YourMatesWorld#3 Surfcamp in Denpasar!

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

ENGLISH BELOW (for real)

Denpasar!

Welcome to paradise! ☺
Aber wo ist mein Fahrer? Erstmal unzähligen Taxlern dodgen – an der Stelle könnte ich allerdings schon mal nach dem Preis fragen. „How much to Seminyak Green Room?“ „300.000“. Also, für 30 Minuten: ca. 20 €. Nein, das klingt nicht richtig. Anderer Typ: „250.000“. Nein, kann nicht sein. Ich lass den Fahrer ausrufen: nix. Ich ruf beim Hostel an: „Oh, I call your driver. Wait at arrivals.“ 3 Minuten später ist er da; seine Notdurft hatte ihn vor mir verborgen.
Er kommt mit einer Surfboard-spitze, auf der mein Name steht. Freundliche Begrüßung, Handschlag, „let’s go.“ Wir tauchen in den Verkehr ein, der Kulturschock kitzelt sich durch meine Adern, mir geht das Herz auf. Sowie ich mich gefasst habe, erkundige ich mich: „How much is a Taxi from the airport to the hostel?“ „180.000 man. For tourist. Or max 150.000 for bali people.“ Alright, ich seh schon, wie das hier läuft. Handeln.

IMG_20171108_104201.jpg

Welcome to paradise! ☺
But heck, where is my driver? Dodging all those drivers I figure it’d be a good time to check prices. „How much to Seminyak Green Room?“ „300.000“. So, 30 minutes: ca. 20 €. Doesn’t sound right to me. Other guy: „250.000“. Nah, can’t be. I ask for my driver – nothing – I call the hostel. „Oh, I call your driver. Wait at arrivals.“ 3 minutes later he’s here. He had to leave for nature’s call. All good, mate.
He come’s over with a surfboard nose which has my name written on it. Friendly greeting, handshake, „let’s go“. We hit the road, the culture shock tingles my veins. As I catch my thoughts again, I ask the driver „How much is a Taxi from the airport to the hostel?“ „180.000 man. For tourist. Or max 150.000 for bali people.“ Alright. Negotiation times, I see.

Green Room Seminyak - Kima Surfcamp

IMG_20171108_124523.jpg

Now hang loose! Das ist jetzt also das Paradies. Ja, holy guacamole!
Wo bin ich hier gelandet? Georg, da hast gut gebucht! Georg? Ein Freund meinerseits, der auch gerade auf Reisen ist. Hab mich dann spontan entschieden, ihn zu besuchen:

Now hang loose! Woah, that’s paradise. Holy guacamole! Love it.
Where did I end up here? Georg, that’s some good choice for a surfcamp. Georg? Oh, that’s a friend of mine who is travelling as well. It actually was more of a spontaneous idea to meet him here:

Bildschirmfoto 2017-11-13 um 20.37.09.png

Ich werde nett empfangen, kann aber kaum schauen vor lauter müde. „You want to go surfing afternoon?“ „Oh, no thanks. I’m dying. I need sleep.“ „Oh, then only introduction now. You take a rest by the pool maybe.“
Von der Seite kommt Georg „Hey Pete, hast es echt geschafft!“ „Yaman. Erstmal einchecken und dringend ne runde schlafen.“ „Kannst dich nachher eh an den Pool hauen. Ich sitz da gerade an der Poolbar.“ Perfekt.
Bei der introduction führt mich ein surfing guide herum, der sich mit dem Englisch doch schwer tut. Er ist aber äußerst nett und bemüht. Am Ende bin ich nicht sicher, ob ich alles verstanden hab. Egal – ich komm’ schon klar. Noch fürs Surfen am Morgen eingetragen. Passt.

I’m welcomed warmly by lovely ladies at the front desk. I don’t look to lovely at that time and can barely keep my eyes open. „You want to go surfing afternoon?“ „Oh, no thanks. I’m dying. I need sleep.“ „Oh, then only introduction now. You take a rest by the pool maybe.“
Suddenly my buddy shows up „Hey Pete, you really made it!“ „Yaman. I need to check in have a rest really bad.“ „That’s cool. You can relax at the pool. I’m hanging at the poolbar. Just hit me up.“ Perfect.
During the introduction I’m having a hard time, not because of my constitution but because of the guides english. But he’s really nice and helpful. In the end I’m not sure if I got everything. Doesn’t matter – it will work out.

Nur eines hat sich mir nicht gleich so recht erschlossen, ja direkt verwirrt:
There’s just one thing in this camp I don’t entirely understand and which also leaves me confused:

IMG_20171108_184731.jpg

Was geht nun klar? Darf ich überhaupt Klopapier verwenden? Und was ist mit dem einen WC im Zimmer, das kein WD hat? Was ist der Sinn des Lebens? Fragen über Fragen.
Now...What’s OK to do? May I use TP? And what’s with the toilet in my room which doesn’t have a WD? What’s the meaning of life? Questions...

