A Visit to a Japanese Tea Room in Cambridge, UK

in #travel6 years ago

When I'm in the UK you can imagine it's pretty difficult to find sources of inspiration. I suppose when I'm in Japan for a few months or so each year I spend my time exploring and documenting inspiring places, but when I'm in my home country it's back to everyday life and the normal work grind. Both have positive and negative aspects, but I have decided to see if I can find more areas to explore here in the UK and hope to showcase them on Steemit if possible. I think my followers will like it.

One place that was a pleasant surprise to visit was this Japanese tea room built by a set of Japanese carpenters in Cambridge, UK. One Sunday morning I attended a tea ceremony here taught by a master of the tea ceremony. He was a very kind man and showed me around the tea room in detail and let me photograph the tea room before other students showed up to practice the tea ceremony. He also had an impressive collection of tea rooms purchased and collected from Japan.

I've never practiced the tea ceremony but have always wanted to. I'm still unsure whether I will continue my practice as it's quite far from where I live, but it's great to see an original tea room like this in such a place. I hope you like these photographs. 😀


More from my Travels:

Exploring Helsinki - Finlandia Hall by Architect Alvar Aalto
A Selection of Outtakes from Kettle's Yard in Cambridge
Exploring Naoshima - A Visit to the Lee Ufan Museum
Naoshima - Tadao Ando's Concrete Walls
Exploring Osaka - Inside the TRUCK Furniture Showroom
Exploring Tokyo - Hama Rikyu Gardens
Exploring Tokyo - A Visit to Sensoji Temple in Asakusa
Exploring Kyoto - Tenryuji Temple & Grounds


Please follow me @oen for more interesting art, design and travel content.

Sort:  

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.10
Server time: 22:35:55
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 234.95/200.00
Total Photos: 30
Total comments: 65
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.10 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=oen
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=a-visit-to-a-japanese-tea-room-in-cambridge-uk


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Very nice! I would love to experience a Japanese tea ceremomy!

Thanks for your comment! Yeah, it's a great experience :) I hope you can experience it in the future

What a beautiful spot! Very zen. I would love to do one of these sometime. No way is there one down here in the South, lol.

Haha you never know! I hope you can travel to Japan one day and experience it for real :D

Hi, very nice the experience u had in the tea room. I enjoy discover about tipical architecture. Bye

Yeah, the architecture is really nice. Thanks for your comment :)

You re welcome! If u have some time come to visit me, I have just few post but it is something! I hope u enjoy it ;)

Looks a serene place and so calming. Great experience to have gained =D

Yeah, it was very serene and calm. Thank you for commenting on my post :)

Hi,

Thank you for participating in the #travelfeed curated tag. To maintain a level of quality on the project we have certain criteria that must be met for participation. Please review the following: https://steemit.com/travelfeed/@travelfeed/how-to-participate-use-travelfeed-in-your-posts

Thank you very much for your interest and we hope to read some awesome travel articles from you soon!

Regards,

@travelfeed

P.S. We love the post but the actual word count has to be at least 250! We're looking forward to your future submissions!

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable mentions list in the latest edition of the #TravelDigest!

Thanks! Glad I made it :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57808.87
ETH 3061.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33