YourMatesWorld#6 Time To Say Goodbye to Bali

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Time To Say Goodbye

photo5819008090362718923.jpg

Simply astonishing, how fast you accustom to people around you and your new accommodation. After a week of surfing and a lot of fun it’s now finally time to say goodbye to new friends I’ve met, the incredible staff and this very cozy accommodation. To be honest, I’m a little sad.
I booked a speed boat trip to the Gili islands (Gili Tarawangan, Gili Meno & Gili Air they are). They’re located northeastern to Bali and are close to the next island which is called Lombok. My buddy Georg leaves the same day and we’ll meet again on the Gilis. He travels with his brother and his brother’s girlfriend from now. If I’m lucky, I’ll also meet one or two people I got to know at Kima’s. ☺

Einfach erstaunlich, wie sehr man sich an neue Gesellschaft und eine neue Bleibe gewöhnt. Nach einer Woche surfen und einer ganzen Menge Spaß ist es für mich nun an der Zeit, lebe wohl zu neuen Freunden, dem unglaublich lieben Personal und dieser sehr gemütlichen Unterkunft zu sagen. Um ehrlich zu sein, bin ich sogar ein bisschen traurig.
Ich hab einen Speedboot-Trip zu den Gili-Inseln gebucht. (Gili Trawangan, Gili Meno & Gili Air heißen sie). Sie befinden sich nordöstlich von Bali und sind nahe der nächsten Insel, welche Lombok heißt. Mein Kumpel Georg haut am gleichen Tag ab und wir treffen uns auf den Gilis wieder. Er reißt ab jetzt mit seinem Bruder und dessen Freundin. Wenn ich Glück hab’, treff ich auch noch ein, zwei andere Leute, die ich im Kima kennengelernt habe.

photo5819008090362718927.jpg
Let me help you spot those Kima guys. :)

But you know: I can’t simply pack my stuff, go to bed and leave. This doesn’t work. The people who know me personally, know what I am on about. So, what do I do? Surely I gotta ease off on the drinking, so no crazy party tonight.
I gotta admit, Indonesian and western people sure have some differences regarding their bodies. (huehuehue) For example: they always look younger to us, than they actually are – for them it’s vice versa. So they always think I’m like 29-35 years old. Say what?! It must be the jetlag or idk. Do I look thiiiiis wasted?! Holy moly.
The fateful happening is at a massage. “30 minutes. Please help me with those shoulders.” “Is 50.000 please.” (50.000 IDR = 3,15 €). 20 minutes in she asks me “How old yu are?” “I’m 24. How about you?” -startsgiggling- “What’s up? What’s your age?” “No, yu don’t 24. Hehe.” “I sure am. I know we guys look older to you. Now, what’s your age?” “I’m 21.” Ok, I could’ve really guessed that. That one was easy. “What did you think? If I’m not 24, what’s my age?” “I say no anything. Hihi.” Alright, that was it for my beard. See you again in a few weeks, bro.

Aber wisst ihr: Ich kann nicht einfach meine Sachen packen, pennen gehen und dann abhauen. Ne. Das funktioniert bei mir nicht. Wer mich persönlich kennt, der weiß was das bedeutet. Also, was mach ich? Jedenfalls schieß’ ich mich heute mal nicht ab; muss mal vom Gas gehen. Somit keine Exzesse heute.
Ich muss zugeben, die Indonesier und die Weslter haben schon ein paar körperliche Unterschiede. (huehuehue) Zum Beispiel sehen sie für uns quasi immer jünger aus, als sie sind – für sie ist es bei uns genau umgekehrt. Also denken die immer wieder, dass ich so um die 29-35 Jahre alt bin. Wie bitte?! Das muss am Jetlag liegen oder so. Schau ich soooo verbraucht aus? Heiliger Strohsack.
Der schicksalhafte Augenblick war dann bei der Massage. “30 minutes. Please help me with those shoulders.” “Is 50.000 please.” (50.000 IDR = 3,15 €). 20 minutes in she asks me “How old yu are?” “I’m 24. How about you?” -startsgiggling- “What’s up? What’s your age?” “No, yu don’t 24. Hehe.” “I sure am. I know we guys look older to you. Now, what’s your age?” “I’m 21.” Ok, bei ihr hätte ich das sogar erraten, denk ich. “What did you think? If I’m not 24, what’s my age?” “I say no anything. Hihi.” Alright, das war’s mit meinem Bart! Wir sehen uns in ein paar Wochen, Digger.

