual stretch of earth that was bartered for by Dutch Settlers in the year of 1624…’not’ Manhattan Island, which modern day history books incorrectly record. Also, the Native Indians at the time, did not trade the Island for $24.00 worth of beads as payment…they ‘gifted’ the land to Peter Minuit, along with a gift of beaded necklaces for good luck. They asked ‘nothing’ of the White Men at the time.

My great-grandfather had been told of a “spirit-man” sent by the God’s to forewarn our people of impending disaster should we remain too trusting of ‘all’ newly arriving people from other lands.

During a festive dance of praise to the God of the Sky, the figure of a white man with “eyes like their own” (Asian-like) suddenly appeared, right in the middle of their ‘Pow Wow’ dance circle. The strong, young man went from spirit-like in appearance to solid flesh, as the bright swirling dust cloud surrounding him, slowly vanished.

He told me that once the blue cloud dissipated, the young, spirit man was standing there as wide eyed as they, like a Whitetail in the forest who had just heard the snapping of a twig under the foot of a hunter.

The man was dressed in coverings unlike their own, with a head piece more like that of the white men. In his hands, was a bright glowing object which they would be able to see the future within.

My great-grandfather said that he had once seen three articles of clothing the spirit wore, which had been saved and preserved by the Lenape people in a secured, secret place. The pants were just like denim jeans; a shirt that resembled a tee-shirt and a brown Fedora type hat…

The shirt had a message printed on it, like a sign, which read “Alice in Chains”…He told me of this when I was just a boy in the mid-fifties…long before 1987 when a rock band by that name was formed. I was shocked to hear of this band so many years later, but the event made me smile; it gave further proof to me that my ancestors really did not just fabricate the story.

Another telling sign that it was not just Indian lore, is that my great-grandfather also told me that the “Spirit-Man’ had sneakers on his feet with the letters N-I-K-E…There wasn’t a Nike brand sneaker when I was a boy.

Great-grandfather had trouble describing to me the glowing object in the spirit-man’s hands which showed pictures of the future, but I’m convinced these days, that it was a sort of Lap-Top computer…Also, the device was solar powered, because my ancestors said that the spirit-man needed to put the device out in the sun for awhile, before it would start to glow.

The spirit-man would just “talk” to the device, and it would talk back to him and show “dream-like” images of people, things and places that spirit-man said was the world where he came from.

He showed them flying machines (planes) machines with wheels that would go very fast down strange trails, without kicking up any dust (cars, trucks etc.) They saw the tall buildings that were yet to come, and sometimes fall in a fiery mass after flying machines went into them (World Trade Center?)

   

My great-grandfather told of many things the spirit-man showed our people way back in the early 1600’s…My ancestors didn’t like much of what they had seen in the glowing oracle from the future. According to my great-grandfather, our people were most troubled by images of war. They cried for those who would die horrible deaths from bombs and bullets; and ‘all’ because of hate greed, envy and evil feelings of every description.

The spirit-man cried along with them…they wept and chanted holding onto each other. As they swayed in unison to drum beats and deep toned flutes, the animals of the forest began to appear from the bush. They assembled peacefully along the clearing, joining in chant with my people…

It was nothing that had been seen before…deer, wolves, cougars, bear, rabbits and every woodland beast assembling in peace and harmony. Every specie of featured, winged creature rose to the sky, flying low above them, sounding out their call in song. A chorus of insects could be heard joining in…

The birds began to circle in a flying, dancing swarm above, steadily growing higher and faster, becoming nothing but a blur to the eye. Spirit-man rose to his feet in praise of the sight…Just as he had appeared to my indigenous ancestors in a swirling blue cloud, of sparkling dust…spirit-man vanished as quickly as he had arrived...

Though his spirit was gone in that moment, there on the ground lay what he had been wearing, along with the blue, glowing object he came with; but it never, ever glowed again after that.

