THE BECHDEL CON(TEST): does your favorite film pass? 3SBD on the line!

in #feminism6 years ago (edited)

Calling all film buffs and feminists! I have a contest for you that will pay 1SBD to the 3 top entries. (Or more! If this post goes viral I’ll share the love.)


Image by Girl Starter


The Bechdel Test examines whether women in films are portrayed as three-dimensional human beings with a range of lived experience and interests that do not revolve around men. The primary criteria for a film to pass the test are:

(1) it has to have at least two women in it

(2) who talk to each other

(3) about something besides a man.


Image by Girl Starter


The test was popularized by Alison Bechdel's comic Dykes to Watch Out For, in a 1985 strip called The Rule. For a nice video introduction to the subject please check out The Bechdel Test for Women in Movies on feministfrequency.com.


If you want to know more, check out www.bechdeltest.com and see what they have to say!


Image by Girl Starter


Now the rules of the contest!

Write a post about your favorite film that passes The Bechdel Test. Your post should:


  1. Feature a high-quality film that you actually love. This is subjective, but please don’t randomly select a movie. Choose something with merit and quality.
  2. Feature a film that has at least one strong, female lead!
  3. Tell us why you love this film!
  4. Tell us why you believe this film passes The Bechdel Test.
  5. Show us a glimpse of the movie, either through images or video.
  6. Feature the tag #bechdelcontest (doesn’t have to be primary tag!)

Once it’s done, please submit your post by leaving the link here in the comments! This is the only way I will accept submissions. :) Cutoff for submissions is Thur, Feb 22.


Image by Girl Starter


The top 3 authors will each receive 1SBD (or more, depending on the success of this post!) and be featured in a “contest roundup” post on my page next Friday.

I will also comment and upvote on every qualifying submission. Good luck, I can’t wait to watch some new movies!


Image by Girl Starter


break.jpg


Hi friend! Thanks for stopping by, I’m really glad you’re here!

I’m an artist, writer, and creative consultant based in the Pacific Northwest. I see steemit as an incredible asset to artists and creatives as a way to share their work and connect with like-minded people. You can check out my intro post, read more about the theatre projects I work on, or follow me! I’m especially interested in finding other performing artists on this site. If that’s you, please say hello! See you around the steemosphere! @lilyraabe


SS-pansies-EN.jpg




Sort:  

This is an awesome idea for a contest! I may just have to participate :) I'd have to think on what movie I would talk about. As a single parent with a daughter, I'm all about strong female roles in film, so this will be interesting to visit and get suggestions for other exceptional films! Great idea and post @lilyraabe

Thank you! I’m excited to see who submits (I totally hope you do!). I love that you’re raising a strong young woman over there--she’s lucky to have a Dad who makes sure she sees strong women represented!

Yessss. I love that choice, unexpected and also awesome. :) Can’t wait to go read it.

Thank you for submitting, looking forward to going and reading this! :)

love this, great idea!! i'm going to start thinking about whether I can even come up with a movie like this! pathetic that something doesn't come immediately to mind.

Yay! Thank you for stopping by and checking it out. Would love to have you submit something! Looking forward to seeing what you think of. :)

Oh, I’m so happy you submitted something. I cannot wait to go see what you have in store for me. :)

Love this contest! I'm going to think long about this and figure out which of my favorite movies I should write about.

Thank you for checking it out and I can’t wait to see what you submit! <3

I have taken the challenge and posted about a film that passes EASILY, Drew Barrymore's Whip It. https://steemit.com/feminism/@didic/bechdel-wallace-test-contest-whip-it

Ah! I’m so excited that you participated, I’m heading over there now to check it out! Thank you so much for adding to the challenge. :)

Awesome post--love the fantasy/sci-fi genre as a place to introduce strong female characters in roles that defy our expectations (and conditioning!). Thanks for sharing. :)

Wishing this was submitted on steemit since I wanted to comment and vote!!

This is on steemit.

it is? ok I guess I'm confused because it opens in busy.org and I have to have an acct to participate there.

Ok I see that it is a different interface that also uses steem, but isn't the same thing.

I like to compose there because it's easier, but I didn't realize it made it difficult to open my posts. Were you able to open it?

I wasn't able to open your post. I would have to create an account on busy.org to do so which someday I may do.

Ok actually I take that back. In the comments here you linked your post. I wasn't able to open that one. BUT when I just went to your blog, I can open everything there while on steemit!! very interesting....

Hi. I'm posting an entry to your contest. https://steemit.com/bechdelcontest/@agmoore/snowpiercer-a-rave-review I'm new here, so perhaps am not observing conventions properly. I'm trying, and appreciate the opportunity this contest offers. Whether or not I win, I hope you like the review.

Awesome, thank you so much for submitting your post! :) I just went and checked it out, nice one!!!

A bit last-minute, but I did look through my movie diary and just wanted to share this one: https://steemit.com/contest/@soyrosa/bechdel-test-contest-brimstone :-) Enjoy!

Left a longer comment on the blog, but this is a beautiful post and I am SO HONORED you chose to write up a contest blog this time around!! <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63373.75
ETH 3170.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88