Frequent Traveller #39: The Future of Baggage tags is here, now!

in #travel8 years ago

Luggage Tags are important for Airports to deliver your luggage

Everybody knows Luggage tags which are printed and than attached to your suitcase. While the system is working since decades it is a waste of paper and resources. Remember there are over 100000 commercial flights per day in the world. Even if only every 10th passenger checked luggage that would amount to a huge amount of printed luggage tags. 

First company to tackle the problem was Rimowa

Rimowa attached an e-ink color display into their new Suitcases and you can upload your tag from your Phone (currently working for Lufthansa and soon EVA Air) While the Idea is genius everybody needs to buy a new Suitcase which won't happen. 

bagID just introduced a new form of Luggage Tags

I like the bagID System better, as every suitecase in the world can use it

While the Rimowa System is the best integration and you don't have the risk that it gets lost. The bagID system is very nice for people not wanting to buy a new Rimowa Suitecase. Once you checkin online for your flight you will be able to push the luggage tag to the Rimowa or the bagID System. What a superb idea and I hope that in the future we can stop printing luggage tags. 

Which System do you like better???

I am blogging about the following topics :

ABOUT ME: Some insides into my Steemit life  

Sort:  

Powerful knozaki2015 dropping knowledge!
I've flown nearly 100,000 miles this year and you're SPOT ON son! What a bloody waste those luggage tags are (sadly shaking head).
If Delta steps up and incorporates these "Smart Tags" into their network I will absolutely do my part and order one.
Thanks ever so much for writing on this - brilliant idea; amazing these aren't already common place...
Maximum respect brother,
Craiggles

thanks for reading and voting ! yeah I will definately get one rimowa and order a couple of these new tags :) love the idea!

did you fly BIS ? or is this status miles you earned? I am BIS over 137K this year..

114,000 Medallion Qualifying Miles (MQM's) on Delta in 2016; with Platinum Status I get upgraded to 1st Class about 80% of the time.
BIS - does that stand for business class?
Love your posts man :D

I will do more FFP stuff for you ;)

Dog, you know I love you but jfc your three letter contractions are killing me 😉. Butt in seat - respect on dropping even more knowledge. POWERFUL knozaki2015! Craiggles is over here learning... Teach me more: FFP?
What time is it brother?
Btw, did the math, 81 000 miles BIS circa 2016, 6 countries.
400K on your end?
RESPECT

400K status miles (not BIS)
FFP = frequent flyer program

butt in seat !
well if we talking about received mileage this year I am over 400K ;)

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the second half of Dec 15. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $13.31 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 15 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

I like whichever system ensures I get my luggage back. :)

true ;) well paper tags work great but imagine in the future if nobody needs anypaper tags anymore. it will work with rfid in the future so it will be faster and without error.

I expect future luggages to be more customizable. Imagine a suite case whichi is a whole display on the outside and you can change the design of your bag or if it comes near your phone it will show a picture so you know it is your bag.

agree. I might pre-oder one of the tags

It would be great if they invented something to stop your luggage getting lost.

I don't have a problem getting my luggage lost.

1.) they transport it for free to my hotel

  1. ) airlines owe you compensation up to 1250 USD per claim...

so a carrier ever loses your luggage contact me for help

Thank you. I've had it lost twice in my life (both direct flights) - once on the way to Corfu and once on the way to Amsterdam (not SteemFest). I always carry spare clothes in my hand luggage now!

yes that would be a good advice. always have one set of clothes for one day in your hand luggage!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63361.04
ETH 2483.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67