Exploring Helsinki - Finlandia Hall by Architect Alvar Aalto

in #travel6 years ago

finlandia5

As you already know I'm super passionate about modern architecture and have travelled to different parts of the world hoping to see these properties and examine them. I think at first I was just viewing them for my own knowledge, which is still the case in some aspects, but it often meant I carried a basic film camera and just took a few photos instead of what I do now, taking more than my camera can hold! haha These were captured on a Pentax K1000. Such a basic camera but a great one at that.

On a recent trip to Helsinki in Finland I wanted to follow the path of architect and designer Alvar Aalto. Ever since my studies as a designer I've held his work in high regard and have many books that explain his furniture and product design, also the architecture. The Finlandia Hall was a point of interest because it was designed in 1962 and completed in 1971. Every detail in the building has been designed by Alvar Aalto, which became fairly common in his builds, but the design is simple in nature and timeless in appearance.

I walked around the building and took a few pictures of this building, both inside and out. It was so peaceful but could imagine how busy it gets when special events are on. It was a real rush to think about the legacy that this fantastic architect has left on the country and this world in general. I hope you like a few of these snaps here and I will upload more from his house/studio soon.

Click here to read more about Finlandia Hall in Helsinki, Finland →

finlandia4

finlandia1

finlandia2

finlandia3.jpg

More from my Travels:

Exploring Naoshima - A Visit to the Lee Ufan Museum
Naoshima - Tadao Ando's Concrete Walls
Exploring Osaka - Inside the TRUCK Furniture Showroom
Exploring Tokyo - Hama Rikyu Gardens
Exploring Tokyo - A Visit to Sensoji Temple in Asakusa
Exploring Kyoto - Tenryuji Temple & Grounds
Exploring Kyoto - A Visit to Fushimi Inari Shrine


Please follow me @oen for more interesting art, design and travel content

Sort:  

cool rebar hand rails!

Your footprints are everywhere.

Come to Hong Kong and I'll show you bamboo scaffolding and some unique buildings (some have nasty appearances but some are aesthetic) you probably can only find in hk.

EDIT:
I thought you took the first picture in Japan, it looks like an entrance of an onsen hotel.

Does this town hall belong to minimalism?

Thanks for the comment @prch. I would love to go to Hong Kong! I will hit you up in the future and you can show me.

Yeah, it's kind of minimalistic. But it's a very nice building :D

Just saw your post in the steem engine room on discord. Glad you are now riding the steem engine.

Haha thanks so much for the recommendation. Crazy this world of Steemit and blockchain etc. There is always something new to learn lol

It is a beautiful building, modern architecture seems like a really interesting topic! What's next on your list of buildings to photograph?

So many exist that it's a bit hard to pinpoint one. But I like Tadao Ando, so maybe more from him :) I will also look for more from Alvar Aalto. Thanks so much for the comment :)

Amazing!
have you seen Alvar Aalto Campus?

I saw a picture online yeah! So cool. Amazing to see the legacy that his work has left in Finland. Hopefully it continues to do so :) I suppose he is part of their culture now haha

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #architecturalphotography

You have earned 5.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.10
Server time: 23:24:44
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 108.95/200.00
Total Photos: 13
Total comments: 38
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.40 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=oen
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=exploring-helsinki-finlandia-hall-by-architect-alvar-aalto


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67808.66
ETH 3248.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67