A Selection of Outtakes from Kettle's Yard in Cambridge

in #travel6 years ago

The problem I always have with any of the places that I visit, and is surely a common issue for any photographer, is that you end up with many throw away style photos that never see the light of day. It's a real shame in my opinion. I was happy to see my previous post documenting my trip to Kettle's Yard in Cambridge had some healthy exposure here on Steemit and I thought you all might like to see some more details from inside the home that I didn't include in the original post.

My particular focus in this home has always been the ceramics and sculpture. As you may know I'm a potter myself and try to make daily using the pottery wheel and other methods in my studio. In this home the most prominent ceramics are the Lucie Rie bowls, an Austrian-born British studio potter who was famous for her modernist style. She was well-known as the teacher of Hans Coper, another studio potter who worked with Lucie and continued to develop his style as a talented sculptor alongside her. Unfortunately his works don't feature here but a few of her bowls do and they are very inspiring. I also like the rock patterns and little shells scattered in this property, very quaint. Enjoy.


More from my Travels:

A Visit to Kettle's Yard Art House in Cambridge, UK
Exploring Naoshima - A Visit to the Lee Ufan Museum
Naoshima - Tadao Ando's Concrete Walls
Exploring Osaka - Inside the TRUCK Furniture Showroom
Exploring Tokyo - Hama Rikyu Gardens
Exploring Tokyo - A Visit to Sensoji Temple in Asakusa
Exploring Kyoto - Tenryuji Temple & Grounds


Please follow me for more interesting art, design and travel content @oen

Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=oen
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=a-selection-of-outtakes-from-kettle-s-yard-in-cambridge


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Very good post! Warm atmosphere, thank you)

Thanks. Glad you like it! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66579.21
ETH 3282.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30