Movember – no longer for me

No moustache, no nothing. Time to say goodbye to my beard and everything around here. “Yo Markus, may I borrow your trimmer?” “Yes. What are you on about?” “Gettin’ rid of that beard.” “Whaaaat? I wanna see that! Be right back.”

Kein Moustache, gar nix. Zeit lebe Wohl zu meinem Bart und allem anderen hier zu sagen. “Yo Markus, darf ich mir deinen Trimmer ausborgen?” “Ja. Was gehst an?” “Ich trenn’ mich von meinem Bart.” “Waaaaaas? Junge, das mag ich sehen. Komm’ dann wieder her.”

IMG_20171114_211808.jpg
Symbolic photo. This is not a trimmer.

And then the trimmer’s battery died. Yeah, you can imagine. Halfway there. 20 minutes charging and I say goodbye to you.

Und dann geht dem Trimmer der Saft aus. Ja, kannst dir vorstellen. Auf der Hälfte nämlich. 20 Minuten aufladen und dann heißts baba.

IMG_20171114_225536.jpg

”What the f^ck? Please, don’t ever do that again.” “But I do look younger now, right?” “Yeah, you look like…just don’t do it again.” The guys at the pool sing from the same hymnal.

”What the f^ck? Mach das bitte nie wieder.” “Aber jetzt seh’ ich jünger aus, oder?” “Ja, du schaust…mach’s einfach nie wieder. Lass den Bart stehen.” Ok, da sind sich offenbar alle am Pool einig.

Kima Party People

I grab myself a goodbye-beer and sit down by the pool. A few of us go out and yeah, after a few minutes I’m coaxed and join.
We go to a club called “La Favela”. My pals walk in, but the bouncer blocks my way “How old are you?” I burst into laughter. He looks baffled. “Sorry for laughing, bro. I just shaved my beard.” He giggles “Alright, I see. There you go, haha.”

We walk in and go crazy on those moves. Everybody does – you’re on the other side of the planet. Nobody knows you.
There are also Indonesian people in the club – they really love to have fun and party. They love it. Big time. I drink moderately because I’m aware of my 7 am trip to the Gili islands.
After 2 small beers and some crazy dancing I leave the club to grab some fries. No fries for me. “Mushroom-mushroom. Ganja. Yes, please maybe something.” Every 5-10 meters I’m offered drugs. “Do you know where I could get some french fries?” “No french fries. Yu need ekstaasi?” “No.” They sure aren’t afraid of any death penalty.

Ich hol’ mir ein Abschiedsbier und setz mich zum Pool. Ein paar von uns gehen aus und nach wenig bis keiner Überzeugungsarbeit geh’ ich mit.
Wir gehen zu einem Klub namens “La Favela”. Meine Leute gehen rein, mich aber haltet der Türsteher auf: “How old are you?” Ich bekomm’ ‘nen Lachanfall. Er schaut irritiert. “Sorry for laughing, bro. I just shaved my beard.” Er ginrst “Alright, I see. There you go, haha.”

Wir gehen rein und tanzen gleich wie Blöde. Jeder macht das – wir sind auf der anderen Seite des Planeten. Keiner kennt dich. Auch Indonesier sind im Klub – die haben richtig gerne Spaß und lieben Party. So richtig. Ich trinke heute beherrscht, da mir bewusst ist, dass ich um 7 in der Früh auf die Gili Inseln fahre.
Nach 2 kleinen Bier und einer Menge verrücktem Getanze geh ich aus dem Klub, weil ich Pommes will. Keine Pommes für mich. “Mushroom-mushroom. Ganja. Yes, please maybe something.” Alle 5-10 Meter möchte man mir Drogen verkaufen. “Do you know where I could get some french fries?” “No french fries. Yu need ekstaasi?” “No.” Die haben wohl echt keine Angst vor der Todesstrafe.

