Exploring Tokyo - Hama Rikyu Gardens

in #travel7 years ago

hamarikyu-1

Even though it was a rainy day when I visited Hama Rikyu, a beautiful landscaped garden located just alongside Tokyo Bay, I wasn't deterred one bit. Armed with my umbrella and waterproof jacket I ventured around, feeling excited as ever to capture and soak up this exquisite garden. Ironically, the rain, which later cleared up and made way for sun, caused many of the tourists to flee and gave me a near enough private view of many areas in this large garden.

As I journeyed up a small rock path to the top of Fujimiyama Hill it struck me how these small viewing areas, which are scattered around the garden, offer contemplation and require focus to get to the viewing point itself. I had a feeling this was on purpose, which I think in turn made me bond with this garden. Fujimiyama Hill overlooks Shioiri Pond and the beautiful Nakajima no Ochaya Tea House (pictures of which can be viewed in a separate post coming soon), a fantastic finale for my trek back to the centre of Tokyo. This garden is worth a visit for the juxtaposition of city life alongside what many might deem to be the "traditional Japanese style".

Words by Kenji Miyazawa that I felt were relevant:

Whatever anyone says
I am the young wild olive tree
With eyes on the dew of light
In cold trickle
Transparent raindrops
Dripping from my every branch


hamarikyu-2

hamarikyu-16

hamarikyu-3

hamarikyu-4

hamarikyu-6

hamarikyu-7

hamarikyu-5

hamarikyu-8

hamarikyu-9

hamarikyu-10

hamarikyu-12

hamarikyu-13

hamarikyu-14

hamarikyu-15

More from my Travels in Japan:

Exploring Tokyo - A Visit to Sensoji Temple in Asakusa
Exploring Kyoto - Tenryuji Temple & Grounds
Exploring Kyoto - A Visit to Fushimi Inari Shrine
Exploring Kyoto - A Visit to Japanese Potter Kawai Kanjiro’s House
Exploring Kyoto - Inside Nakamuraken Sweet Shop
Exploring Miyajima in Japan - Climbing Mount Misen
Exploring Miyajima in Japan - The Temple Grounds of Daisho-in
Exploring Miyajima Island in Japan - 500 Rakan Statues at Daisho-in
Capturing Osaka Castle and the Surrounding Area

Please follow me @oen :)

Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=oen
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=exploring-tokyo-hama-rikyu-gardens


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67808.66
ETH 3248.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67