Exploring Tokyo - A Visit to Sensoji Temple in Asakusa

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

sensoji-13

On a recent trip to Tokyo I decided to book my accommodation in the Asakusa district. I suppose many who visit Japan are searching for the bright lights, probably preferring to stay in Akihabara or Shinjuku, but since my interests align with the traditional side of Japanese culture I decided to head here instead. Not only are there many nice places to eat and a relaxed atmosphere overall, Asakusa is Tokyo's oldest geisha district and features many traditional ryokan (guest houses) and small scale buildings that add to the traditional aesthetic.

The main tourist attraction here is Sensoji, a Buddhist temple that is one of the most colourful in Tokyo. Walking through the gate and in to the main temple grounds is a very special experience indeed. Since it can become very crowded throughout the day I reccomend visiting at night when this area is lit up (of which I will show pictures of tomorrow). At night it's obviously dark so it can be a little eery, but walking around here at night is sure to take you back in time and make you think about what is was like to be in this area many years ago. Here are a few photos from my trip, enjoy. 🙂


sensoji-5

sensoji-1

sensoji-10

sensoji-6

sensoji-18

sensoji-15

sensoji-12

sensoji-17

sensoji-11

sensoji-7

sensoji-19

More from my Travels in Japan:

Exploring Kyoto - Tenryuji Temple & Grounds
Exploring Kyoto - A Visit to Fushimi Inari Shrine
Exploring Kyoto - A Visit to Japanese Potter Kawai Kanjiro’s House
Exploring Kyoto - Inside Nakamuraken Sweet Shop
Exploring Miyajima in Japan - Climbing Mount Misen
Exploring Miyajima in Japan - The Temple Grounds of Daisho-in
Exploring Miyajima Island in Japan - 500 Rakan Statues at Daisho-in
Capturing Osaka Castle and the Surrounding Area

Please follow me @oen :)

Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=oen
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=exploring-tokyo-a-visit-to-sensoji-temple-in-asakusa


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hey oen, thanks for your great photos - I am looking to visit Japan this year so I really appreciate the recommendation :)

Hey @emkaay. No problem. I hope you have a great trip. You can check my other articles for more places of inspiration. I will also have some more posts coming soon.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67808.66
ETH 3248.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67