Hiking on the top of Grouse Mountain in Vancouver ~ Grouse Grind 🌲🏞️🌲

in #travel6 years ago

Hey there, my steemians!

My adventure today was at Grouse Mountain in Vancouver.


~~~~ Grouse Mountain 🌲🏞️🌲 Grouse Grind ~~~~ 


Grouse Mountain is located in West Vancouver, British Columbia Canada, exceeding 1200 m altitude at its peak. The name comes from the first recorded hikers after the Blue Grouse, a game bird of the area. 

After 1 hour and a half hiking, I reached the top of the Grose mountain ~ The Peek of Vancouver. It was a hard trail, at least for a beginner like me!!! I wasn't ready for this cause I didn't do my research. In my list it was "Go see Grouse Mountain and Grouse Grind" so I did.  I read these infos at the entrace and I said "ohh, its fine, I can do this! And ofc I did, but honestly it was the hardest thing I did when it comes to exercising. Ohh gosh! But hehe, when I reached the top, I had a real beautiful feeling, also my self esteem was high at the moment! haha

~~~~ Grouse Mountain 🌲🏞️🌲 Grouse Grind ~~~~ 

While hiking and exploring this wonderful and amazing place, I thought I can submit my entry to this new weekly health challenge #healthchallenge hosted again by @healthsquared and beautiful @sweetsssj. This first week is about taking a walk/run/bike ride in order to keep you fit and healthy! Exactly a I did. When traveling, the best way to keep your body fit is to walk. But this time, I hiked! And oh my gosh, how I hiked! Like I said, as I remember this was the hardest training I ever had!I'm not so used to hiking guys! But it was indeed such a fulfilling experience!Anyways,  for more infos about the challenge read it here!

~~~~ Grouse Mountain 🌲🏞️🌲 Grouse Grind ~~~~ 

The Grouse Grind

According to the official website of the Grouse Mountain, The Grouse Grind s a 2.9-kilometre trail up the face of Grouse Mountain, commonly referred to as “Mother Nature’s Stairmaster.” It is rated as difficult, unique and a challenging hike.  Each year, more than 100,000 people hike the Grouse Grind.  Along the way, you can expect to see many natural and wooden stairs, rocks and magnificent trees as you look up up. 

It is strongly recommended that you consume proper nutrition and properly hydrate before commencing the Grouse Grind. In addition, it is prudent to be safe by carrying at least one litre of water or a sports beverage. In case you need an energy boost, bring a snack like trail mix, a power bar, chocolate, a banana or nuts. There are no garbage cans on the trail so be prepared to carry everything with you all the way to the top. 

Also, Grouse Mountain recommends that you bring the following essential items with you : a source of light, signalling device, fire starter, extra clothes, pocket knife, shelter, water and food, first-aid kit, navigation and cell phone. For more detailes, read here, the orinial source.


Length: 2.9 kilometres (1.8 miles) 

Steps: 2830 

Elevation Gain: 853 metres (2,800 feet) 

Base: 274 metres above sea level (900 feet)

Summit: 1,127 metres (3,700 feet)  

Average Time: On average it takes up to an hour and a half to complete the hike. For novice hikers, two hours is recommended.  

~~~~ Grouse Mountain 🌲🏞️🌲 Grouse Grind ~~~~ 

Photos of the Grouse Grind

~~~~ Grouse Mountain 🌲🏞️🌲 Grouse Grind ~~~~ 

Here I was at 1/4 of the road. 

And here I was at half of the way .

This I was at 3/4 of the way and my tired face.

And finally, here I on at the top of the mountain!!! Hurrayyyyyyyyyy!!

~~~~ Grouse Mountain 🌲🏞️🌲 Grouse Grind ~~~~ 

In top of the mountain you will find the Grouse Mountain Resort, offering a variety of services. Read more about them here, their official website.


~~~~ Grouse Mountain 🌲🏞️🌲 Grouse Grind ~~~~ 

The Skyride opens for the first time on December 15, 1966. 

I paid 15 CAD for a ticket to get down.

 

~~~~ Grouse Mountain 🌲🏞️🌲 Grouse Grind ~~~~ 

Here are some shoots I took from the skyrider, while getting down.


~~~~ Grouse Mountain 🌲🏞️🌲 Grouse Grind ~~~~ 

Hope you enjoyed my post, my journey! I loved this place! Again, one of the most beautiful places I've ever seen! Full of nature!

This was my third post of the Canada Trip Series from the many that will come! Follow me if you want to stay touned!

Here is my first post of this series, at White Rock, B.C. Canada and my second post at Butchart Gardens in Victoria.

And don't forget to stay healthy! cause I'll be back for more articles on health and food!


Love, Miss Deli

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! ALL THESE PHOTOS WERE TAKEN WITH MY SAMSUNG S8.  

You can also take a look at my healthy food recipes if you're interested!

Pineapple Berries and Psyllium Husk Smoothie

Herbal Lemonade 🍋🍸🍋🍸 Raspberries Lavander Thyme Rosemary and Mint Lemonade

Baked Potato Wedges with Creamy Dip and Fresh Veggie Sticks 

Chia Seeds Pudding Healthy Breakfast 

Herbal Tea Please!  

Quinoa Flakes Porridge and Fruits Breakfast Bowl   

 ~ Thank you very much for your support!! ~  

Sort:  

Amazing moments and you looks awesome dear ! Beautiful place !! Hope you enjoyed a lot .

Looks like a great workout! Congrats on your contest entry placement! I would enjoy visiting this place! Thanks for sharing the hike.

I can't believe the snow on top! What a cool hike!

travel very fun! Nature is also very amazing. dense Forest and beautiful!

Wow! I should have done that hike when I was in Vancouver! Looks very beautiful! :)

How magical does Grouse Mountain look @missdeli.Such stunning views.Blimmen breathtaking.Your photos make me want to go straight there and join the hike. ( only thing is 5 minutes into it literally by the entrance i will be needing a rest.😂😂The skyrider views were awesome too.Thanks for sharing and letting us see your hiking experience👍

Wow this is an amazing post.
Such cool photos and a very cool tour of course. :-)

Oh wooow, it looks beautiful! Well done for making it to the top, I would probably have died! 💓

Beautiful photos x

Hi @missdeli very nice place and very healthy exercise. Super thumbs up with that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62924.41
ETH 2436.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52