IMG_20171114_191635.jpg
Okay, I'll admit it. I ain't got no related pictures for this right now. Here's my food & beverage bill for the week. Yes, excactly what one regular balinese worker earns per month. I guess I can do it cheaper.

Okay, ich geb's zu. Ich habe keine passenden Bilder für das hier. Hier habt ihr meine Rechnung für 1 Woche Essen & Trinken im Camp. Genau das, was ein normaler Balinese im Monat verdient. Ich denk, das bekomm ich auch billiger hin.

I go to a supermarket to grab a sandwich. No sandwiches. Well, boy. Different country, gotte accustom oneself. I buy a pack of toast bread, some ham, some “mozzarella” cheese and a bottle of water. 50.000 IDR straight = 3,13 €.
I sit down in front of the shop and make myself a sandwich. And another. And another. Meanwhile some UK guys and a girl sit down next to me. They totally dig what I do and are astonished by the smart Austrian ways. The girl is hungry, so I give her one of my 4 sandwiches. I get spicy chicken chips in return. Nice!

I go back into the club and meet them again. At that time I wasn’t aware I’d meet one of them on 2 different islands later on, haha.
So, I go crazy on the dance moves again and manage to find my Kima surf camp peeps. Apparently I’ve been outside for about an hour. I drink 2 more small Bintang beers and tell one of my pals I’d leave. “Yo Peter, it really was a pleasure to meet you. I like this kind of f^cked up and honestly straight people like you.” “Yeah, thanks bro!” Wait, what did he say? I really need to do something about myself. That’s a reputation I’m not entirely okay with. At least the f^cked up part. What do I do? How do people perceive me? I like to have fun, go crazy and say what I think. Is that f^cked up? What is?

“Hey Peter! Are you leaving.” A girl of our group comes over. “Yes, I need to get up for the bus at 7. It’s 3 am already.” “May I join. Don’t want to stay anyway.” We stroll home. Halfway there 2 scooters pull up. “Taksi?!” “Yeh, how much to Kima green room?” “30.000 for yu tu.” “Bro. C’mon. That’s 2 minutes. I got like 5.000 (=0,31 €) left. Can we arrange that?” Looks sideways. Looks back at me. Nods. We both jump on one scooter. Yeh, 3 people on a scooter! Crazy for a westerner, regular for south east asia.
We come home and I go to my room to pack the rest of my stuff. Quickly to bed. 2,5 hours of sleep left.

IMG-20171112-WA0000.jpg
Not related but too stupid for NOT being shared. 1 day before I got rid of my beard I had one last request: Draw me like one of your french girls! :D
Confused? Verwirrt? click --> http://bit.ly/2B8PkGi

Ich geh zum Supermarkt, um mir ein Sandwich zu holen. Kein Sandwich. Oha, Junge. Anderes Land, andere Sitten. Gewöhn dich dran. Ich kauf eine Packung Toastbrot, bisschen Schinken, bisschen “Mozzarella” und eine Flasche Wasser. 50.000 IDR geradeaus = 3,13 €.
Ich setze mich vor dem Supermarkt auf den Boden und mach mir ein Sandwich. Und noch eines. Und noch eines.
In der Zwischenzeit haben sich ein paar junge Engländer zu mir gesetzt. Die sind komplett fasziniert von meiner Idee. Selbst haben sie mangels Einfallsreichtum Chips gekauft. Ein Mädel von der Partie ist hungrig – ich tausche eins meiner 4 Sandwiches gegen Spicy Chicken Chips. Lässig!