My people gathered up spirit-man’s possessions with hope that one day he would return for them; but, he never did…

___________________________________________

A work of fiction, from a prompt by @mctiller (Twenty Four Hour Short Story)

Authored by @AngryMan Oct. 3, 2018 on Steemit.com


Sort:  

Hi angryman,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you for acknowledging and helping to support my work, once again.

Wow so they placed an order you sell the land at $24 worth of beads?wow
That was really huge that year I must say .

Posted using Partiko Android

'Supposedly' $24. worth of beads at the time...

You had me at the edge of my seat up until Alice In Chains. Well played Janton. Well played.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you for taking the time to read and comment @themadgoat ... Much appreciated.

The beginning of the story attracted by attention. You have wrote the story as if you was telling your real life story to us. This was my first time read a red Indian story and their spiritual power. Normally, i only watched in movie and now i read it as a short story. The pictures complemented the story well. This really a new story line after I read few short story which voted by curie, and you have covered it well. All the best in your contest. Hope to read more of your outstanding story @angryman.

Thank you for the compliments and positive critique. I'm happy that you enjoyed reading what I wrote.

You know i really thought it all happened until the last line. I saw a bit of the personal touch but overall, it was a well crafted story.

Did you really meet your greatgrandfather? I never meet mine. Both my grandfathers died when i was really young.

No Cheekah, I never met my great-grandfathers that I 'know' of...perhaps we crossed paths in life not knowing who each other was if they were still alive, or maybe in spirit form?

I only met 'one' grandfather when he was in his 90's and on his way off to that "other place" I had to travel by plane to see him.

Lol...you are really funny.

You tricked me into believing that it was your own story :) I was so excited to hear about the stories from the native Americans. You are an amazing story teller. I must admit I was a little bit disappointed to read that it was a fiction. Not that it doesn't sound like one as it does, but this is what I wanted to ask about. I had so many questions ready for you, lol. You should write a book! I would definitely be your reader! :)

Thank you for sharing! And congratulations on the curie vote!

Oh...thank you so much @delishtreats . Most of my writing here on steemit, is autobiographical in nature. Having stumbled across the 'tewntyfourhourshortstory' challenge with a prompt that sparked a story in my head, I went with it...

Actually, I kind of felt 'connected' to what I was writing about; as if there was 'truth' in it. Perhaps the Lenape/Carnarsee played some part in my past-life experience...???

That was really exciting story, I love such stories when the elderly telling what they been told from their parents and grand-parents. I do believe in them and like you in my family we also have had such unbelievable stories.

I love the idea of time travel and it is so scary and exciting at the same time to know that some of those things that been told in past really happening. That makes my hair to stand on their end.

You style of writing is easy to read, detailed but not overwhelming, wonderful pictures, really enjoyed it :)

Thank you @stef1 for your input. I too have an interest in 'time travel' as well as past life regression, alternate universes...etc.

I'm happy that my writing style made for an easy, comfortable read, while maintaining your interest.

I almost thought that this is a true story. I was like "wow, you need to tell me more, this is too good to be true, is the man's thing still somewhere around😃". Turned out it is fiction but it is still an amazing story, really. I loved it....

Thanks for reading and commenting @audreybits . Actually, I've considered writing a kind of epilogue in answer to that question you asked.

Oh really? You should.... When will you be writing it?

I should be writing it soon...Meanwhile, I posted another 'true' story this time. Thanks for responding.

A true story? Oh wow! Lemme head over and read it, i am sure it will be a thrilling one.

Cleverly done! Do you know much history from that era? It certainly seems like you do. I like the way you did the story passed down through tribal memory. It's amazing how history can be so well kept in that way. I recently heard an aboriginal talking about a story their tribe passes on in dance form and it describes an event about 10,000 years ago of the seas rising and coming inland, which scientists now know to be accurate.

My knowledge of history from that era is limited in scope, but sometimes when I am writing, I feel as if I've been mystically transported to the period I'm writing about...It feels like a memory.

Dance and song 'was' a common way for indigenous people to pass along their history to the young ones...and remains a method in some cultures.

Thank you for reading and commenting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55258.26
ETH 2459.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.19