YourMatesWorld#10 - Gili Air – Time To Leave That Beauty

in #travel7 years ago

For Everyone's notice:


I have to tell you:
SADLY the best stories don’t make it into the blog. NSFW or simply too gnraly for the readers. Some of my closest know a part and think I should publish it. I'm still undecided. How much can I expect you to put up with?


Es gehört mal gesagt:
LEIDER schaffen es die besten Geschichten nicht in den Blog. NSFW oder einfach zu krass für die Leserschaft. Ein paar meiner Engsten kennen einen Teil und meinen, ich solle sie unbedingt veröffentlichen. Ich bin noch unschlüssig. Wie viel kann man euch den zumuten?

Gili Gili!

So, back to the point:
Before I leave, I'm gonna have a fine day. Snorkeling it shall be! I borrow an innovative snorkel mask: Easybreath Tribord


Also, zurück zur Sache:
Bevor ich abhaue, gönne ich mir aber noch einen feinen Tag. Schnorcheln soll’s sein! Hab’ mir da so eine innovative Schnorchelmaske ausgeborgt: Easybreath Tribord

IMG_20171122_071809_298.jpg

Now rent a bike real quick and ride it to the „turtle spot“ like an excited kid.


Schnell noch ein Fahrrad ausleihen und wie ein übermotiviertes Kind zum „Turtle Spot“ rübertreten.

BILD Collage vom „Turtle Spot“

Get in the water. Phew, that's dirty. Well, ok that's just sand swirled up. I climb over pipes, the current pushes me to the reef. I get up, pull myself over rocks and put my head under water. A lobster looks at me from a crevice. Heelloooooooo!

After 30 metres it suddenly is 2 meters deep. Another 2 meters in 5 meters deep. Another 2 meters 10 meters deep. Wow, it's getting dark. I realize I'm afraid of the dark ocean. The current pushes me ashore.
Well, I'm here now. Do one thing everyday that scares you, right? Let's take a look around then.
All sorts of fish & animals I've never seen before. Party time. Large, small, light, dark, coloured, patterned, almost transparent, thick, elongated, alone, in schools. Oh, I know that thing! A blowfish!

The only thing I haven't seen was turtles. Still was great!
Heading out again.


Rein ins Wasser. Bua is des dreckig da. Achso, das ist nur aufgewirbelter Sand. Ich steige über Rohe, die Strömung schubst mich auf Riff. Ich steh auf, hantle mich weiter über Felsen und stecke meinen Kopf unters Wasser. Aus einem Felsspalt schaut mich eine Languste an. Servuuuuuus!

Nach 30 Meter wird’s plötzlich 2 Meter tief. Nochmal 2 Meter weiter 5 Meter tief. Nochmal 2 Meter 10 Meter tief. Boah, da wird’s dunkel. Ich stell fest, dass ich Angst vor dem dunklen Ozean hab. Die Strömung treibt mich schnell weiter.
Naja, jetzt bin ich schon da. Do one thing everyday that scares you. Erst mal umsehen.
Alle möglichen Fische & Tiere, die ich noch nie gesehen habe. Hier geht’s ab. Groß, klein, hell, dunkel, farbig, gemustert, fast durchsichtig, dick, länglich, alleine, in Scharen. Oh, das Teil kenn ich! ein Kugelfisch! Was man hier alles sieht.

Nur Schildkröten habe ich keine gesehen. War trotzdem top!
Raus aus dem Nass.

IMG_20171122_095759.jpg

Damn, this mask is good! Why do we still produce normal diving goggles (Ok, the goggles at least for normal diving) and snorkels? No matter how stupid I act, there's no water in the mask or the air system. The pressure equalization can also be achieved with a mask; with some training at least. I am thrilled!
I don't have room in my carry-on baggage for that, though.

Wait. What are those holes in the sand?


VERDAMMT, ist diese Maske gut! Wozu produzieren wir überhaupt noch normale Taucherbrillen (Ok, die Brillen zumindest für normales Tauchen) und Schnorchel?! Egal wie dumm ich mich anstelle, mir kommt kein Wasser in die Maske oder das Luftsystem. Den Druckausgleich bekommt man mit Übung auch mit Maske hin. Ich bin begeistert!
Platz hab ich im Handgepäck dafür aber nicht.

Nanu, was sind den das für Löcher da im Sand?

IMG_20171122_095532.jpg

I look around and see little crabs burying themselves in the sand. Like this one:


Ich schau mich um und sehe kleine Krebse, die sich im Sand vergraben. So wie der hier:

_20171215_142850.JPG

As I turn in circles to spot crabs, I see a nice Land-Art on the ground:

Während ich mich so im Kreis rumdrehe und schau, erblick ich am Boden ein ganz nettes Land-Art:

IMG_20171122_092026.jpg

Back to the hostel! I made an appointment with Georg and the others for dinner - this time in concrete terms. On the way back I take a closer look at the speed bumps. How did they solve this? Ah! Creative!