Ich gehe zurück in den Klub und treffe dort dann wieder die Engländer. Zu dem Zeitpunkt weiß ich noch nicht, dass ich einen von ihnen noch auf 2 weiteren Inseln treffen werde, haha.
Also nochmals abtanzen wie ein Verrückter und ziemlich schnell finde ich die Leute vom Kima Surf Camp wieder. Offenbar war ich über eine Stunde draußen. Ich trinke noch 2 kleine Bintang Bier und sage einem Kollegen, dass ich gehe. “Yo Peter, es war echt nice dich kennen zu lernen. Ich mag so abgef^ckte Assis wie dich, die drauf scheißen und ehrlich sind.” “Ja, danke bro.” Warte mal. Was hat der gerade gesagt? Da muss ich wohl unbedingt etwas an mir ändern. Das ist eine Reputation, die ich nicht zur Gänze die meinige nennen mag. Zumindest den abgef^ckten Assi-Teil. Unglückliche Formulierung? Weiß’ nicht. Er hat’s jedenfalls nicht böse gemeint. Aber ich kapiers noch nicht ganz. Ich hab gerne Spaß, mach gerne verrückte Dinge und sag oft, was ich denke. Ist das abgef^ckt? Was genau ist abgef^ckt?

“Hey Peter! Gehst du schon?” Ein Mädel von unserer Truppe kommt herüber. “Ja, ich muss ja morgen um 7 bei dem Shuttle fürs Speedboat sein.” “Darf ich mich gleich anhängen? Ich mag eh nicht mehr bleiben.” Wir latschen nach Hause. Auf der Hälfte bleiben 2 Roller bei uns stehen. “Taksi?!” “Yeh, how much to Kima green room?” “30.000 for yu tu.” “Bro. C’mon. That’s 2 minutes. I got like 5.000 (=0,31 €) left. Can we arrange that?” Er sieht zur Seite, sieht mich wieder an. Er nickt. Wir steigen beide auf. Yeh, 3 Leute auf einem Roller! Verrückt für uns Westler, normal für Südostasien.
Wir kommen daheim an und ich geh gleich den Rest meiner Sachen packen Ab ins Bett; noch max. 2,5 Stunden zum Schlafen.

Dammit

“PETER! PETER!” I open my eyes. Some guy stands in my room. “Are yu Peter?” “What? Yeah.” “Peter, quick! Speedboat leave now!” Holy guacamole! What’s the time? 07:05. FUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUU^^K! “I’m so sorry! I’m really sorry, brother! I’ll be down there as soon as possible! 5 minutes!” “Is OK, yu come please.”

“PETER! PETER!” Ich mache meine Augen auf und irgendein Typ steht in meinem Zimmer. “Are yu Peter?” “What? Yeah.” “Peter, quick! Speedboat leave now!” Holy guacamole! Wie spät isses? 07:05. FUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUU^^K! “I’m so sorry! I’m really sorry, brother! I’ll be down there as soon as possible! 5 minutes!” “Is OK, yu come please.”

IMG_20171115_071422.jpg

I grab my shit, brush my teeth and run to the front desk. “Where’s the guy?” “He left.” “Whaaat?” “He pick up other guest and come back.” “Oh. Perfect.”
I grab myself a coffee and a breakfast. Damn, why am I so freaking destroyed. Still jetlagged I guess.
He comes back, I grab the rest of my scrambled eggs with my right hand and stuff it into my mouth. All the butter on the hot toast, put the other hot toast on it and smudge between the two sides. Grab my trolley, wave goodbye with the toast and run after the guy. I chew and swallow the eggs. “Sorry again.” Different guy. Doesn’t say anything. I’m all sweaty. Damn, I forgot my water. And 3 shirts. And my flip-flops. But at least I got my shuttle.
I fall asleap. I wake up and am quite dehydrated and ask the Russian girl behind me “Do you maybe have a sip of water for me?” “Yeah, sure!” “Thanks a million.” “Sooo, you’re the guy that was too drunk to catch the shuttle?” What the heck? I’m not drunk. I’m jetlagged and out of energy. “Yep, I guess that’s me.”

