How You Can Grow a New Account Radically Fast on Steemit Using Contests Right From the Beginning

in #tutorial6 years ago (edited)

If you'd like to grow your account, try giving something away!

Hi, you've arrived at tip #4 for today, see the intro here! Links to other tips at the bottom!###

NEW ACCOUNT GROWTH TIP # 4

Using Contests Right From the Beginning!

I know this sounds counter-intuitive, but Mark, why would I want to give anything away? I'm trying to make money!

Well, first, let me show you what happens when you do.

Here's the first promotion I did on @dolphin school

Without any further promotion,to an audience of less than 50 followers at the time, it got 72 views, 14 comments, 28 votes and, $2.29 in potential payout.

I know that doesn't sound like much, but at the current steem price, the average post is worth about 75cents, so it's doing okay!

That, was without offering ANY real prizes.

SO, here's a super secret way to offer a cash SBD prize, without having ANY money, ready?

Get the chrome browser. Add the SteemPlus add on for steemit. Use the "Add beneficiaries" feature at the bottom of a post to split the revenue as many ways as you want!

So, basically, you can offer half of your profits to a winner! You simply set up a two part promotion, the way I've done here on @markrmorrisjr.

Here's what I did.

  1. I said I would write a brand new story from a prompt, chosen by a reader.
  2. Then, I offered up five photos for them to vote on.
  3. I chose one voter to be the winner.
  4. This afternoon, I'll write the story and put it up, splitting the profit between myself and 25% to that winner.

It got 35 upvotes and 65 comments. Not much in payout, but the activity is huge!

So, figure out what you've got to offer, whether you want to try a split, or offer something else. Can you design graphics? Give one away! Whatever you've got that you know you can deliver on, can be an incentive for a contest.

#

INTRO

#

TIP 1

#

TIP 2

#

TIP 3

#

TIP 4

#

TIP 5

Sort:  

This is a good idea. I'd like to encourage story illustrating. I'm thinking of running a science fiction story and illustration contest with full payout to contributers right after one of my posts is again trending. It's a really good idea. In that case, do you want to help judge entries?

I absolutely would love to! And I'll help promote it! I've got two accounts, and two others that will post whatever I ask. It's not a huge audience yet, but they seem to like contests.

Great! I'll send you a comment when I make a contest. I also have an "invisible discussion channel" on my blog, for random organizational talk. (When not using Discord.)

How does that work?

It's just a post with only one nonsense tag. Try making a post with a tag, say, #inkpen3579. If you now make a post with only that tag, you can't even find the post in trending in that tag, let alone anywhere else. If upvoted for some reason, even then it'll show up in trending only for that tag, — which means it won't show up for 99% of the users of Steemit. — So content like fiction, or contests, can be discussed there without really spoiling anything for anybody. My magic tag was #pencil12345.

That's genius! You should share that tip on my show me your tips post a few days back.

I'm going to make that contest we talked about. I'll draw an illustration, and the contest would for the best 2000+ words story using it as the prompt, and give full SBD payout to winners: 50% to first place, 30% to second place, 20% to third place.

One of my posts is trending again, and you have a trending post again, so now's a good time I suppose.

Do you still have time to help judge once the post pays out next week? If yes, I'll link you on top as a judge in the post, and next week we can discuss entries in the "invisible" thread, or on Discord.

If I get the illustration done, the contest will be up today by the end of the day.

Yes, I'd be honored to.

Great. I'll design the contest prompt today and post today or tomorrow.

I was traveling longer than expected and didn't get the contest prompt illustration done in time. I've made a few illustrations that could function as prompts for the future.

Participating in a few more discord groups. I'll post the contest as soon as trending again this week. (The post will include @markrmorrisjr, therefore you will see it.)

loved your story, by the way. Very interesting writing style. I almost split the prize between you and @custone.

This is an AWESOME post. I’ve been thinking a lot about running a contest and this gave me the push I needed to finally put one together (and help to pay it all forward to other folks with a little SBD reward for participation). Upvoted this and appreciate the mentorship as always. :) Here is my contest!

I'm glad you're doing this! How is it going? I stopped by earl on.

So far so good! I think there are around 300 views and maybe 10ish submissions right now? See you around and thanks for checking in. :)

Wow, what an awesome idea! I'll have to look into it once I get the hang of it. Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60147.86
ETH 2985.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83