Zurück am Empfang „Your room is ready in a few hours.“ Ok, poolbar, here I come.“ Gleich ein lokales Bier kosten und ankommen. „Was trinkt man hier?“ „Bintang. Ist gut.“ „Two Bintang please.“

Back at the reception „Your room is ready in a few hours.“ Ok, poolbar, here I come.“ Let’s have some local beer then and finally chill. „What does one drink here?“ „Bintang. It’s good.“ „Two Bintang please.“

photo5771821496589724407.jpg
Georg (re.) und der müde boy himself nach ca. 40 Stunden Anreise.
Georg (right) and insanely tired me after about 40 hours of travel.
IMG_20171108_131614.jpg
Die Tipis sind auch Schlafstätten der Kima. The tipi tents are hostel rooms as well.
Bintang = Stern / Star (indonesian)

Mit dem Ankommen meldet sich auch der Schlaf. Ich leg mich auf ne Bank neben dem Pool und bin instant für 7 Stunden weg. „Boah. Georg, wie lange hab ich geschlafen?“ „Ne halbe Stunde.“ „F_CK.“ Also doch nix mit 7 Stunden.

After some chilling my body asks for sleep. I lay down besides the pool and instantly pass away for the next 7 hours. „Woah. Georg, how long was I out?“ „About half an hour.“ „F_CK.“ Soooo, no 7 hours of sleep then.

Mama, ich hab neue Freunde gefunden
Mom, I found new friends

Georg kennt natürlich hier schon eine ganze Truppe und wie soll es auch anders sein: alle sind gut drauf, entspannt, sympathisch & sportlich. Uh, des passt. Neben dem Staff werde ich somit auch von den Gästen herzlich empfangen. Alles Deutsche, Schweizer und Österreicher. Well. Englisch kann ich ja auch woanders sprechen.
Kurz nachdem ich meinen Krempel ins Zimmer gebracht habe, fragt mich jemand, ob ich zum Essen mitgehe. Na, klar mach ich das. 8 Leute watscheln los. Nun gleich traditionelle Indonesische Küche:

Georg already knows quite some people here and how should it be any different: everyone’s in a good mood, relaxed, sympathetic & sporty. Yeah, that’s cool. Besides the friendly staff even the guests complete this friendly picture.Pretty much all oft hem are swiss, german or austrian. Well. That’s it with english for now. I can speak it somewhere else, I guess.
Right after I checked into my room, I’m asked if I want to go out and eat. Sounds good. 8 people get moving. I’m ready for some traditional indonesian food:

IMG_20171108_194335.jpg

Let’s have a drink at the poolbar

Um eines vorweg zu nehmen: Das klappt nicht. 1 Drink und Poolbar ist eine ausgeschlossene Kombination. Eher mehr so einige Drinks und Poolbar schon eher. Da sitzt man nämlich echt super gemütlich.

One thing beforehand: You do not drink 1 drink at the pool bar. That’s pretty close to impossible. It’s more like a couple of drinks at the pool bar. It’s super cozy there, I tell you.

IMG_20171110_171148.jpg
IMG_20171108_205409.jpg

Na, gut. Eines noch und dann ab ins Bett. Ist schließlich schon spät. Außerdem hab ich bis jetzt kaum geschlafen. Vielleicht in Summe 4 Stunden Schlaf/Dösen.

Well. One more and I go to bed. It’s pretty late already. Plus I basically have no sleep. Maybe like 4 hours of resting/sleeping in total.

Hoppala!


IMG_20171109_052314.jpg

Am Weg zu meinem Zimmer sehe ich den Sonnenaufgang. Warte mal. Wie spät? 05:07 Uhr. F_ck. Bis ich zum Schlafen komme, ist es ca. 05:40. Tagwache um 08:30. Naaaaaaaa, gut.

On the way to my room I see the sun rise. Wait. What’s the time? 05:07 am. F_ck. Till I close my eyes it’s about 05:40. Turn out at 08:30. Dis’ gon’ be fun.

Hoffe, du hattest Spaß beim Lesen! Bin immer offen für konstruktive Kritik. ☺

Hope you had a good read! Always happy about feedback.
Yeah, ikr. It's long. But I like it this way.

More pictures on instagram: https://www.instagram.com/yourmateyo
You find every other blog post in chronological order right here: https://steemit.com/travel/@yourmate/organizer

All the best,
yourmate

PS: I will do google translate either for german or english in the future. I guess I’ll write english and then have it google translated to german. Otherwise it just consumes way too much of my lifetime.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58613.96
ETH 3153.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43