Ich greif’ mein Zeug, putz mir schnell die Zähne und laufe zur Rezeption. “Where’s the guy?” “He left.” “Whaaat?” “He pick up other guest and come back.” “Oh. Perfect.”
Ich schnapp mir einen Kaffee und ein Frühstück. Verdammt, weshalb bin ich so unglaublich kaput. Wird wohl noch der Jetlag sein.
Er kommt zurück. Ich nehme das restliche Rührei mit der rechten Hand und stopf es mir in den Mund. Die ganze Butter auf den heißen Toast, zweite Scheibe drauf und verschmieren. Mit dem Trolley in der rechten Hand laufe ich dem Shuttlebus-Fahrer nach und winke mit der linken Hand, die den Toast halt, den Kima Mitarbeitern. Ich kaue und schlucke das Rühre am Weg zum Shuttle. “Sorry again.” Anderer Kerl. Spricht nicht mit mir.
Ich bin komplett verschwitzt. Verdammt, ich hab mein Wasser vergessen. Und 3 shirts. Und 1 Paar flip flops. Zumindest bin ich im Shuttle.
Ich schlafe ein. Als ich erwache, bin ich ziemlich ausgetrocknet. Ich frage die Russin hinter mir nach Wasser. “Do you maybe have a sip of water for me?” “Yeah, sure!” “Thanks a million.” “Sooo, you’re the guy that was too drunk to catch the shuttle?” Was zum Geier? Ich bin nicht rauschig. Ich bin nur einigermaßen erschöpft. “Yep, I guess that’s me.”

You Got Strong Banana?

Bildschirmfoto 2017-11-24 um 19.15.00.png

After some sleeping we arrive at Padang Bai harbor. We check in. Go onto the boat. I hand my luggage to the wrong boat. Get it back in time. Phew. Haha.

To enjoy the view and feel the breeze I step onto the deck of the boat. There are some crewmembers there as well. Since I like the Balinese and am offered a spot, I sit down next to them. They are performing some hindu prayer, throwing oblations into the sea. As they’re done one guy with shades turns to me. “Hey brother! What’s your name?” “I’m Peter. And you?” “I’m Tarek. Nice to meet you.” “Nice to meet you too, bro. You’ve got a beautiful island over there. I really like it.” “Yeah. Yu got strong arm! Yu got strong banana?” No, we’re at this again. OK. I see. “Haha, what are you talking about? I’m skinny, bro!” “Yu have strong penis? Big arm, big nose. Big…?“ He points at my mister and smiles. “Yeah, whatever man.” I smile politely. I don’t really get it. After some more regular chat I go back down again and take a nap. Still a good ride to the Gili Islands.

Ein paar mal einnicken später erreichen wir den Hafen von Padang Bai. Wir checken ein & gehen zum Boot. Mein Gepäck gebe ich beim falschen Boot ab. Ich bekomme es rechtzeitig zurück. Puh. Haha.

Um die Aussicht und den Fahrtwind zu genißen gehe ich an Deck. Oben sitzen ein paar Besatzungsmitglieder. Nachdem ich die Balinesen mag und es mir angeboten wird, setze ich mich dazu. Sie werfen Opfergaben ins Wasser und vollziehen Hindu-Gebete. Als sie fertig sind dreht sich einer der Jungs um und fragt mich: “Hey brother! What’s your name?” “I’m Peter. And you?” “I’m Tarek. Nice to meet you.” “Nice to meet you too, bro. You’ve got a beautiful island over there. I really like it.” “Yeah. Yu got strong arm! Yu got strong banana?” Nun geht das schon wieder los. OK, respektvoll bleiben. “Haha, what are you talking about? I’m skinny, bro!” “Yu have strong penis? Big arm, big nose. Big…?“ Er zeigt auf meinen Schritt und lächelt. “Yeah, whatever man.” Ich lächle höflich. Ich versteh’s nicht ganz. Wir führen noch ein normales Gespräch, ich gehe wieder runter und nehme ein Nickerchen. Die Fahrt zu den Gilis ist angenehm.