Zurück geht’s zum Hostel! Hab mich mit Georg und den anderen zum Abendessen verabredet – diesmal konkret. Am Rückweg schau ich mir die Bodenwellen mal genauer an. Wie haben die das hier gelöst? Ah! Kreativ!

IMG_20171122_085419.jpg
IMG_20171122_085443.jpg

A rope as a speed bump.

We're going to the Barbecure. My hunger for meat is not yet satisfied: I order 3 servings plus side dishes:

Wir gehen zum Barbecure. Mein Fleischhunger ist noch nicht gestillt: ich bestelle mir 3 Portionen plus Beilagen:

IMG_20171122_205903.jpg

tbh I couldn’t manage to eat the sides haha. OK, die Beilagen hab ich nicht mehr gepackt, haha.

Focus On The Good Things

In my Gili-T-Post regarding Heaven And Hell I kept a few good things quiet.
The acquaintances I was allowed to make on Gili T were really great:


In meinem Gili-T-Post bezüglich Heaven And Hell habe ich ein paar gute Dinge verschwiegen.
Die Bekanntschaften, die ich auf Gili T machen durfte, waren nämlich großartig:


  • A young American named Greg, who gives one hope that the Americans are not all indoctrinated. Hopefully I will meet him again soon; he is travelling all over Southeast Asia at the moment.
  • A young German couple by the name of Adrian & Anna, who were allowed to experience so much in Australia at their young age that they are quite ahead of their peers.
  • Will, who actually took a western name because the Westerners can't pronounce his real name, which is' we'. Sounds like Will in the English-speaking world. A real nice guy, ALWAYS in a good mood and ALWAYS having fun. The hostel motivator.
  • At Gili Air I also met a very warm Czech woman, with whom I often had a good conversation. She was down-to-earth, made CrossFit and quite cosmopolitan. A really pleasant mixture; conversations with her were always encouraging.
  • Last but not least I got to know the Quirin (German) and the Dasha (Belarusian). The two of them live in the northeast of Bali, where they also have a plot of land. Quirin is an entrepreneur and can work from anywhere. He is a project manager and consultant in the area of game development. They came over the weekend to celebrate and relax on Gili T. I tell them about my plans and my work experience; of course we immediately connected.

Through each of these encounters I got the chance to learn something new. Mostly about myself. Life shows you so much when you just open your eyes.


  • Ein junger Amerikaner namens Greg, der einem die Hoffnung gibt, dass die Amis nicht alle indoktriniert sind. Hoffentlich treffe ich ihn bald wieder; er bereits derzeit ganz Südostasien.
  • Ein junges Deutsches Pärchen namens Adrian & Anna, die in ihrem jungen Alter direkt nach dem Abitur so viel in Australien erleben durften, dass sie ihren Peers geistig ziemlich voraus sind.
  • Der Will, der in Wirklichkeit einen westlichen Namen angenommen hat, weil die Westler seinen echten Namen nicht aussprechen können, der da ‚Wir’ ist. Klingt bei den englischsprachigen immer wie Will. Echt ein lieber Kerl, IMMER gut drauf und IMMER bemüht, dass alle Spaß haben. Der Motivator des Hostels.
  • Auf Gili Air lernte ich zudem noch eine äußerst herzliche Tschechin kennen, mit der ich mich oftmals gut unterhalten habe. Sie war bodenständig, machte CrossFit und ganz weltoffen. Eine wirklich angenehme Mischung; Gespräche mit ihr waren immer bestärkend.
  • Zu guter Letzt durfte ich noch Bekanntschaft mit dem Quirin (Deutscher) und der Dasha (Weißrussin) machen. Die beiden wohnen im Nordosten von Bali, wo sie auch ein Grundstück haben. Quirin ist Unternehmer und kann von überall aus arbeiten. Er ist Projektmanager und Consultant im Bereich des Game-Development (Computerspieleentwicklung). Sie kamen übers Wochenende zum Feiern und Ausspannen auf Gili T. Ich erzähle von meinen Plänen und meiner Berufserfahrung; natürlich connecten wir uns gleich.

Durch jede einzelner dieser Begegnungen durfte ich etwas dazulernen. Am meisten über mich selbst. Das Leben zeigt einem so viel, wenn man nur die Augen aufmacht.