IMG_20171115_100239.jpg
View from the speed boat towards the Agung volcano on Bali, currently active.

We finally arrive at Gili Trawangan after 1,5 hours. Oh, that really looks nice!

I think this is a good time to tell you, that I lost my credit card 4 days ago. Yep. Remember the first post? “Here I sit. No shoes, no mones. Forgot to transfer some & only got my winter shoes her. Oh, money came just now! Take it easy.“ Yes. That card. I still go my other debit, tho. It’s just very expensive to cash out. Life still is bright!

No, this wasn’t the sad story yet. I thought it’d be too much for you know. As you know, I care for you. So stay safe while I prepare them sadpants, boys n gals.

Wir kommen nach 1,5 Stundena uf Gili Trawangan an. Oh, das sieht wirklich net aus!

Ich denke, jetzt ist ein guter Zeitpunkt, um euch zu beichten, dass ich meine Kreditkarte vor 4 Tagen verloren habe. Yep. Erinnerst du dich an den ersten Eintrag? “Hier sitz ich nun. Hab keine Schuhe & kein Geld. Hab’s Überweisen verschwitzt und nur Winterschuhe mit. Take it easy. Oh, Geld kam in der Sekunde an.” Ja. Genau diese Karte. Ich hab’ allerdings noch ‘ne Bankomatkarte. Die Gebühren fürs Abheben sind allerdings recht hoch. Jo mei! Das Leben ist trotzdem gut!

Allerdings das noch nicht die traurige Geschichte. Es ware gerade noch ein wenig zu viel für euch. Und wie ihr wisst, schau ich ja auf euch. Also, haltet die Ohren steif, während ich hier die verbale Finsternis vorbereite.

Hope you had a good read! Always happy about feedback. ☺

Hoffe, du hattest Spaß beim Lesen! Bin immer offen für konstruktive Kritik. ☺

More pictures on instagram: https://www.instagram.com/yourmateyo
You find every other blog post in chronological order right here:

  1. https://steemit.com/travel/@yourmate/yourmatesworld-1-hello-world
  2. https://steemit.com/travel/@yourmate/yourmatesworld-2-bali-here-i-come
  3. https://steemit.com/travel/@yourmate/yourmatesworld-3-surfcamp-in-denpasar
  4. https://steemit.com/travel/@yourmate/yourmatesworld-4-surfing
  5. https://steemit.com/travel/@yourmate/yourmatesworld-4-single-fin-surfing-and-the-monsoon

If you want to do yourself a favor AND also easily support me: book your next holiday via my referral link right here. I’ll get 20 € for my next accomodation and YOU get a 10 % discount!
https://booking.com/s/39_6/a7ac282d

Wenn du dir selbst einen Gefallen tun magst UND mich ganz einfach unterstützen magst: buch deine nächste Unterkunft unter Verwendung meines Referral-Link für Booking. Ich bekomme 20 € für meine nächste Unterkunft und du bekommst 10 % Rabatt!
https://booking.com/s/39_6/a7ac282d

All the best,
Yourmate

Sort:  

Hello Yourmate, it is absolutely thrilling to read your travel reports and to regard your snapshots. I should like to learn more about your relationships. Is it easy to make friends in Bali? Meeting people from all over the world, did you get any inspirations to travel to another region of the world? Or would you like to make Bali your new home, if possible? Do you like the vegetation there? What do you think about European lifestyle, from your distance? Do you like Balinese music? Good luck to you! :)

thank you for the compliment :)
oh damn, I just read that now. you're surely gonna grasp some of that in the upcoming post.
I'll try to get back to that in some of the following posts as well.

keep on reading :)

all the best,
yourmate

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @yourmate to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58613.96
ETH 3153.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43