Kima Surf? Kima Surf

Back to Kima Surf - The Green Room Seminyak. No Lombok. My feelings say no, even my mother advises me not to go to Lombok.
Do you remember what happened to Lombok at the time? Thanks, Mama.

"Now you go back there?! Haven't you been there already? What kind of travelling is that? You don't even know the country! Come on, pay me a ticket and I'll teach you how to travel properly!" Say what? :D You jokers. What kind of texts I got... I tell you.

The decision was quite simple for me: physically I felt very strange. Sometimes it was better, sometimes worse. In the morning I wanted to die, then do sports during the daytime, jump around and make nonsense, so that in the evening and at night I would curl up into an embryo again sweating with painful limbs.
Alright: Let's go to Kima. Everything is clean & the food is good. Unlike Gili T, haha.

Back on the speedboat and back to my beloved Kima:


Es geht zurück zu Kima Surf – The Green Room Seminyak. Kein Lombok. Mein Gefühl sagt nein, sogar meine Mutter rät mir ab.
Erinnert ihr euch, was auf Lombok dann zu der Zeit geschah? Danke, Mama.

„Jetzt gehst wieder dahin?! Da warst ja schon? Wie reist denn du? Du lernst das Land ja gar nicht kennen! Komm, zahl mir ein Ticket und ich bring’ dir bei, wie man richtig reist!!“ Say what? :D Ihr Witzbolde. Was mich für Nachrichten erreicht haben... Ich sag’s euch.

Die Entscheidung war für mich ganz einfach: Körperlich ging es mir äußerst seltsam. Manchmal war es besser, manchmal schlechter. Am Morgen wollte ich sterben, unter Tags sporteln, rumspringen und Blödsinn machen, um mich am Abend/in der Nacht wieder schwitzend mit Gliederschmerzen zu einem Embryo zusammenkauern.
Also: Ab zu Kima. Da ist alles sauber & das Essen gut. Im Gegensatz zum Seuchenherd Gili T, haha.

Wieder aufs Speedboat und zurück zu meinem geliebten Kima:

IMG_20171123_123350.jpg

Tarek is on the speedboat again. This time he's not asking me about the size of my penis. He grins at me and tenderly presses my upper arm/biceps on me as he passes my seat. Okay, now I'm totally confused. Were all the Indonesians who were talking to me gay now? Or are they all rather kind? I've already noticed that friends here hug each others rather often and shoulders more often touched than at home. Well, anyway he's just trying to be nice. Everything's easy.

After 5 hours of travelling I am totally tired. Back in the rainy season I finally face my lovely Green Room again. Come at me, darling:


Am Speedboat war wieder Tarek. Diesmal fragt er mich nicht nach der Größe meines Penis. Er grinst mich an und drückt mir beim Vorbeigehen zärtlich den Oberarm/Bizeps. Ok, jetzt bin ich auf jeden Fall irritiert. Waren jetzt alle Indonesier schwul, die mich da angequatscht haben? Oder sind sie alle eher lieb? Hab ja schon festgestellt, dass sich hier die Freunde untereinander eher mal in den Arm nehmen/auf die Schulter greifen, als das daheim üblich wäre. Naja, er meint es jedenfalls nett. Alles easy.

Nach 5 Stunden Reise bin ich komplett abgefeuert, wieder in der vollen Regenzeit angekommen und stehe endlich meinem lovely Green Room wieder gegenüber. Come at me, darling:

IMG_20171123_163021.jpg

More pictures on instagram: https://www.instagram.com/yourmateyo

Hope you had a good read! Always happy about feedback.

Hoffe, du hattest Spaß beim Lesen! Bin immer offen für konstruktive Kritik. ☺

You find every other blog post in chronological order right here: https://steemit.com/travel/@yourmate/organizer

All the best,
yourmate

Sort:  

Lol your first photo looks like a monks from a war zone.
greeting from Bali.
if only I see your blog earlier maybe we can have a chat while you are here

haha, I didn't know that :D
greetings back! I'll surely be back to Bali some day in the next year! Maybe we can make stuff happen.

All the best,
yourmate

lets do it, just give me a shout when you come back to Bali. : )

hey mate !

tag doch die deutschen Sachen mal #deutsch, dann findet die auch wer ;)

oh, Mann! Danke für den Tipp! 😁 Werde ich beim nächsten Post gleich machen.

Alles liebe,
Yourmate

Just met nice digital nomads on Sola and Steemit (yes, both!). They wish to connect with other digital nomads. They recommend to tag files with #digital-nomads. This is the Steemit blog https://steemit.com/@for91days

Thanks for the Info! Will check it Out!

All the best,
yourmate

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @yourmate to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58802.33
ETH 3158.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42